We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome parties, mediocre hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome parties, mediocre hotel.”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel tries to accomplish too many things and, unfortunately, succeeds at few of them - restaurants, hotel, beach club, pool club, etc. The overall service, in particular, was nowhere near on-par of similar pricing on the island. The check-in/check-out was, in fact, fairly slow as echoed per previous reviews, but I'm in no hurry on vacation so not a problem. Had no problems with security either, though we were not trying to sneak in alcohol or otherwise violate fairly common-sense resort protocol.

The hotel itself is brand-new: a positive considering things like cleanliness of the pool, terrible when considering the training of the staff and fit/finish of the bathroom, for example, with a vent falling off the wall and basic ammenities missing: a bottle opener? (standard fare with a mini-bar). By no means 'vacation-destroying' items, but when considered in the general pricing of the hotel, certainly lacking in value. Training-wise, lots of odd nuances: Staff #1 "This bar is closed, you have to buy drinks in the restaurant" Ok, great, off to the restaurant then. Bartender: "This bar doesn't serve drinks, you have to go to [fill in the blank]" Wait, what? - those types of issues.

The main complaints are all service-related: excruciatingly slow beach-bar service, inattentive waitstaff, etc. The redeeming feature, however, are the day-beds available on the beach - note you do NOT have to be a hotel guest which is in fact my recomendation: stay elsewhere, pay the 7 euro per bed to chill on the awesome day-beds, and then pay the entry fare if there's a show you want to see - Swedish House Mafia topped the week. The parties are definitely awesome, but much better value proposition enjoying the beach-beds, paying the cover for the parties, and staying elsewhere. As is typical in Ibiza, if you can drag yourself out of bed early (say 9 AM), no problem at all finding either a pool-side lounger or a beach-bed. Party late, get up early, then afternoon nap it when the crowd shows up - that's how it's done. I will mention I speak fluent Spanish - the language barrier was not the cause of the service issues but rather a combination of new, inexperienced, inattentive, clueless, and just plain lazy/incompetent staff. Stay elsewhere through next season while they work out the service issues.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nunnemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    422
    197
    91
    118
See reviews for
51
718
83
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After reading the negative reviews on the hotel I was slightly nervous about having booked my stay there. But I couldn't have had a better experience. The service was impeccable from check in to check out, and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. We had no problems with aggressive security - all of them were perfectly nice.

Our room, one of the suites, was incredible and we were even given bubbly and cakes on arrival!! The only negative was that the app you need to download for the iPod speakers took over a day to download - meaning no music in our room for ages!

The pool was beautiful, but not enough loungers for everyone which is quite frustrating. The hotel also allows guests to leave towels on the loungers toreserve them - not exactly fair when other guests have to sit on the floor while loungers sit empty.

But the parties - UNBELIEVABLE! We went to Defected on Saturday night, which started at 5 and continued until midnight. The DJs and sound system were fantastic, they put on a great show with male and female burlesque dancers on the stage and podiums and the atmosphere was electric. By the end there were even loads of people dancing in the pool.

A true Ibiza experience I'll remember forever and I'd definitely return! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for luxury mixed with partying.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Having previously stayed at the Fiesta Club, now Ushuaia, a few years back I knew what to expect from this hotel And this chain and again I was not disappointed. The location is perfect for moving around the island and close to several beach bars like La Plage de l'Elephant, Sands and Bora Bora just to mention a few and of course Space.
The room was of a good size and cleaned every day. I didn't use the hotel facilities as I was out most of the time but they have a reasonable size pool. There is a variety of food to choose from the buffet and I have no complaints about that either. The only criticism I have is the lack of free or reasonably priced wi-fi as the one provided is a bit too pricey in the long run but besides that this hotel offers good value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to go back and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

After reading lots of negative reviews i was apprehensive as to what to expect!
Security - Polite, courteous all week. They patrol the full surroundings to ensure know one stopping at the hotel can enter. This made it feel even more exclusive! Never felt safer at a hotel before!
Breakfast - Amazing, best selection ever! Champagne on ice every morning, fantastic range of juices, smoothies & coffees. Massive selection of fresh breads, fruit, yoghurts, cereals etc. Even had caviar with the seafood selections!
Parties - Vagabundos closing party was amazing. More mature age group than in the other clubs, looks fantastic at night and they all finish promptly at 12. Drink prices are around average in comparison to the other Ibiza clubs. Other two parties i didn't go to as they weren't my style of music so can't comment.
Pool - 2 pools, big pool where the parties are held and quieter pool where there were on average around 2 people in the day so great for total relaxation. Main pool has large beds which you can use for free as well as plently of normal beds. Chilled out music on and reasonable drinks prices
Rooms - Amazing but only slight critism is lack of storage space. Shower is unreal and beds are comfiest i have ever slept in! Had a complimentary bottle of Champagne on ice in our room on arrival which was a nice touch!
Beach - Lovely beach area, sunbeds are 7 Euro and large beds are 180 Euro which includes a bottle of champagne! Beach bar food was amazing but a bit pricey!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony29075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I was very worried reading the reviews before i went and was dreading it to be honest. All i can say that the management must read these reviews and try to put them right. Slow rude reception; really couldn't have been better, the pool area and the staff; lovely, the rooms, fab,the cocktails; to die for, the security staff, like security staff should be! the breakfast; couldn't be better. Lived it up and will be back next year for longer. The parties were great and if you wanted to finish and go to bed when they ended at 12 you could. GO GO GO!!!!

Room Tip: had ground floor 2009 in the mix of with the parties next the swimming pool,SWEET
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I can't really see why some people are moaning about the service. I had read the reviews before so was watching out for issues ... And by the way, my wife and I often stay in 5* hotels so we know what to expect.

Check in

- While the person who checked us in wasn't a world of smiles, the check in was quick and precise. We were taken to our room and they explained how everything works. So far so good.

- The security getting in and out of the hotel is pretty tight but I see that as a positive. Keeps the riff raff out and also keeps your room safe

- On day 3 my wife called the reception for an Iron and 5 minutes later it arrived. They didn't bring an iron board (but to be fair we didn't specifically asked for one) so we did and that arrived 5 minutes later.

- They don't do a drinks server to your lounger, but there is always someone at the bar, and they're very relaxed about you drinking your own drinks at the pool

Parties

The parties are fantastic, and you don't have to pay the club drinks prices. Just nip up to the room and top up your vodka or beer! That said if you're not here to party, stay elsewhere.

Rooms

The rooms are lush, clean and precise and the shower is a sensation.

Loungers

There are plenty of free loungers around the main and second pool and they're extremely comfortable and free towels are available.

Overall I thought it was great for quiet days and lively nights. Will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nobby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here in august for a week. Check in was slow,then we waited an hour for our room,we went to the buffet while we waited and the food is like any other buffet..it was ok at first but after 2 or 3 days,not so good! The rooms are VERY old and dated. 2 twin beds pushed together so if you want to sleep close to your partner one or the other is in the middle crack,they are just basic thin,barely any cushion mattresses. Bathrooms were so tiny! only one person at a time can fit in there. The room was pretty clean when first arrived,but during the week the maids did nothing but change our sheets and give us towels and put some cleaner in the toilet,so being on a beach holiday there was sand all over the floor and bathroom got a little dusty and dirty,so i ended up cleaning it myself every day.tap water is soo salty,so you never really feel clean,we spent alot of money on water to just rinse our selves off after a shower..my husband got a blister on his foot while there and it healed up in no time with all that salt water we had to shower in..lol! I felt like i was at a boarding school at this resort,everything we asked for we were told NO or it cost money! and so many rules! you cant drink pepsi or juice from a large glass(only beer and sangria are allowed in these disposable cups) anything else comes in a tiny shooter like cup..you are not allowed to bring drinks from bars up to the room. We asked for pizza huts number and they said no because they do business with a different pizza joint so we couldnt order to the hotel!! safe is 4euro a day,beach towel is 3euro a day per person (non refundable) iron cost money to use,remote,mini fridge ect...we asked for a couple extra towels in the room and were told NO we dont give extras! All inclusive is not that at all! only buffet food and gross hamburger or hotdog by the pool even though there are many options on there menu but was not included in the all inclusive and were way over priced.You only have so many drink options as well..the beer they serve is GROOOSSS!!! we asked if they could print our boarding passes the day we left and once again "NO" There was a few really nice staff members though.Nightly entertainment was a joke! we had our room facing ushuia and on tuesday to saturday they had many great djs performing,then to go downstairs for a drink to see whats going on at our own resort was just so disappointing!!! The pool is pretty much a lap pool rather then a lounging pool (also salt water) location is great,close to everything! beach was great as well. We bought our own towels from a super market down the street,but dont go to the first couple of stores ,make your way down the strip and you will get a better deal! we ate at ciao ciao italian restaurant 2 times while there,it was very good food for a very good price. Its just a couple blocks from the hotel. We will definately return to ibiza but definately not this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#6 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel

Property: Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Address: Playa d'en Bossa 10, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Playa d'en Bossa Beach, the adults-only Ushuaia Ibiza features a spa and 2 outdoor pools with large sun beds. Guests enjoy free entrance to live DJ performances hosted by the hotel. The minimalist rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a 42-inch plasma TV and iPod docking station. They also feature a furnished terrace. The Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel is made up of 2 separate buildings. The Ushuaia Club houses the bedrooms and hosts the hotel's famous parties. The exclusive Ushuaia Tower offers 24-hour room service, 2 outdoor pools, Balinese beds and a poolside cocktail bar. The hotel offers a Japanese fusion restaurant with a Zen garden, as well as a Beach Club restaurant with Mediterranean cuisine. The property's Montauk Restaurant specialises in steaks and other grilled meats. The hotel is 2 km from Ibiza Airport and 3 km from Ibiza Old Town. It is located directly opposite Space Nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Palladium Hotel Group, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing