We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I have been to this hotel about 8 times and it's not as bad as some say.I think you get what you pay for the staff are friendly and efficient the rooms are clean and the food is ok. The location is brilliant near to pubs shops and space and bora bora.I would recommend this hotel if your wanting a cheap all inclusive hotel.il be going back in July.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinmcgrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

Nice Impression from outside !! Reception looked OK !
ROOMS ..
MOULDLY shower curtain,Hair dryer hanging off wall,REALLY DUSTY under bed all week also CHEWING GUM on bed spread all week!!!!
LOUNGE & DINNING ROOM ...
Towels on floors as LEAKING ROOFS !! Dead insects in Dinning room (WINDOW SILLS).
FOOD not up to standards just WARM in no more !!! Same food most mornings and dinner. Same Sweets every night ( JELLYS !!! & FRUIT COCKTAIL !! ) ALL SWEETS WERE COLD NO CHOICE FOR WARM SWEETS !!!. Crockery Not Very CLEAN !!
Also members of Staff NOT VERY CLEAN DRESSED !!!!!!! E.G = CHEFF WHITES NOT WHITE GREY AND STAINED !!!!
ENTERTAINMENT ...
Never lasted more than half an hour !! 4 Live shows the rest listen to TAPES !!
POOL...
Was hardly CLEANED !!! Sunbed ok but not very comfy !!!!! Toilets at the pool bar was VERY VERY BAD !!!!!!!! Lights on the swimming pool walls were OFF and Floating in the WATER !!!

JUST SOME ADVICE NEVER GO TO THIS HOTEL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Womble45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Booked this hotel a couple of weeks before departure and felt I'd got a good deal for an all inclusive holiday. The location is excellent, right on the beachfront with a bus stop to Ibiza town outside. Hotel always kept clean and the rooms were perfectly adequate.
The let down is the clientele!!! followed by the very poor food and surly service.
Other than a pasta bar the food was the cheapest quality you could ever expect to see... packet soup watered down until it was literally just coloured water and main courses cold or luke warm at best. The bar staff were grumpy and even though I tried to always ask in Spanish they never cracked a smile . The all inclusive drink option certainly is taken advantage of by certain British clientele and I was woken one night by a drunken man kicking the next door bedroom door in trying to get his equally drunk girlfriend to open the door!!! Horrendous...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concatenation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

went to the argarb 20 years ago twice, was supprised to find it just as wonderful as we did all those years ago, the hotel was spotless the staff lovely food could not be faulted drinks were plentiful will be back again next year with a few friends maybe make two visits the hotel is on the beach what more could anyone wish for. maureen

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddison8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Located within walking distance of the main part of playa den bossa and space nightclub. Staff were not helpful at all. Rooms were clean but very basic - no fridge for cold drinks (so rather difficult to drink before going to clubs) and the air conditioner was hotter than it was outside so we never used it (and it was very hot outside!). The pool was grimy and had cups and hair floating in it. There were no activities or anything organised by the hotel. The hotel is relatively cheap and in a good location so if you just want a place to sleep it is good, if you want anything else id go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The location of the Algarb on Playa D'en Bossa is brilliant. The fact that the beach is on the doorstep is wonderful and there are some great bars and restaurants closeby. I love that the Algarb is so close to Space, Bora Bora and all of the fabulous beach bars. The service was friendly and the room was cleaned every day. I had a great stay and would definitely return - again and again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKUK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I travelled with some old friends to visit the closing parties in the last week of the 2010 season and really cannot see why so many people have talked this hotel down. I worked out that we paid £20 each per day all-inclusive, so if you bear that in mind i`ll give you an accurate description of what you get.
The room and bathroom were clean, everything worked properly. All TV channels were either Italian, German or Spanish (no real surprise there). I asked for a quiet room when booking so we were allocated a room on the fifth floor end of corridoor which was fine for us, we like to party but also sleep! One of the lifts was broken and of the other two, one was limited to 2 persons but i only had to use the stairs a few times to go up, i do`nt mind walking even on the holidays.
Some of the bar staff were a bit grumpy but bearing in mind it was the end of the season i`ll forgive them. I found speaking (or at least attempting) to speak in Spanish got me a long way, it even raised a smile and i was digusted at the English and Germans who made no effort at all to converse in Spanish. I noticed that several of the staff work 7 days a week, all day so you can understand the frustration when a drunk idiot starts waving fingers around and pointing at the `cerveza` pump. Its really not difficult to learn a few words of the local language.
The food i found generally good quality i didn`t get bored with the selection and we ate out only once on the last night (in a different town). The choice was varied and tasted fresh, the salads and fish were well presented and washed down with plenty of vino blanco a most pleasent experience (refer back to the £20 marker, it aint going to be 5*!).
The pool was very deep and clean, though when the wind picked up later in the week it blew any lying rubbish into the water, so it may have been a good idea for the life-guard to scoop it out. The pool bar had a slightly odd policy where the drinks allocation was involved. Some of us were allowed 2 drinks, some only 1. This policy seemed to change depending of how `jolly` the bar staff had become throughout the day, again speaking Spanish is the key.
If you saw the Algarb in a brochure its appearence would probably put you off but its location makes it a winner for a hassle free holiday. RIght on the beach, though far enough from the clubs to get some rest when needed. I imagine it gets pretty busy in the middle of the season but for what we needed it was spot on, cheap, clean and i could see Space and the waterpark from my balcony. On the street directly outside is a Burger King, Spar off-licence and two sports bars so you don`t have to walk far for your home comforts, the main strip for pubs is further along the road, a 5 minute walk towards Bora Bora.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidSticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
#17 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#5 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#6 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol The New Algarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol The New Algarb

Address: Avenida Pere Matutes Noguera 107, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range: £59 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playasol The New Algarb 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located at the centre of the Playa d’en Bossa, at the seafront in one of the most visited and popular areas of Ibiza. It is very close to the city centre (only 3 km away), and has a bus stop in front of the hotel; it is also close to fashionable clubs and only 13 minutes from the airport. Rooms: The rooms have been completely renovated and are fully equipped with all the furniture guests may need (desk, luggage rack, bedside table, and chair/armchair), a full bathroom with a bathtub and partition and a hair dryer. All rooms have air conditioning, a plasma TV with satellite service, free safe, telephone, mini-fridge, and balcony with patio furniture and side views of the sea. Facilities: Hotel facilities have been updated to provide them with a touch of modernity and to enlarge them. The complex has one pool for adults and one pool for children with lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests to use as well as direct beach access. Qiub, the pool’s beach bar, located in front of the sea, offers a wide variety of gastronomic delights and cocktails from 11:00 am to 7:30 pm. It also has an exclusive Balinese bed and lounge chair service for a fee. The pool bar serves drinks from 10:30 am to 7:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. We also have a bar in the lobby offering drinks from 7:00 pm to midnight. Next to it, the new TOKYO IBIZA restaurant offers a variety of both Mediterranean and Asian cuisine in a buffet with a cooking show for breakfast (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm). Services: The hotel offers newspapers in three different areas, a large lobby with a video game section (PlayStation), 85” TV, 24 hour vending machines, shops, and a pool table. Massage area in the pool garden. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. The All-Inclusive Plus service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant. A variety of sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order. Ice cream, non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, a variety of wines and spirits (from top brands, naturally); all of this is provided with personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Grupo Playa Sol, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Playasol The New Algarb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing