We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German hotel group in Costa Calma Fuertaventura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Grays Essex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“German hotel group in Costa Calma Fuertaventura”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very good,clean hotel,occupied by 95% Germans,who were very polite and friendly to me, a lone traveller.The all inclusive food plan was very good at all meal times, with good variety,and freshly cooked omelettes at breakfast,and freshly cooked fish and meat at lunch and dinner,along with usual salad bar,soup,stew type dish,and vegetables.Deserts mostly cake style,but always ice cream,melon and fresh fruit,and vivid jelly and pink splodge.All enjoyable,but hot dishes not always that hot.Hotel has lovely gardens and walkways and slopes from restaurant level (6) to pools. Only one small children's pool that was heated. No problems getting sun loungers,but I only needed one. I had a nice,south facing room,sun on balcony after 11am til dusk,sheltered from the some times fierce wind. Spa was poor. Broken sauna,cold steam room. Deserted most of the time. Two fee passes,then 10 euro . Staff worked very hard to empty and relay tables in restaurant ,and were very friendly. My main disappointment was not on a beach,but big rocks in front of hotel,although you could walk along a track to a tiny cove,with rocky,sandy beach,mainly occupied by nudists.Quite a walk uphill and along to main shopping area.Hotel quite remote at end of resort. Did not go to any evening entertainment. Very disabled friendly. Undecided whether to return as I love the beach and swimming in the sea and they were a good walk away on unmade track.

Room Tip: Email hotel and ask for a south facing room. Top floor is level 1, then down to 2, reception and gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akelacookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    557
    198
    82
    30
See reviews for
380
664
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our 4th January in a row staying at the R2 Pajara Beach, staying from the 4th to the 18th in room 1424 with a lovely view of the gardens and one of the pools.

The only but (and it is a slight but) is that we felt that the quality of some of the show cooking - particularly the fish, wasn't as good as previous years.

We would still rate the value as excellent and the staff are second to none although all staff members were great we would like to particularly like to mention - Mariela and Zuzana from the restaurant staff and Mohamed, Isabel and Julia from the bar staff who were always so polite and helpful even when under pressure.

We did notice that there were quite a few more British guests than in previous years. The only problem we had was with a couple of other guests who did not seem to comprehend the basics of queuing - I am sorry to say that these were British guests. No problems at all with any of the other nationalities - even managed to pass pleasantries with several of the German couples.

All in all we are seriously considering going back next January.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobrauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just returned once more from 2 weeks at the Pajara Beach Hotel in Costa Calma Fuerteventura on February 1st 2014. I am always astonished at the moaning about this hotel in some of the reviews here. The hotel does not control the weather, and if you are allocated a room with which you are not happy, the excellent friendly and efficient management team here will always offer you an alternative and is it really a major item within the overall holiday costs if bottled water is not included????

The main building is impressive and drops through 6 floors with a central circular atrium and water cascade feature. The reception is on level 3 which is the road level with level 1 at the top and level 6 at the bottom with entrances to the restaurant and vast external grounds. There are absolutely no problems with obtaining a sun bed either! The hotel covers a huge acreage with stunningly beautiful grounds and an enormous main pool which must be about 200 meters long as it winds through the lower grounds which in turn lead to a vast area for sun beds and the all day snack restaurant.Further steps or slopes lead down to the drive which encircles the hotel and the beautiful small beach and rock areas with a short walk to some of the most extensive and glorious beaches anywhere, and we always get a very good tan here in January!

The bedrooms are of generous proportions with a high level of appointments and facilities whilst there are a number of suites available at extra cost, we have had a look at these and they are indeed tempting.

During each of our 6 visits in 10 years we have found that the overall food quality, choice, presentation and service have been as good as any 4 star hotel anywhere. All hotels have a problem sometimes with heat of food when offered as self service and in very large restaurants but we have rarely noticed this problem at the Pajara beach. Our tip is always to get to the restaurant as soon as the doors open for dinner!!

I would challenge any reviewer to find a more accomplished 4 star hotel in a more beautiful setting and with an overall equal offer with very friendly and efficient staff for the same price anywhere within a 4 hour flight from the UK. If you can, go there!

Peter Winterton

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny room at high level ( level 1 is top, level 6 is low). The hotel has two major wings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is the third time we've been to the Pajara Beach in a year and, of course, its not as good as it used to be. Perhaps its changed or perhaps its us that's changed or, most likely, a bit of both. What's still good is the service. Table and Bar staff are uniformly pleasant, helpful, friendly without being familiar and efficient. Much the same applies to the very helpful and conscientious people on reception but the service at the poolside bar is notably different. There's still the smile and the surface cheerfulness but often there is also that subtle twitch of the upper lip, that little carefully suppressed smile that suggests that all that surface sincerity is not matched by anything underneath. The overall cleanliness and standard of upkeep of the whole hotel and its grounds is remarkable. What seems to have changed most is the food and the general atmosphere. The food has, how can one say it, sort of lost its mojo, lost its sparkle and freshness, its originality and interest and, largely, become rather dull and uninteresting and no better than any other all inclusive offering. At one stage it almost rivalled Club Med. It no longer does. The salads are the exception to this rule much of the time as is the Tuesday evening Barbecue which offers really good Spanish food. The rest is just boring: desserts that seem to be made largely of shaving cream and tasteless cardboard chocolate and coffee that is occasionally insipid and tepid, oily breakfasts and terminally concrete scrambled egg, too much cooking that is over-reliant on salt and oil and rushing, bread that looks better than it tastes The entertainment on offer is over-hyped and very over noisy. The spa is pleasant but has real health and safety issues in the separation of indoor and outdoor paths and overall requirements for personal cleanliness and a terrible changing room. What a shame! What was once a really good overall establishment is now a Curate's Egg...good in some parts, not in others....but it you want somewhere clean, a bustling environment, sunnily pleasant staff , good pools, access to interesting beaches and the joys of fighting for a sunbed after 7 am it's still a great place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Went here in January 8th to 18th the weather was great apart from the last two days which were a bit showery. hey its January.The resort is what it says "Calm " , if your looking for a neon tan do not go here,, if your looking for a relaxing quiet holiday here it is. It may be mostly German Dutch and Polish people in the resort and if your offended by nudity on the beach Don't go. BUT the place is brilliant the food is hot.. if you want the show cooked food well done " ask them" the staff speak all languages if you want a knife and fork, ask ,there's friendly staff all over the hotel, honest folks if you want pie and mash with gravy go to paradise island in Playa Blanca its a great hotel if you want variety go here.. Water is 85 cents for 5 litres from the local spa shop and the rooms have a fridge. The bar by the pool looks over the sea and a 45 second walk lets you, for 65 cents for a packet of peanuts , feed the chipmunks by hand. there is a massive beach 15 minutes(plus smaller ones that are closer ) from the hotel that has wind surfing and kiting plus a shallow lagoon that is filled by the sea . OK that is a bit further to walk but its a nice beach. If you want a room tip for a sunny balcony ask for one facing the Esmeralda hotel if you want a shady one ask for one facing the resort center . If i was looking to find a fault with this place it is the fresh ground coffee isn't that good at breakfast or at the pool bar but there is instant coffee and tea or hot chocolate. This is the only place i have been that had fresh lobsters on the salad bar ( Monday night) i would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone in low season only due to the fact i have bot been in high season...yet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Visited this hotel from 11th to 18th January 2014.
Decided to return to Costa Calma after first visiting the resort over 15 years ago.
Still a very quiet resort with no central focus point.
Had anticipated this hotel being a real four class experience on reading other people`s TA reviews - but I have to say it did not live up to expectations.
It is a very spacious and airy hotel which is fine when the sun is shining, but when the dodgy weather arrives as was the case in the latter half of our week there it became rather drafty.
A very modern designed building the reception is on the 3rd floor with lifts up to floors 2 and 1 and down to 4,5 and 6 and then down steps and walkways to the swimming pools,spa,snack bar and more rooms.
The guests are mainly German,Russian and Polish so the British are very much in a minority down here in the south of the island.
We arrived late due to a flight delay but a late cold buffet was provided which was a thoughtful
touch. Unfortunately we had a north facing room which meant we never saw the sun on our balcony all day. On the warmer days this was not a big deal to us but when the weather went off later in the week, and the room became cold, the air conditioning failed miserably to heat up the room - despite being set to max heat, all we got was blasts of cold air which was of no use whatsoever.
The restaurant for breakfast,lunch and dinner was on the 6th floor and I have to say I am not a fussy eater but the hot food here was very hit and miss.It was all about timing as the hot food was cooked there (show like) and put out into heated trays but these trays did not retain the heat very well and if you arrived for food at the wrong time the food would be lukewarm at best and downright cold in some cases. This would not have been too bad if there had been microwaves to heat it back up again but no there weren`t any to be found,
I also found some of the meats (cooked on hot plates) and especially the vegetables (often fried) to be under cooked. Blood oozing from liver and almost raw carrots and green beans are not my idea of good food.
In fairness the pizza`s and soups were excellent and all the cold buffet,salads and desserts were well presented - so no complaints there.
Water as mentioned by other reviewers is a bit of a hassle and along with other soft drinks and juices from machines never tasted cold to me, it was as if the coolers on the drinks machines were not working. Only the beer tasted chilled and as much as i enjoy a cold beer even I draw the line at having beer for breakfast.
One of the hot water tanks at times was not hot enough as on more than one occasion I gave up on trying to get a cup of tea as the water was just not hot enough to get the tea bag to brew.
At breakfast the laying off tables was a bit erratic too.Some tables had the full set of crockery and cutlery others didn`t and if the latter was the case, finding tea spoons and cups and saucers could prove challenging as there was no obvious place to get hold of them unless you found a table with the full set and you helped yourself to those. It would have made more sense to locate all 3 near the hot drinks machines so that people could just help themselves when needed.
Another little niggle was butter,jam,marmalade and margarine. The logical place to put this you would think is near the bread but no it was hiding any place near the yoghurts, tomatos or cucumber for some reason.
The two main bars (lounge bar on 6th floor and disco bar on 5th floor) were again quite spacious but as a previous reviewer mentioned lacked any charm,warmth or atmosphere.
All the staff it must be said were friendly enough but the whole place, despite being laid back, lacked that homely feel that really makes a hotel feel welcoming.
Never tried the spa or the swimming pools - but apparently the sea was warmer than the pools.
Did see some of the entertainment and the Chinese show is worth seeing if it is on when you visit. Usual Bingo and Karaoke nights and a Mini Disco for the kids each evening.
Waiting for the two main lifts could be time consuming as these were often busy and could realistically only hold 6 people at a time,so we found using the corridor lifts (which only went down to floor 5) and then walking down the stairs for just one level much quicker.
A final disconcerting experience was going to the toilet only to be plunged into pitch darkness as the lights must be on some timer switch.I managed to find a light switch but it would not work. Only when someone else entered the toilets did the lights come back on.
Not what you expect when you go to the loo !!
All in all, if we had paid full price for this 4 star hotel I would have been very disappointed but as we got a good deal it didn`t feel quite as bad. Over all I think 3 stars is about right for the experience we had at this hotel. Not bad but lots of room for improvement,however I cannot see us going back there again as Costa Calma has not a lot to offer. I think we will head back to Costa Caleta which is a much nicer resort and only 10 minutes transfer from the airport when we next return to Fuerteventura.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December and were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. We have been to Costa Calma several times for a relaxing break and have always stayed at another hotel at the other end of the beach. Costa Calma is a quiet resort with few restaurants so most people are either self-catering or all-inclusive and the food was fine. Buffet meals with a choice of dining outside or inside the restaurant, smoking was allowed outside. At breakfast you filled your own coffee pot which was great for me and also hot milk was readily available for coffee, my only complaint was lack of pure orange juice, but there were superb oranges instead! With dinner your choice of wine was red, white or Rose and the waiters just brought you a bottle, the white is not recommended! The Rose is quite pleasant. There was a good choice of salad & meats without being 'over the top' so most people will find something to suit them.
The hotel can take a bit of getting used to as the floors number down the way - i.e you come in at reception then go down to most of the rooms!) There are also two sets of lifts so depending on your room number you may have to use a particular lift, but this is no great problem for most people.
Staff are friendly and helpful and although not all speak English they can usually get someone who can. In the main the guests are German though there were French, Italian and Polish there too. The majority of guests are more mature which means the hotel is relatively quiet at night and also the entertainment staff do not bully you into joining pool aerobics etc!
We had a side room which got the sun late afternoon. Room was very clean with a large, comfy bed and the bathroom was also a good size. This is one of the few hotels who actually adhere to their 'environmental policy and really don't change your towels unless you put them in the bath which is good. They also charge to change beach towels and half the money goes to the 'save the loggerhead turtle' campaign so I have no issue with that.
The hotel is above the beach slightly rather than directly on it so you have to walk down but the beach is fantastic for walking and you can go for miles.
All in all a pleasant hotel with good staff, lots of sitting areas, large clean rooms and one I would definitely go back to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hutmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.9 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
1.2 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.2 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.8 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#5 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Tindaya Hotel
H10 Tindaya Hotel
#1 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel R2 Pajara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel R2 Pajara Beach

Property: Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Address: C/Punta del Roquito, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel R2 Pajara Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel R2 Pajara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pajara Beach Costa Calma
Pajara Beach Hotel
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing