We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Not for families” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mare Nostrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
1 review
“Definitely Not for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Where shall I start...I was part of a family group of 9 where there was 2 children under 10 included. Booked through Travel Republic all inclusive for 9 nights, the hotel stated the usual, suitable for families entertainment, kids club etc. After reading through rather alot of reviews we were quite sceptical on what we were letting ourselves into...a couple of weeks before departure we received a email stating there was no further kids club, entertainment now 3 times a week and no daily activities (none of this bothered us).

When we arrived (1.30am) staff were very welcoming and were very efficient on checking us in, couple of problems with key cards not being activated to allow us into our rooms but soon fixed.

Noise control was ridiculous. Understand people having a great time and enjoying themselves but being woken up to music blaring at half 4 in the morning was a joke...earplugs had to be bought and used. Couple of times we had to go down to reception and complain...with having kids trying sleep it was a problem. Reception was great and resolved quickly.

Rooms were very basic (beds, bathroom, tv, wardrobe) could do with small fridge being installed as no where to keep water, juice etc. Towels and linen was changed everyday from what I could tell, always clean and smelled amazing after cleaners had been.
Cleaners were very friendly always said good morning and hello.
Andreita from 2nd floor was great with our boys...always had a cuddle and a kiss everyday.

Only used pool a couple of times as it was over crowded by younger people drinking and using foul language. Later on in the afternoons poolside was littered and it was obvious there was very intoxicated people about.

All Inclusive was great, definitely recommended as you get your moneys worth. Food was fantastic in the restaurant always something different on offer. Had something to suit everyone. Only thing id suggest is getting new toasters...even after putting bread in to toast 2 times it was still very bready. Snacks at the bar were ok not much choice and once it was gone it was gone, no replenishment.

Overall the hotel was ok, definitely wouldnt recommend to anyone wishing to go here with children, as the cheapness attracts the younger revellers wanting just somewhere to sleep.
As I said the staff were friendly and attentive to our needs..there was a couple of staff who were very rude but you have to take the good with the bad sometimes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
845AGomez, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear EmmaM,

Thanks for your extense and kind review on Hotel Mare Nostrum. We are allways very interested on the opinions of our guests to know what are our strenghts and weaknesses.

Regarding the families, Hotel Mare Nostrum is not specially adressed to family resevations. But in general we have a good ambience with a mix of all kind of nacionalities with also a mix of people of all ages: adults, young people and sometimes childs,

We will take into account your opinion. Thank you also for the good comments you make from our services : food, and cleaning and about the friendliness of our staff, specially Andreita.

We hope you will visit us in a future and that you will find everything entirely of your convenience.

Kind Regards
E.Maura
Assistant Manager
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    567
    386
    155
    176
See reviews for
124
473
72
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for a usual mad holiday in Ibiza. Pool area is good fun with the groups of people who are all enjoying themselves! My only complaint would be that the bed was like a rock and the showers near the gym that you use the day you check out (as most flights leave in the night time and check out is 12noon) are absolutely disgusting. The hotel needs a good updating but it was fine. Wifi was impossible to use and very cheeky to charge in the rooms themselves. Staff were pleasant but there was always a long queue at the desk to get to speak with anyone and you are constantly being skipped. I would like to say a special thank you to Nic at reception who was always very helpful with any information we required. He was always smiling and never hesitated to help. Location of this hotel is perfect. It's true what everyone writes regarding the thin walls.. We were in a room next to a bunch of three lads, one of which was very aggressive every morning they came in and would throw things around the room which made me slightly nervous. Overall, satisfied with this hotel but probably would stay somewhere a little nicer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
845AGomez, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to post your comments on the Tripadvisor website.

We are glad that in general you liked our hotel and that you found our staff so kind (we will pass by your comments to our recepcionist Nicola) .

And that specially you liked the swimming pool area. We try to create a comfortable environment for everybody, For that reason we use a 24hr security service.

Concerning the free wifi, we would like to inform your that we take note of your suggestion and let you know that we have included it in our continuous improvement programs. Also about the cleaning of the courtesy shower, we also have informed the cleaning department to take measures about that.

We are very pleased that you enjoy your stay in Ibiza.

Looking forward to see you again in Ibiza!

Kind Regards
E.Maura
Assistant Manager
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a great stay in Mare Nostrum...Mainly because its so chilled and relaxed. .Staff are friendly and pleasant..Special thanks to Andrietta, the cleaner, always smiling and singing...The rooms are pleasant. ..change of sheets everyday and bright and spacious. .We came for a short girls break..just 10mins from Bora Bora beach...nightlife isnt too exciting for bars as things die down early on but just head to a superclub or san Antonio. ..:) ps free wifi could be better!! X

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zazaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
845AGomez, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Zazaza,

Many thanks for your nice comments, I am really happy you have had a very nice holidays at Mare Nostrum hotel.

As you have written the hotel is a really good value for money and we are near of Playa den Bossa are with bars and the night entertainment. About the wifi, we take note for in the future improve the system.

We will transmit Andreita your specially congratulations.

We are looking forward to receive you and your friends in your next visit to the island.

Kind Regards
E.Maura
Assistant Manager
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff was very helpful, nice, ready to help, smiling all the time. This attitude gives anyone a good mood. The hotel itself offers you everything you need. The room are basic, but all the rooms have a balcony. And, the food...was great, fresh and well prepared. A lot of choices, nothing was missing, the restaurant very big and clean. The food was a great surprise. I was expecting less from a 2 stars hotel. Plenty of choices, a lot of salads, meat food, open air cooking are, really good indeed.

The rooms are not very well cleaned. The bathtub was not clean, the balcony windows very dirty, there were spots on the bedding and so on. The numbers of stars has nothing to to with the cleanliness. Also, the halls were very dirty. The carpet on the halls was...wow, what a mess. And the big problem - the noise all night long. Even if the staff solved the problem in a second, the tourists were mostly British young people who were screaming and singing loud all night long, very dirty, throwing garbage everywhere... I know it has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but people with children who want to stay here, should know for kids is not a good place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OanaO26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
845AGomez, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Oana026,

Many thanks for having chosen Mare Nostrum Hotel for staying during your holidays.We are glad to hear that you felt in general very comfortable here and you had very good experience.

Thank you very much for sharing in Tripadvisor your comments, above all the one of the smiling of our staff, we really apreciate it.

We take good note of your comments about the cleaning.

Concerning the noise we have a security department that works hard during 24 hours.

We wish you have the same feelings next time you visit us and your can find everything perfect.

Yours sincerely,
E.Maura
Assistant Manager
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

So I stayed with my friend from June 21-26. We like to party so this hotel was definitely the right decision. 95% of the people here are your typical Ibiza clubbers ages 18-26. The all inclusive is an absolute must! Drinks are great the hotel isn't cheap with the amount of alcohol they pour, and the food isn't amazing, but its absolutely fine. There is a great selection at the buffet that changes daily, as well as great show cooking that changes daily as well. And if you ever find yourself missing breakfast lunch or dinner times, there is a bunch of very good and surprisingly cheap cafes and restaurant across the street and also on the beach which is a 2 min walk literally. Also the pool is really nice and not too crowded when I went. And the location is absolutely awesome. 2 min walk from the beach and a bunch of beach cafes, and 10 min walk from space bora bora ushuaia and sankeys. The only negatives I could think of are the following: Wifi wasn't free outside of the lobby. Gym was terrible, but who cares your on vacation. I had 2 beds in my room and one of them had an absolutely terrible mattress, could feel every spring in it, other bed was totally fine. I was really drunk every night when I went to bed so the matress didn't bother me, but the staff at the front desk were so helpful that I guarantee if I complained they would have changed my mattress or moved me to another room. This hotel is absolutely awesome if your going to Ibiza to party and don't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money. If you are looking for a quite relaxing time with your family then stay away. Would absolutely return!

Room Tip: make sure you get all inclusive and ask for a room with a pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
845AGomez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Yan B,

Thank you so much for posting your positive feedback on TripAdvisor and thank you for your detailed description on every department.

The range of our clients, as you said, is 18-30 years old. Even if we tried to create a comfortable environment for everybody, We have a 7/24 security service and the all inclusive services at the bar finish at 11pm in order to let people rest during the night.

Concerning the free wifi, we would like to inform your that we take note of your suggestion and let you know that we have included it in our continuous improvement programs.

We are very pleased that you enjoy your stay in Ibiza. Our greatest satisfaction is to know that, thanks to our services, people like you spend some unforgettable days in their holidays. Next time don’t hesitate to contact reception to change your bed.

Looking forward to see you soon in Ibiza!

Best wishes,

Elisa Maggioni
Guest Relations
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here last week, we booked the holiday at the last minute and got a good deal with this hotel. Having seen the reviews were quite mixed, we weren't expecting much. However, when we arrived we were very pleasantly suprised. The room was exceptionally clean and we had a great view of the sea from our balcony. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided daily. The food in the hotel restaurant was good, we particularly liked the churros at breakfast!! The pool area was lovely and very clean and there were plenty of sunbeds, even when we came down later on in the day. All the staff were very helpful.
Overall, we had a really lovely stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
845AGomez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Lindsay B,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our Hotel and the services rendered.

We are very happy to read your review and to know you had a comfortable stay with us. In our mind is always the desire to serve to our máximum possibilities our customers.

We remain entirely at your disposal for any other comment and we are looking forward to welcome you in another occasion.

Best regard,

Elisa Maggioni
Guests Relations
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for what we needed. clean, friendly staff and the buffet food was nice. V.close to bora bora beach which was excellent. Have to mention Andreita, one of the cleaners who (after my mate lost all of his money on one of the first nights) returned the money after she found it whilst cleaning the room on our last day. There was almost 1000 Euros and we couldn't have been more grateful. Fantastic end to a great holiday. My only complaint would be about the all inclusive bar where you couldn't order more then 2 drinks even though every person I was ordering for were sitting at the bar with me. Still, perfect hotel for what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
845AGomez, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Craig R,

First of all thank you very much for your special and gratifying review and for sharing it here with the rest of travellers.

We will congratulate all our staff for their good job and specially Andrea. We are very glad that you find most of our services of your complete satisfaction and we take note of the small objections you remark.

We are looking forward to receive you in your next visit to the island.

Regards
E.Maura
Assistant Manager
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa d'en Bossa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#13 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bora Bora Apartments
Bora Bora Apartments
#25 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare Nostrum

Property: Hotel Mare Nostrum
Address: Pere Matutes Noguera, 53, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mare Nostrum hotel is one of the most outstanding hotels in Ibiza due to its location right on Playa d'en Bossa and its sheer size. It has a unique location because it is so near to famous beaches and also Ibiza's must-see sights, such as the port. The best Ibiza has to offer within a stone's throw. Every single one of our facilities and services, such as the "all-inclusive" package, are designed to cover each and every one of your needs. The Mare Nostrum hotel is particularly appealing to younger visitors because it is so close to fashionable leisure spots in Playa d'en Bossa, and also because of our pool parties, with their special décor and good music. Our dynamic team will go all out to ensure that you have a great stay and make the most of your time in Ibiza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Grupo Playa Sol, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing