We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon at R2 Rio Calma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon at R2 Rio Calma”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went to this hotel for our honeymoon 9th-16th April 2014 and it certainly did not disappoint! It was absolutly beautiful everywhere you looked. There is so many ways to relax 3 different beautiful pools, a spa, a beautiful garden/jungle room etc.

It is a little walk to the shops and sandy beach but this just added to the tranquility of the place.

The food was good. Plenty of choice and being a coeliac I could still find lots I could eat. They do need to cook their meat a little longer though.

The perfect place to go for a relaxing holiday. There is not loads to do on the island but the perfect place to chill out and a short bus ride to morro jable takes you to the most beautiful beach.

We really hope to return in the future. Don't listen to the negative reviews, they clearly do not know what a good holiday is.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    537
    174
    63
    45
See reviews for
312
705
62
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a weeks holiday with my wife to the R2 hotel in Costa Calma from 26th March 2014 t0 the 2nd of April 2006.
Hotel was probably one of the best I have ever stayed in, it was very clean and the view from our room was stunning. The hotel grounds are amazing with a swimming pool that seems to go on for ever although cold at 1st. Food catered for all tastes and although i am not very good at the buffet thing there was loads of choice. The price of drink is expensive and I think that is down to the location which is very isolated. You have at least a 20 minute walk to the town. Guys in the cocktail bar are very friendly, Some of the staff in the restaurant can be a bit Abrupt. entertainment was pretty poor.

On a whole had a great week and if you were looking for a quite hotel for this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Think our room was very good and a higher floor probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmcgrath28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 21st march for a week, nice looking hotel but it's all top show. Food was terrible, not what I expected for a 4 star hotel. Room was big but walls paper thin, baby crying and chairs being dragged so not much sleep. Reception staff unhelpful and rude, apart from one German lady who was lovely (Sandra I think) Entertainment was a joke, it was embarrassing to even be in the same room, unbelievable rubbish! Thankfully we found a bar in the town that was lively and good fun. As for the German film crew, that was the cherry on the cake, spoilt our holiday completely, rude obnoxious we are fabulous idiots. They did not care that they were intruding on peoples holidays one bit. I'm so angry with the way we were treated that I've now put a complaint in to our travel company for compensation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daren503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I've just come back from a very relaxing week at this hotel.
The grounds are as lovely and as well maintained as many 5* hotels I have stayed at around the world - the disappointment is with the rooms - they are tired/dated. An update with modern furniture and clean unchintzy soft furnishings would make the world of difference. I also expected a bathrobe in a 4* hotel. The food was, on the whole, good. If some of it had been plated up and served to you in a restaurant, you would be looking at a hefty bill - for instance the grilled sole, the prawns and the mussels were all excellent and plentiful. Contrary to other reviews, I found the majority of the staff very friendly and helpful. I do agree with others about the evening entertainment - that needs improvement. The hotel is isolated which suited me - but I spoke to other guests who were disappointed that there was nowhere really to walk to of interest.
In summary, for me, this hotel was good for a week chilling in the sun in beautiful surroundings - if they update the rooms, I'd go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, ASISTENTE DE DIRECCION at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments which help us to improve..We have taken note of your comments.We hope see you soon.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We've recently returned from a week at the R2 Rio Calma Hotel, 19th - 26th March, after a bit of a nightmare holiday. We initially booked it at the last minute, to give ourselves a much needed restful break away from the stresses of home. It looked an ideally situated hotel, in large grounds and lots of amenities, and good reviews. However, it proved to be far from restful!
Firstly, a bit about the hotel itself. It's situated about a 20 minute walk away from any other hotels and shops in Costa Calma, so it's a bit isolated. The reception area is huge, almost a Gothic like feel, stretching up 4 floors high, with a lot of cold concrete around. The main cocktail bar was also in this area, which was usually quite a cool area, and not very cosy at all, for an evening drink. The restaurant served a very varied selection of food, but only average quality. In fact one day, my wife had some chicken pieces from the 'live' cooking area, and when she cut into it, it was still pink in the middle. Not good. The table cloths weren't changed properly, often given a shake and put back on the other way up! One table we sat at one evening, and then again the following breakfast time, we noticed the cloth hadn't even been changed, as there was still the wine stain on it from the previous night! There was always a queue at the 2 coffee machines at breakfast time. The waiters didn't seem to want to bother offering tea or coffee at the table, unless you were returning visitors, and not English.
Our bedroom was a good one, room 7226, high up with a large balcony and excellent views. We had to ask for some more coat hangers for the cupboard, but that was the only real gripe about the room.
The outside grounds were really very well landscaped, with waterfalls, and lots of space. There was a pool bar and a-la-carte restaurant near the 3 interconnecting pools near the hotel, and a man-made lagoon and beach down near the sea shore, with a small bar area. This was the best area if you wanted a quieter spot. Well, that would have been the case if it wasn't for the following turn of events.
On our first full day there, the 20th, a major German TV station had started to take over the place, installing staging, cabling, lighting, cameras, sound equipment, the lot. They occupied the pool bar and a-la-carte restaurant, effectively closing it to the general public, also almost the whole of the 3 main pools, and 75% of the areas around them, closing pathways and access to other areas on the complex, which meant walking much further than you wanted to, to get somewhere. We weren't told anything about this by the management when we checked in on the 19th. I can see why now. We probably would have asked to be moved to another hotel.
After a day or two, we eventually noticed some small notices posted around the hotel, explaining what was happening, and that the TV company would be there filming a well known German program, and that they would be on site from the 19th to the 29th of March, and if you wanted to take part being in the audience, you could. Yeah right!
Sound checks, repeated rehearsals (nauseating to say the least), and then live recordings, took place from Saturday through to end of Monday. That was the first part!! They then cleared that area, and moved down to the lagoon area, and completely took over that for the rest of the week. We found ourselves trying to relax on sunbeds, with guys laying cables and speakers next to us!
Needless to say, on the Sunday, we, and many other couples complained strongly to our rep about the problem, and she did actually handle the very heated situation extremely well, but seemed to know nothing of the TV company's presence. Also, the hotel management were not very helpful at all.
Fortunately, we were only staying for a week, 'til the Wednesday. A good job as well. What a nightmare.
This was far from the restful break that we had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luv2travel2011304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my partner from the 28th March to the 4th April.
We very much enjoyed our stay, it was lovely and relaxing, they made some excellent drinks here even tho a little over priced! I however found it much nicer to sit in the cocktail bar due to the entertainment being the same, a lot of the time it was a lady and man singing the same songs!! Other nights there was bingo, a parrot show and some dancers but not the best could be improved! The rooms were nice, clean, mini bar, flat screen (only 3 english channels) but had USB port if you wanted to bring movies.
The spa was lovely, really relaxing after a day in the sun, would recommend going around 6/7ish so its not as packed.
Didn't go to the disco so can't comment!
The food was really nice the first few days, but after 3 days it got very repetitive and there was a lot of fish! Fish in everything! Desserts the same every night, breakfast was nice lots to choose from and juice, or hot drinks sometimes champagne!
The pools were lush, infinity one however was freezing i would go in the other one! Didn't really try the lagoon but looked nice down there!
Mini golf is fun to play, there is a hard and easy course its €6 to play the man comes round at some point to collect money!
We took a bus ride to Morro Jable 2 days we were there mainly for the beach, its massive and a real nice day out at this town!
The beach in costa calma is nice too just a little small. costa calma itself is a bit small, but can have a drink and look around a few small shops but not much!
The staff were always very helpful and really friendly!

All in all i would go back. But this time would defiantly hire a car :)!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, ASISTENTE DE DIRECCION at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments which help us to improve..We have taken note of your comments.We hope see you soon.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

So it has actually been almost a year since we stayed here keep meaning to join trip advisor as we have used it so often ourselves when searching and deciding on different holidays and wanted to add our own review.

We had a wonderful week here.....

Hotel: Beautifully kept, Clean, Stunning Stain Glass Window
Food: Very Tasty, Plenty of Choice, Not overly repeated as it can be, We Sat outside for both Breakfast and Dinner. Waiters/Waitress really friendly and attentive.
Room: Spacious, Clean, Nice Balcony - Fantastic View
Staff: Always Very Friendly
WiFi: Available in Reception but we sat near our room one floor up (open plan - so you can see and hear piano being played in reception/evening area (WiFi worked great)

Pools: We are not really "pool" people although they all looked lovely, we opted for the "lagoon" at the bottom of quite a few steps a man made small beach area (You have to pay for the beds here - but for us worth it) There is a bar and loo's down there too.

Costa Calma
We got a taxi down had a walk around and then walk along the beach back to the hotel enjoyed the walk but as far as Costa Calma goes There is nothing there!!

At the same time we went for the local market - Glorified car boot lots of haggling and the same stalls over and over belts, bags, shirts, rubbish holiday nicknaks (Held in the top end of a dusty/uneven car park)

We didn't use the spa so no comments for that

We stayed on Half Board Basis: Drinks as you can imagine quite costly

Room Tip: Upper Floor for lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeach, ASISTENTE DE DIRECCION at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your words and choosing R2 Hotels!.We hope see you soon.KInd regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.7 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
1.9 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
44.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Property: R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing