We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Algarb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Algarb Hotel
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nightmare hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Myself and my mother stayed at the Hotel Algarb from the 15th to the 22nd October.If you are hoping to sleep or relax during the day you have no chance. From 11am to 7pm there is very loud music played in the pool area that can be heard in every part of the hotel.Even when your doors and windows are shut in your room its all you can hear.Some of the music contained very offensive language and there were children playing in the pools

In the restaurant there is dirty water leaking from the air conditioners onto food plates and food at the buffet , on our first night we discovered this half way through a meal and my mother spent four of our seven days in her room with sickness and diarrhea.

The internet is 40 euros for a week , what the hotel fails to tell you is that it does not work if you want to use Facebook or Skype to contact relatives back home.Most other applications do not work either.I complained to the hotel and was told that if i needed to use the internet i should do it in the middle of the night when all the other guests were asleep as there signal was no good.

The food was varied but we found the meat several times not cooked properly and cold, and the same food was repeated daily.

The nosiest hotel i have ever stayed in it was like sleeping in the middle of a shopping center , never again,

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    640
    383
    161
    102
See reviews for
174
607
90
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a week at this hotel,October 11th - 18th, this wasn't our chosen hotel but was relocated due to end of season & other hotel closed early!
From the start off we was meeted by miserable faces on reception,bar staff (upper & lower bars) the maids was the politest! The rooms are ok,cleaned every day,sea view off balcony!!
The food is bland & doesn't change (same at lunch as is dinner) the "snacks" consist of 2 dry pieces of bread with slice of meat in a sealed bag, or a salad bowl or croissants
Drinks... Only allowed 2 drinks at a time unless All your party are near the bar!
The entertainment consisted of one person,Rossa, she works really hard doing exercise in morning,walking round poolside checking guests are ok & bring free drink tasters,in evening she puts on evening entertainment as best as she could! Rossa only member of hotel staff to smile & have a conversation with guests!
The good points of this hotel,Clean & tidy,hotel right on the beach,clear blue water & very tidy kept beach!! Small Pool but it's ok because the beach is few feet away!
Would I go back? Definitely Not!!!

Room Tip: The rooms have good Sea views, corner of hotel has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claypole55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa d'en Bossa hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 days/nights. Wasn't sure what to expect as we booked it last minute and the reviews about the food were not good. This is not the case at all. My husband likes eating healthy where as I'm picky with my food. We both had lots to choose from and enjoyed the food with fresh pasta dishes and different meats cooked infront of you and a different variety of fish, chicken and meats in different sauces every day. Our whole stay was very enjoyable with friendly staff especially Rossa the entertainment lady who was very helpful and always trying to keep everyone happy and as she speaks various languages so involving everyone. We would stay here again even though there was not many places open at this time of year but the weather, hotel and staff were fantastic and we met some lovely people there xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, its a great location for all the club, but just far enough away to be relaxing and not noisy on the beach outside the hotel. The food as Great on the all inclusive and for the money you can't go wrong..
I'd recommend it to anyone 20-90 ! :)
It may not be the best luxury but has everything you'd need, hence my return visit !

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in October with 4 friends this was not our original hotel the one we chose had shut for the winter on reflection i am glad we went here as the original witch we saw looked to be terrible .The rooms were basic and the beds to hard for our liking each to their own our shower was a joke more water on the floor than in the bath and no hot water till 8am , but the rooms were kept very clean we had plenty of clean towls every day and the beds were changed 4 times over the 2 weeks the girls work very hard everyday in the rooms .The soundproofing is horrendous you can hear allsorts in your room even conversations and other things !!!!! one night i woke up thinking people were in our room only to find out they were the floor above us . There was a good variety of food but get in there when it opens or its cold i mean stone cold the fresh cooked pasta was lovely and hot as were the grillde meats and omelets in the morning but all in all the food was good . The drinks were fine but served in silly little plastic cups coffee was served at the bar and made fresh that made the queues very long evening times were worse . The entertainment was average only one person doing it she worked very hard all day and evening she only had 1 day off in the 2 weeks we were there .We had a heat wave while there but not a lot of people were in the pool ?? The Hotel is right on the beach so may be thats why the sun beds need updating as do much of the hotel .Location is great bus stop right outside we went over the Island on the bus Hippy market was fun ,Ibiza Town ,San Antonio and a few other little places ,from Ibiza Town you can get a boat back to Playa dien Bossa just by the hotel .We had a trip to Formentera and hired bikes what was the best day went swimming in the clearest water we have swam in :) Some of the reviews we have read have been quite negitave about this hotel updating the Algarb would make it a great hotel we understand that Playa dien Bossa is being revamped may be this will be a wake up call

Room Tip: Top floor less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martyNkimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is great place and good value to money ratio. I would definitely come back to Algarb hotel.
The service, food, and rooms are very nice and I can not think about anything bad. Come and visit Algarb. Algarb the hotel of great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Some of the reviews I have read of this hotel are ridiculous! I have just come back and the place is clean, the food is good and you can get out of the pool and be on the beach in under a minute! I'd go back anytime!

The food was varied and really tasty. Always something to eat and plenty of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzdeadmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa d'en Bossa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Hotel Mare Nostrum
#18 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Algarb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Algarb Hotel

Property: The New Algarb Hotel
Address: Avenida Pere Matutes Noguera 107, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Algarb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Algarb takes care of its customers, offering its best services and combining comfort and quality. We aim to make luxury available to all. Welcome to "Lowxury". A renovated and distinguished space where you will be able to sleep in refurbished bedrooms and you will find all kinds of leisure and restaurant services. We also offer the convenience of having everything included at the same price. The most complete accommodation for a demanding tourist. Only 5 minutes away by car from central Ibiza and the airport, located in a privileged area of the Playa d'en Bossa, one of the most famous and beautiful beaches, where you can have fun at the essential clubs and discos which are part of the Ibiza night-life scene. A unique opportunity for you to try our delicious buffet with show cooking in our state-of-the-art restaurant with stunning views of the Mediterranean. You can also watch the sun go down from one of the Balinese beds at the Beach Club, relax in our refurnished bedrooms, or simply enjoy the newly modernised facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Grupo Playa Sol and Odigeo so you can book your The New Algarb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza
The New Algarb Hotel Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing