We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel algarb, or better known hotel miserable!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel algarb, or better known hotel miserable!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a week at this hotel,October 11th - 18th, this wasn't our chosen hotel but was relocated due to end of season & other hotel closed early!
From the start off we was meeted by miserable faces on reception,bar staff (upper & lower bars) the maids was the politest! The rooms are ok,cleaned every day,sea view off balcony!!
The food is bland & doesn't change (same at lunch as is dinner) the "snacks" consist of 2 dry pieces of bread with slice of meat in a sealed bag, or a salad bowl or croissants
Drinks... Only allowed 2 drinks at a time unless All your party are near the bar!
The entertainment consisted of one person,Rossa, she works really hard doing exercise in morning,walking round poolside checking guests are ok & bring free drink tasters,in evening she puts on evening entertainment as best as she could! Rossa only member of hotel staff to smile & have a conversation with guests!
The good points of this hotel,Clean & tidy,hotel right on the beach,clear blue water & very tidy kept beach!! Small Pool but it's ok because the beach is few feet away!
Would I go back? Definitely Not!!!

Room Tip: The rooms have good Sea views, corner of hotel has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claypole55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    682
    406
    170
    115
See reviews for
192
651
95
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 days/nights. Wasn't sure what to expect as we booked it last minute and the reviews about the food were not good. This is not the case at all. My husband likes eating healthy where as I'm picky with my food. We both had lots to choose from and enjoyed the food with fresh pasta dishes and different meats cooked infront of you and a different variety of fish, chicken and meats in different sauces every day. Our whole stay was very enjoyable with friendly staff especially Rossa the entertainment lady who was very helpful and always trying to keep everyone happy and as she speaks various languages so involving everyone. We would stay here again even though there was not many places open at this time of year but the weather, hotel and staff were fantastic and we met some lovely people there xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, its a great location for all the club, but just far enough away to be relaxing and not noisy on the beach outside the hotel. The food as Great on the all inclusive and for the money you can't go wrong..
I'd recommend it to anyone 20-90 ! :)
It may not be the best luxury but has everything you'd need, hence my return visit !

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in October with 4 friends this was not our original hotel the one we chose had shut for the winter on reflection i am glad we went here as the original witch we saw looked to be terrible .The rooms were basic and the beds to hard for our liking each to their own our shower was a joke more water on the floor than in the bath and no hot water till 8am , but the rooms were kept very clean we had plenty of clean towls every day and the beds were changed 4 times over the 2 weeks the girls work very hard everyday in the rooms .The soundproofing is horrendous you can hear allsorts in your room even conversations and other things !!!!! one night i woke up thinking people were in our room only to find out they were the floor above us . There was a good variety of food but get in there when it opens or its cold i mean stone cold the fresh cooked pasta was lovely and hot as were the grillde meats and omelets in the morning but all in all the food was good . The drinks were fine but served in silly little plastic cups coffee was served at the bar and made fresh that made the queues very long evening times were worse . The entertainment was average only one person doing it she worked very hard all day and evening she only had 1 day off in the 2 weeks we were there .We had a heat wave while there but not a lot of people were in the pool ?? The Hotel is right on the beach so may be thats why the sun beds need updating as do much of the hotel .Location is great bus stop right outside we went over the Island on the bus Hippy market was fun ,Ibiza Town ,San Antonio and a few other little places ,from Ibiza Town you can get a boat back to Playa dien Bossa just by the hotel .We had a trip to Formentera and hired bikes what was the best day went swimming in the clearest water we have swam in :) Some of the reviews we have read have been quite negitave about this hotel updating the Algarb would make it a great hotel we understand that Playa dien Bossa is being revamped may be this will be a wake up call

Room Tip: Top floor less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyNkimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is great place and good value to money ratio. I would definitely come back to Algarb hotel.
The service, food, and rooms are very nice and I can not think about anything bad. Come and visit Algarb. Algarb the hotel of great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Some of the reviews I have read of this hotel are ridiculous! I have just come back and the place is clean, the food is good and you can get out of the pool and be on the beach in under a minute! I'd go back anytime!

The food was varied and really tasty. Always something to eat and plenty of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzdeadmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with a small group of friends. The location is perfect, right on the beach and close to Ibiza Town. The hotel is fairly basic and looks a little dated, but it was clean and had everything we needed. It worked out extremely good value for the 5 of us to stay here, I guess I would have given it a lower rating if we had paid more but it was exactly what we were looking for to get a little bit of sun before the winter!

Room Tip: Our group had rooms on either side of the corridor on the 6th floor and both rooms had lovely sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarefoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
#17 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,977 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
#10 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol The New Algarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol The New Algarb

Property: Hotel Playasol The New Algarb
Address: Avenida Pere Matutes Noguera 107, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playasol The New Algarb 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located at the centre of the Playa d’en Bossa, at the seafront in one of the most visited and popular areas of Ibiza. It is very close to the city centre (only 3 km away), and has a bus stop in front of the hotel; it is also close to fashionable clubs and only 13 minutes from the airport. Rooms: The rooms have been completely renovated and are fully equipped with all the furniture guests may need (desk, luggage rack, bedside table, and chair/armchair), a full bathroom with a bathtub and partition and a hair dryer. All rooms have air conditioning, a plasma TV with satellite service, free safe, telephone, mini-fridge, and balcony with patio furniture and side views of the sea. Facilities: Hotel facilities have been updated to provide them with a touch of modernity and to enlarge them. The complex has one pool for adults and one pool for children with lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests to use as well as direct beach access. Qiub, the pool’s beach bar, located in front of the sea, offers a wide variety of gastronomic delights and cocktails from 11:00 am to 7:30 pm. It also has an exclusive Balinese bed and lounge chair service for a fee. The pool bar serves drinks from 10:30 am to 7:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. We also have a bar in the lobby offering drinks from 7:00 pm to midnight. Next to it, the new TOKYO IBIZA restaurant offers a variety of both Mediterranean and Asian cuisine in a buffet with a cooking show for breakfast (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm). Services: The hotel offers newspapers in three different areas, a large lobby with a video game section (PlayStation), 85” TV, 24 hour vending machines, shops, and a pool table. Massage area in the pool garden. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. The All-Inclusive Plus service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant. A variety of sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order. Ice cream, non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, a variety of wines and spirits (from top brands, naturally); all of this is provided with personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Grupo Playa Sol, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playasol The New Algarb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing