We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Garbi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Great Garbi”
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Ibiza with 2 Girlies. As I am fast approaching the big 30 I wanted somewhere respectable to stay but also near the action. I must say that The Garbi is fantastic, spotless interior and very modern. The Pool is fantastic and just a short walk through the resturant and you are on the Beach. Still close enough to the action of Bora Bora and Space but has a laid back and chilled vibe by the Pool. Love the bar stools where we had a few cheeky Cava's. 3 Girls sharing a room could have been a squeeze but we were given 3 beds and we had clean towels every day. The breakfast had a varied selection of pastries, toasts, and even the egg men. All in all I defo would stay here again and is suitable for all ages!!!

  • Liked — New Decor
  • Disliked — Breakfast finishes at 10.30am
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    431
    104
    36
    30
See reviews for
111
573
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2008

hotel was fantastic could not fault it. hotel was modern and really cool! hotel always clean and staff fantastic and friendly.
hotel was right on beach and close access to lots of resturants and shops. bora bora beach only a few steps away brilliant!!! space nigth club about 5 minute walk from hotel. the hotel has a club called matina attached which was good for a quick, cheap night of dancing. really quite hotel despite how close everything was we never heard a thing! fantastic could go again.

  • Liked — it all
  • Disliked — nothing really just the general price of the euro made things expensive in ibiza
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monkey232007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

really nice modern clean hotel. good location helpful staff. best holiday! good for young people partying in ibiza and also couples and families. such good value for money. brand new, just been refurbished! made our holiday! GO TO GARBI!

  • Liked — modern and clean.
  • Disliked — all good!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xj_me_leex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Club Garbi with my wife. Firstly, we arrived at 9.30am in the morning & were able to check in early with no fuss (supposed to not be able to check in till 12.30pm), and had unpacked our cases & were sitting down for breakfast at the hotel for 10am. This for us this was probably the only disappointing thing about the hotel, the food, as we found it very bland (especially the cereal), with a lack of real choice at night as well (on a positive note Burger King & Pizza hut are right across the road!) . The hotel has recently been refurbished and looks very impressive. Easily the best hotel I have visited in Ibiza (8th visit). Air con & a fridge come as standard and the rooms are a good size with decent size balcony, although ours did overlook the new hotel that is being built opposite (don’t worry about the noise from the builders though as they very much have a (“manana manana” attitude!). Cleaners visited the room every day & towels and sheets were changed regularly. There is a mixed crowd at the hotel of family’s and more mature clubbers, which means it is relatively quiet, and un-intruding. The pool is excellent, kept spotless, with an adequate amount of sun loungers, with a nice chilled feel to it. There is also a smaller kids pool and a Jacuzzi. For us the location of the hotel could not be better in the resort as everything is close by, without being on top of it. It is right next to the beach, a 5 minute watch to Bora Bora, and a 15 minute walk to Space. There is also a Spar across the road! Found all staff very freindly, especially the bar staff. Reading other peoples comments, it would be fair to say it does not compare to a 4 star hotel in the UK (room service etc), but none the less worth its 4 stars for the way the hotel has been refurbished and the quality of everything in it, excluding the food! Would not hesitate in staying here again as it was excellent value for money (note - our stay worked out £100 pp cheaper for half board than if we had booked into a 3 star self catering apartment we had previously stayed in).

  • Liked — The hotel pool is great, ideal place to chill by the day.
  • Disliked — The food - lack of real choice or any imagination.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My boyfriend and I have been to Ibiza a few times and decided to try out Hotel Garbi this time round. The hotel is newly refurbished, very clean and in a great location right on the beach at Playa den Bossa. The rooms have simple decor but, again, are all newly refurbed and are a good size - they are everything you need for your beach holiday.

We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel to friends. I will put a big disclaimer on this by saying that you should stipulate that you want a room in the hotel overlooking the pool / beach. We initially got put in a room facing the car park/road and it wasn't pleasant.

The pool is fantastic and the hotel attracts a good mixed crowd of nationalities and ages.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Just back from a 4 days stay and the Garbi. We were in Ibiza for a wedding so we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but the time we did spend was nice.

*Breakfast*
We were staying on a B&B basis and the breakfast was a buffet and there was lots of choice. The only 2 problem's i had with the breakfast were: The staff aren't very polite and insisted on clearing the table if one of you has finished but the other is still eating, which was very rude as they should always wait until both have finished. the 2nd was that there was no fresh fruit juice, just some diluting juice that they claim is fresh.

*Bedroom*
The bedroom was very clean and has the best decor of all the other ones in the area, plenty of wardrobe space and hangers ! The maids were very pleasent and helpful. The room all have fridges so you can buy your own water etc

*Public Areas & Bars*
Very modern and cool and very clean, the bars staff were nice. we only ever paid cash so i'm not sure if you could run a tab or anything.

*Reception*
Everytime we went to reception we spoke to a differnt person and they were all super helpful.

*Beach*
You can walk right out to the beach from the hotel and the loungers can be hires for 6 euros each per day and unlike some of the other beaches the beds were spaced out and never really that busy.

There if WiFi throughout the hotel which is great and it also have a car park.

The only problem i found with the hotel was that they don't hire out irons and ironing boards ??? If i was staying in an apartment i could understand but the hotel is a 4 star so should really offer this service. We were over for a wedding and needed to iron clothes the day of the wedding but they tried to get us to use some Ironing service where they send your clothes away for 3 hours for someone to iron !?? hmmmm i would rather iron my own clothes in 5 mins rather that wait 3 hours to get someone to do it for me ?? Crazy !!

The area itself isn't really my choice ( british pubs, tacky shops etc ) but i is 2 mins from Bora Bora Beach and Space if that is where you are looking to head too. This hotel is definitly the best in the area.

Hope this helps......

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Unable to hire and iron and rude resturant staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Beverley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Normally stay in Ocean Drive or Blau Park in Ibiza (the island isn't exactly a haven of great hotels) but decided to try the Garbi for a change as it's newly refurbished and had heard great things.

Firstly, rooms are lovely - nicest I've seen on the island. In fact, the whole hotel is modern, and pretty nice. Great pool and bar area right on the beach, tasty. Free wireless, like it.

However, there are some serious issues going on here that make me wonder how this hotel managed to get a 4* rating. 20 euros 'deposit' to get a manky beach towel. No food room service - just drinks. None of the hotel's restaurants or bars seem to accept credit cards or room charges - you have to pay cash! And the minibar comes empty. Being able to order a meal to your room and charge it to your room is a pretty basic function of most 4* hotels. Very strange.

Last gripe... ironing. About two hours before going out, we phoned down to reception for an iron and ironing board, as our room didn't come with one. Reception refused to supply us with a board, telling us to use their ironing service instead... however, this takes three hours, and we needed stuff ironed for the night. Despite my offer to pay for the hire of an iron, our request was refused by the unbending jobsworths on reception. Most 1* hotels in Ibiza will at least provide you with an ironing board on requests - but due to this hotel's ridiculous policy, we ended up going out in creased clothes... not what you expect for a 180 euro a night hotel.

So in summary, lovely hotel, but the services available really need work before it comes up to the friendly, customer-orientated experience you get at, say, Ocean Drive.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank superstardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
781 reviews
11.1 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#7 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
#18 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa

Property: Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Address: Calle Murtra 5, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#6 Family Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garbi Ibiza And Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza Playa d`En Bossa
Aparthotel Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing