We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Well for you all inclusive people this may suit but this wasn't our cup of tea. Food was very good on the most part but got a bit samey. This is obviously a hotel aimed at the german market. For a hotel that says pool towels aren't to be put out to reserve a bed is a bit of a joke! Sunbeds were to close together so no real privacy. The evening entertainment is awful, the best thing was the kids disco and we don't even have kids!! The air con in the rooms is abysmal could of had a fan in my hand that would have worked better.
On a positive note though the rooms were fine, food was good and the grounds were very well kept. The staff were friendly and work very hard.
The beaches though are lovely although the views of the naked people are a little shocking at times. Sorry if this seems a negative review because thiswill be fine for some just not us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We booked this hotel a year in advance as we wanted a relaxing holiday, the hotel looked fantastic and the reviews were good. We do not complain about holidays and usually enjoy the places where negative comments have been written, so you will appreciate it must have been a bad a experience for me to be writing this!
The hotel looks exactly like the pictures but it has a huge problem overbooking..this is totally unacceptable. Many people were phoned prior to leaving England and told they would be staying in a another hotel and others arrived to be told there were no rooms. We had family coming to join us for the second week and were told, when we requested to be at same end of hotel that they would be at another hotel!! Look at Rio Calma, to see how long this has been going on!! Thomas Cook did know this was happening.
We ended up moving half way through our holiday, the Rio Calma was beautiful and perfect for an adult holiday but not for teenagers.
The Pajara Beach had a great family beach, the Rio Calma does not. The staff at Pajara beach were unhelpful and stressed and you had to queue for ages for drinks in the evening. The Rio Calma staff were very helpful and the service was great.
BUT we chose Pajara beach for a reason and were all expecting to stay there!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOZZIE1Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband & I have just bbeen back to Pajara beach for a 2nd visit but were quite disappointed in some aspects. On arrival we were told that there was no room for us for the 1st night! We were sent to their sister hotel and had to go back after breakfast the next day but still didn,t get our room til 2.30 that day! It wasn't just us, there were 13 parties that day, then, 3 days later some friends arrived and the same thing happened to them! They weren't as lucky as us and the hotel room they were sent to was not very good at all.
We were really shocked because we had a fantastic time last year thats why we went back.
The dining room was so short staffed that we had to wait for tables to be cleared.
Some of the towels were threadbare, but on the whole it is a super hotel in gorgeous surroundings and most of the staff were lovely and it was really clean,but, we don't think we could trust them again because it was a bad start to the holiday which meant we missed out on the first 1 and a half days.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottiedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just come back from a weeks stay at the Pajara Beach, on our arrival the Hotel looked lovely we all got off the coach and the rep just said have a great time and told us she would see us at the welcome meeting at 10am the next day.... we all got to check in and they took us to one side and announced that they had overbooked and would be sending us all (about 10 of us in total) to a different Hotel for the night! We were all not very happy at this and were told to go and have some lunch and then return to reception were they would call us a taxi to take us to the other Hotel.

We returned to reception and they called us a taxi which then took us to a Hotel further down the road this was the Golden Beach Hotel, we had to then pay our own taxi fare and when got to the hotel were told our room was not ready!!!! after a look around this Hotel was no where near the standard of the Pajara Beach and was not only full of Germans but also ran by Germans. We did eventually get our room and spent an ok night at this Hotel. We did contact Thomas cooks office who apparently knew nothing about all this and said would meet us the next day to discuss. The next morning after a not so good breakfast we went back in a taxi again paid by us to the Pajara Beach, we were told we would have our room but not until after 2pm that day.

So after all that on the first 2 days we did get our room for the week and in fairness they gave us a lovely room with sea view and champagne and fruit all set out in the room, also we were given free use of the Spa facilities for the week and 1 free treatment each, a free A La Carte meal for one evening and a choice of a trip also free. The hotel was very nice, food was good plenty to choose from, beach is glorious to walk along and we always managed to find a sunbed round the pool ok. The entertainment was pretty rubbish a night of Cats the Musical was done by 4 of the Animation team and all in German!!!!

After all that being said we did end up having a nice relaxing holiday although I would be wary of booking again as the rep did say they do seem to over book and send us english to other hotels on a regular basis, which is a shame as it is a lovely Hotel.

Room Tip: Floors 1 - 5 have the better views, we were on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samantha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Perhaps this hotel holds four stars, but as for me it shouldn’t be referred to the hotel as a whole. Even in 3 stars’ hotels I didn’t see ragged towels and full of holes, and the “bitten” shelf as well. The TV remote control kept well thanks to the adhesive tape. If you want to lie down on a deckchair you must use necessarily a towel – especially it refers to the ones on the right side of the swimming-pool: the covering is so disgustingly dirty that I was afraid of touching it. The hotel management introduce the ban of occupying the deckchair – no one obeyed this rules. The showers by the pool were often broken. As for the restaurant – I’m not too choosy about the food and could always find something. The hotel is rather big and when the time of meals came there were very long queues of tourists (just like in a factory canteen). From 10.00 to 18.00 the pool bar is opened; at that time it’s possible to take coffee, cakes and make tosts (but unfortunately there was always stinky air). I liked the hotel surroundings – every day the lawns were watered, the dry leaves, flowers and branches were removed. The most beautiful green area is along the seashore.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maribel77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We have just returned from a two week holiday staying at this hotel. We found the hotel to be very clean, well maintained and with lovely landscapes. We had booked a family room and was not disappointed. The family room consisted of : - A room with two single beds for the children with a private balcony, tv and mini fridge, a further bedroom with a very large double bed, flat screen tv and seperate balcony, and a large bathroom with a spa bath, twin sinks, toilet, bidet and large shower, our room was situated on the 4th floor and we had fantastic sea views from both balconies.
We appreciate that when holidaying during August it is one of the busiests months, but that said, the pool was never "heaving" and we could always get a table easily during meal times.
The hotel was fairly strict about reserving sunbeds. If towels were left on sunbeds too early (before 9am) the towels were removed and left on the nearest table. We could go down to the pool about 8:30 - 9:00 0'clock in the morning with the children and have a good choice of sunbeds.
As previous people have stated, English holiday makers are the minority. The hotel does seem to cater for the Spanish and German holidaymaker and this is often reflected with the entertainment and the childrens animation team.
Unlike previous holidays we were not able to book a late check out on our room but we were able to book a slot in a courtesy room to freshen up before we left the hotel.
The hotel is very large and it takes a while to work out the floor system...The 3rd floor is in effect the ground floor....this is the floor that you enter from the front of the hotel. Floor 1...is the top floor and floor 9...the bottom floor. There are a lot of stairs inside and out of the hotel but there are many lifts inside the hotel and ramps outside. Overall a nice, clean hotel in a fairly quiet location.

Room Tip: Request a room on floor 1-5 for better views. Floors 7-9 have limited views or garden views only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N123LI4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just back from the resort lovely food, pool and location., but far too many rude germans who think that they own the whole hotel, we were told to be quiet and pushed into. We were promised a room to shower in when we checked out so we would fresh for our return journey when I asked for a key I was told to use the spa the spa was closed. Once you check out they don't care. Hotel rep Kelly was excellent. Nice relaxing holiday but need to get up early for a sun bed. A lot of steps to floors if you don't like lifts and to the beach. Our room was for three adults but we had a camp bed pushed in to a double room. A lot of children running around playing hide and seek in the evening.m

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.9 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
1.2 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.8 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
28.5 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: C/Punta del Roquito, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: £118 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pajara Beach Costa Calma
Pajara Beach Hotel
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Hotel & Spa Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing