We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, maybe too good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, maybe too good”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My sister and I have just spent a week in this hotel. I had read good comments and saw promising pictures, which turned out to be quite realistic. The place is huge with beautiful gardens and swimming pools. Our room was very clean and although it is true that walls are quite thin, we weren't much bothered with noise. It was a pity we didn't have a balcony though.
Meals are served in a big room and terrace with a very large choice of Spanish and international food. Customers are in vast majority German or British.
The thing we didn't like about this hotel is that it is so big and busy that we sometimes found it hard to relax. We could only find available sunbeds by the pool when showing up very early, like 8 am. There's so many people self-serving at the buffet that sometimes you have to queue. At mid August I expect any place to be crowded, but maybe a smaller place wouldn't give that impression because of the smallest capacity. This is not to criticise to the hotel itself, just take that into account if you're looking for a peaceful place to relax.
It is mostly a place for couples and families and entertainment is low profile. Some gym by the pool, some dances for kids at night and a piano player at the bar in the hall. That was fine for us, however, note that the hotel is located quite far from the centre of Costa Calma (I would say 20 mins walk), which by the way doesn't offer much. So if one wishes to explore the island and do something different at night, you'd better rent a car (it can be easily done at the hotel or in town). Also, there is no beach that you can reach on foot apart from a small and not nice one just out of town.
To sum up, we enjoyed our stay, although if we were to go back to Fuerteventura I'd try to look for a smaller and more quite, even if less luxurious place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    536
    174
    63
    45
See reviews for
312
704
62
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My fiancee and I originally booked the R2 Pajara Beach. After arriving, we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and we would be transferred to the Rio Calma, which was an upgrade.

The hotel was in decent condition. All public/common areas were in great shape and well maintained. Our room was in need of some care and maybe renovation. All of the grout in between the tiles in the bathroom was very old and dirty and in definite need of replacing. Nothing moldy, but definitely close. The cleaning staff in the room was adequate, nothing special. They made the bed and took out the trash, usually. I would have expected more for a 4star establishment, very little attention to detail paid by the cleaning staff.

The pool and lagoon areas were great. The pools were clean and cool. The longue / poolside chairs and umbrellas were in definite need of replacement. A few too many seasons on these accessories, many umbrellas were broken and so were many pool chairs.

The pool bar was a great facility. However, like many facilities here it lacked adequate outdoor seating. For a poolside / ocean side "outdoor" resort I would expect plenty of outdoor tables and chairs. However, the poolside bar had approximately 15 tables outdoors that were constantly full and an indoor area with 20-30 tables that were never occupied. The management doesn't seem to understand that most people on vacation here prefer to stay outside enjoying the sun and the ocean.

The "nighclub" featured nightly shows / entertainment. There was an outdoor seating area here as well. Unfortunately, like the pool bar only about 10 tables that were constantly full. Who wants to spend all of their time inside on vacation?

The food was adequate and definitely nothing special. All food was served from their buffet style restaurant. The food was always fresh and warm, however, never seasoned.

We were offered a free romantic dinner as part of our compensation from being moved hotels. After arriving at our romantic dinner at the separate "a-la-carte" restaurant we were presented with two options...meat or fish. The food throughout this "special meal" was no different than that which was found in buffet. The next day the same food from the a-la-carte menu was on the lunch menu at the buffet.

The service staff was generally polite and friendly. However, the staff seemed overwhelmed and understaffed for the amount of guests. After ordering drinks, it was generally impossible to attract the attention of a server to order a second round. After a day or two it was clear that getting your own drinks was much easier.

A great vacation, great sites, great location! The hotel was ok and we definitely enjoyed our stay. However, do not expect a true 4-star experience, 4-star plus as claimed by the hotel.

Room Tip: Room on the wings of the hotel give you a very good side ocean view and keep you from the noisy club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have just arrived back after a two week stay. Excellent hotel in every respect - could not fault it. Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings. Unfortunately the hotel is a very good 30 minutes walk to the nearest shops and restaurants but then the description in the brochure did say this. As they say if you want a relaxing holiday then this is the hotel for you and I quite agree. We ususually go to Correljo which is in the north of the island with a lot more going on but have been there 5 times so wanted to try a different resort. Because bars and shops etc. a bit of a treck we found we stayed in the hotel all evening but ventured out quite a bit during the day. Staff excellent, very friendly, including Josef in the Disco Bar and Junior who does the entertainment. Food great, room spacious with huge bed. A lot of Germans in the hotel but then this was mentioned on a review and did not bother us at all. Our only grievance was with Thomas Cook Airlines. We should have taken off at 3.05 pm. and eventually at 4.20 p.m. the information board said to go the gate. Upon arriving there we all hung around waiting and then a bit more waiting until Lisa the Cabin Manager from Thomas Cook Airlines started talking - none of us could hear what she was saying. Apparently our plane had a fault and one was being flown down from Manchester. She said that previous announcements had been made but we heard nothing in fact someone in the crowd told her it might be a good idea to use a tannoy - which she eventually did. Finally at 6.00 p.m we took off. We did not find her a bit professional as she stood at the front of the plane on occasions filing her nails, putting on lip gloss and reading from a passenger's novel in full view of us all. She was the Cabin Manager but her colleagues were more professional.This is the second year runnning we have flown with Thomas Cook and both times we have had delays. Unfortunately they have gone down in our estimation and we wont be flying with them again. Even on our return trip, although the pilot cut the travel time down to 3 and a half hours, we then spent the next half hour waiting for a bus to take us to the terminal becuase the mono rail had broken down. Then we were told that the bus was not coming so we had to get off make our way to the short terminal, with most of us getting lost and then getting on a bus. There was no one to direct us. Sorry to rant but Thomas Cook did not help to get our holiday off to a good start but then full praise to everyone at the Costa Calma Hotel - loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MillieLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just returned from a 4 night short break. Arrived later than expected, just after 10 pm as for the second time this year Thomas Cook left us waiting at the airport for a coach. Transfer took around an hour. Quick check in and then off for a quick bite from the cold buffet that was provided for late arrivals.Was a little worried about the 2 rooms we had booked. One double and a single for my grown up daughter even though we had paid a supplement for her room. I had read a previous review from a similar booking and the single room was not so comfortable. Was very happy to find we had two double rooms close to each other. Nice touch of a free gift and 2 waters together with tea and coffee facilities. Pillows as mentioned on other reviews were poor but we requested extras and received them quickly. Lovely view from our room on the 6th floor overlooking the restaurant, pool and sea view. Rooms always kept very clean. Worth noting that reception is on the 6th floor. Food pretty good. More suited to the european diet but we always managed to find plenty to eat. Did find desserts were disappointing though. Service in the restaurant could be better. Was a little slow at clearing away and found it a struggle to find a table at times. Could do with a few more staff on. Now it clearly states that men should wear long trousers for the evening meal and sadly this was ignored every night but then again there was nobody in the restaurant to greet diners as there was no sign of a head waiter or manager. Only used the cocktail bar once as it was a wait to order drinks and then the waiter got the order wrong. Not difficult really as all 3 drinks were the same. Service was good however in the entertainment area. Outside areas are well kept with quite stunning features. Amazing waterfalls. Loungers are pretty tight around the pools and are reserved from quite early on in the morning. We preferred to pay the extra 3 euros a day for a lounger down by the beautiful salt water pool with it's own little beach. Lovely setting. We did notice many Spanish families using this pool for free. Nothing to stop them coming in from the path outside the hotel. The area outside the hotel is not quite so attractive. A bit scruffy in parts. You can walk either along the path to the beach or road into Cost Calma which will take around 20-30 minutes. Nothing really there apart from a small number of shops although we knew this as we have visited this area on previous holidays.
A safe and beach towels can be hired from reception and wifi is available for free. Simply ask for the code each day. However, you can only access this in the reception area.
Overall a nice clean hotel set in beautiful grounds. Cannot comment on the spa or gym as never felt the need to use them. The hotel suited us fine for a short break and as we are not strangers to the island didn't feel the need to venture too far. However, due to it's location, car hire would be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We have just returned from a last minute week's break at the Rio Calma. We had a very relaxing holiday in this beautiful hotel with lovely gardens. However, we would not return for several reasons. The surrounding area is waste ground, the walk to the resort of Costa Calma was a good 20 - 30 minutes, and not pleasant. Therefore we only ventured out of the hotel a couple of times. We felt that most things at the hotel were more favourable to either German or Polish guests, even the food, although plentiful, was more to their taste. But, breakfast was very good with lots of variety. Staff on the whole were very hard working, especially in the dining room where they struggled to cope with the volume of guests who were looking for available tables. Cleaning staff did a wonderful job, everywhere was spotless. This was our first visit to Fuerteventura and if we ever go back it would probably be to a hotel in the resort of Costa Caleta.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laneylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the Rio Calma having stayed one week. We booked last minute with Thomas cook and flew from Birmingham on the 4pm flight. We arrived at 10pm to check in, we were first in the queue so nothing to complain about there. Others in the queue were still there after we had been to drop the cases in the room and were on our way for a late dinner!

The room was fairly basic, as others have said, and with a limited view of the sea but no pool view. We were also directly over the disco room (but on floor 6) and this caused no problems at all with noise as it all stopped around 11pm. We didn't bother with the safe as we just locked the important stuff in our cases. I left the camera, I pods, iPad etc out in the room feeling that it was ok to do so.

We were on a full board plus meal plan and this was fab, we had leisurely lunches and dinners and managed 2 drinks each per sitting. The food was varied, hot and fresh, we had no complaints and even managed to put on weight.

I have a theory about people that moan about food being repetitive.........maybe they have their meals put in front of them by someone else so don't have to think about creating a meal until they are on holiday?
I made myself a chicken Caesar salad one day, made some coleslaw another day, had a cheese sandwich, pork potatos and veg dinner....etc etc.

Always a great choice for veggies, and a huge selection of fresh fruit at all meal times.
And the desserts.........OMG they were amazing!!!

The pool area was incredible, very clean, tidy and beautiful and despite being given the bit of paper at check stating no reserving beds it did happen! However, we always managed to bag a sun bed even when we didn't get to the pool until 11am!

Had a walk into the town, briefly, turned round and came straight back along the beach. Didn't bother again, not really our "thing" and why leave the hotel when it's so nice?

We paid €10 per towel deposit for pool towels and €1 per towel to swap them for clean ones half way through the week, half of this went to the turtles charity and the other half to the laundry costs, which makes sense so people don't just keep changing them for the sake of it!

We basically had a great week in a lovely hotel and the only negative things I have to say are as follows:

The hotel is remote ( just for info, it didn't bother us)

It could be a problem for people with mobility issues, as it's built in to a hill side, there is a lift to pool side and plenty of ramps but the hotel is spread of a vast area and it's quite a walk which ever way you go.

There are a few hotel cats, that are fed in an area on the outskirts of the hotel, by the hotel, presumably to keep vermin down? They don't bother the holiday makers but some people were feeding them from the tables in the outside dining area. I saw a couple of times that the waiters asked them not too and as one lady had been feeding them then left for her next course, the cat jumped onto her chair then took the remains of the fish from her plate! Not the cats fault but the ignorant woman's! ( and she sat back onto the chair where the cat had left the bones)

Some of the towels and bed sheets we looking a bit worn, the hotel is a few years old now so maybe these need renewing?

Would I go again? You bet! Like a shot, I've been to many hotels that have higher star ratings than this and are not as good as this, don't pay too much attention to the negative reports, this is a gem of a hotel and the staff were lovely, we never had a problem with any of them, a smile, a quick hello and a wave is going to work much better if you want serving than the attitudes of some holiday makers.

This is purely my opinion and as I scour this site before I book I thought I'd add my thoughts.
Scrolling down and re reading after we arrived home I'm shocked by some of things people have moaned about!




Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Suzysue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

check in too slow, only 1 member of staff on desk.rooms are very noisey other guests always moving tables and chairs around on balcony, morning noon and night. the pillows are a disgrace not pillows at all, other complaints, the beach/ lake why do we have to pay 3euros pd ?? looking out to sea on your left is a small free beach area, its never cleaned, rubbish cleared away twice while i was there for 1 wk. its better up there than by the pool. i did complain about the state of this beach/ lake area and then they started to power wash the beds, so maybe other areas will be sorted.
the food at all times is fantastic, the service was gd, could be more staff on in the evenings.
The courtsey rom was a joke, it was the ladies changing room outside the gym.
the staff do try to put right the complaints, but the management do not do their checks, if they did there wouldnt be these complaints. a gd holiday overall, but i went for a rest, didnt get the sleep i needed. sorry i will not return.

Room Tip: east side gets the sun in evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.7 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
1.9 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
44.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Property: R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing