We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facilities, Avoid Restaurant and Triple Share”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Facilities, Avoid Restaurant and Triple Share”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The facilities are wonderful - great pool, spa and beach access. The breakfast is really good with a great range of options. If Hotel Garbi was located elsewhere, it arguably would not be worth the price you pay however positioned in Playa d'en Bossa, it stands out as a classier/more sophistocated alternative. In the saying that, I really wanted to love this hotel as I feel it has so much potential but below you will find the negative experiences my group and I experienced:

I stayed in a triple share room with 2 friends and would discourage anyone from choosing this option. The third 'bed' was literally a sheet placed over a normal couch, which wasn't comfortable to begin with. It was really hard and uncomfortable and for the price we were paying, we felt it was ridiculous.

While we encountered some lovely staff members during our stay, we felt that some of the reception staff were not very accommodating. I can understand how tiresome it would be for the staff dealing with countless drunk and wild hotel guests however this was not us. For example, one morning we went to the reception to get information on the ferry to Formentera and the gentleman who responded literally threw the brochure at us and said "here." Side note: if you are staying in Ibiza for a few nights, I would encourage you to visit Formentera. Catch a ferry from the port in Ibiza Town directly to Formentera and then you will need to catch a bus, taxi or hire a car/scooter to reach the beautiful beaches.

Don't go to the hotel restaurant. The restaurant boasts beautiful views and is conveniently located in the hotel however our whole group (10+) were put off by our experiences. We counted 8+ wait staff on duty in the restaurant and it was an awkward time in the afternoon so the restaurant was almost empty, however, it took over 20 minutes to even receive menus. After asking twice, menus were chucked onto our table with handfuls of knives and forks that flew everywhere. My partner ordered fried calamari rings and as he was eating, discovered that one of the pieces was actually fried plastic. The waiter insisted that it was part of the squid. My partner tore it apart and it was sure enough plastic. The waiter offered to bring a new plate but being put off, my partner asked if it could just be taken off the bill. The waiter initially refused to take the plate off the bill but eventually did. All of my group had a similar negative story of poor service/rude staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_0093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    428
    102
    36
    30
See reviews for
111
564
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and let's just say it wasn't really what we expected. Don't get me wrong, for the area (which is like a bunch of 19 yo spring breakers in Acapulco) it's like the Ritz. But for two mellow twenty something's looking for a chill stay...I'd say go somewhere else.

We arrived very early in the morning and weren't surprised that our room wasn't ready. The staff wasn't very friendly (probably from dealing with drunk teenagers all day) and didn't really take the time to answer our questions or provide worthy recommendations. We were left stunned when we had to put a €20 deposit PER beach towel that you could trade out once per day. Also, the safe is €4 per day with a €20 deposit.

We went to the beach behind the hotel and it was filled with vendors trying to sell you something every five minutes. Not their fault but important to note. Also, beach chairs come at a cost of around €10 each and there's very little space of just sand in case you want to be old school and just do that.

When we finally did get the (first) room we were told we were upgraded without the charge of the upgrade. It was a superior room in the back left of the hotel. We walked into it to an overwhelming smell of...drum roll please...urine. It was horrible to the point that we both gagged and called the front desk immediately. They were very quick to switch us out which was nice. They gave us the other room on the opposite side of the hotel. This one was clean with pretty cheesy lighting you might find in a Vegas motel.

The pool is nice during the day. Really mellow and clean. And free breakfast and dinner was included in our stay which was also convenient considering the options surrounding the hotel. Oh and wifi is spotty and went down during our two night stay. Apparently couldn't handle the amount of people at the hotel.

Overall the stay was average. Staff was average. Food was average.

For nearly 500 a night I'd rather go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell your experience regarding our hotel. We are sorry that your stay was not all that it could have been. Your opinion is very important for us because it helps us to keep on improving. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Unlike the many others with crazy kids and noise till 6am, hotel garbi was much more of an indulging experisnce. Lovely pool, breakfast and room. Loved the shows they had on during the evenings as well. Very helpful staff. I did not like the fact that their staff only cleaned the rooms once a day in the morning, nor the fact that they had no conditioner. If you were on dnd all morning then you miss out on a clean room? Other than that it was a smooth experiance.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend and some friends for five days.

We had 2 regular rooms and deluxe room. The deluxe room is really not worth the extra money, its only advantage was a rain shower which I found to be very nice. All the rooms had twin beds pushed together. They all had great AC which is not common in that part of the world.

The hotel has perfect location as it is located on the beach and within walking distance to Space, Ushuaia and Bora Bora. It is also a short cab ride to Ibiza town and Pacha.

The pool area was really nice. Only problem was the lack of beach chairs. They should consider getting more as it forces people to "reserve" chairs early in the morning. If you dont wake up at 8am and put your towels on beach chairs, you will not be able to find one until after 5pm.

The front desk could be more attentive and friendly. The service was not a strong point for the hotel.

Another negative I found was the breakfast buffet. Extremely average and bland food. I would have expected better food from a 4 star restaurant.

Free Wi-FI was pretty decent but not great.

Overall, this is a great hotel for Playa Den Bossa. But if you compare it to the rest of the world, this is not a 4 star restaurant.

It is over priced BUT, if you are looking to stay in Playa Den Bossa, then this hotel is your best choice unless you can afford to pay double the price.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has low ceilings. Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is great value, situated in a great location yet not too noisy. It has everything you may need, right on the beach, lovely pool and bars. The rooms are very good and the food is just like home cooking, great buffets! The hotel is on the main street and walking distance to all the best restaurants, bars and clubs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefthandseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your score and for your nice comments. We were all happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for kind word regarding our location, pool and food. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We first visited the Garbi as soon as it opened for the season in April. The hotel wasn't full but everything met our expectations: service, rooms, food, restaurants, pool, bar, beach, cleanliness etc.. We returned in late June - with over 60 guests, for a wedding, with more than half choosing to stay in the Garbi with us. The hotel was very full, but to our astonishment no standards had slipped. Every one of our guests enjoyed staying at the Garbi and for the bride, groom and I (mother of the bride) we cannot commend this hotel highly enough. What makes this hotel stand out is the staff and their customer focus. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble, the whole operation is slick, professional and welcoming. The staff are helpful, charming and knowledgeable.

We particularly enjoyed late lunches at the superb beach bar, set between the pool area and the beach. The ambience, view, comfortable furniture, choice of shade and sun, attentive staff and excellent food made this our preferred late lunch place. Breakfasts are plentiful in the restaurant with a great variety of fresh and appetising choices. We ate in the restaurant one night only but had no complaints about the selection of buffet food on offer. We also felt it represented good value.

The pool area is stunning, spotlessly clean and sunbeds comfortable. For a refundable deposit the hotel will provide a towel which can be changed daily. Tip: take your own - as with every hotel pool, sunbeds are reserved with towels. You need a good memory to distinguish your blue towel from anyone else's if you forget which is your bed! The spa is a welcome retreat to refresh during the heat of the day.

In April we stayed in standard rooms; decent bathroom, loads of wardrobe and drawer space, decent aircon, seating area, good size balcony with furniture and side sea view. In June I was incredibly fortunate to be upgraded to a superior room (thank you so much Hotel Garbi). The bathroom in these rooms is great, you lose some wardrobe space, but the very large right angled balcony and stunning views (right over the beach with a view of the pool area one side and the sea and Evissa the other) was simply stunning. When (not if) I return I shall try to book one of these rooms, although I wouldn't hesitate to book standard room as their views are also gorgeous.

The hotel is in a great position. Plentiful taxis opposite the hotel (Evissa €12), bus stop 20 yards along the road, everything in Playa d'en Bossa within walking distance (Evissa 45 mins walk).

If you're thinking of booking this - don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room - all have side sea views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all your comments about our location, food, rooms and your mention of the friendliness of our staff. It was a pleasure to host you and the other wedding guests. Thank you for recommending us to other travellers and we hope we welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May with the girls for my 40th for a long weekend. We were greeted warmly by the reception staff and all staff at the hotel were very nice. Room was basic but clean and had a great bathroom also a fantastic balcony with direct sea and pool view. Food was good, breakfast better than dinner but I'm quite fussy and the bar area inside and the bar on the beach were both brilliant. We went out of season so was quite quiet but the hotel is very central to the clubs and town. Had a great time here and am looking forward to returning with my husband in October.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhamcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#6 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#5 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
11.1 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
7.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#3 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa

Property: Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Address: Calle Murtra 5, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#6 Family Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garbi Ibiza And Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza Playa d`En Bossa
Aparthotel Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing