We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning new hotel with very poor service and several glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I think the hotel's management needs to seriously work properly on ironing out important problems and improving the service offered. Here is a summary:

1) We paid for a room for 3 adults which was 350 euros more than the room for 2. We spoke to the hrh reception before and they assured us that 3 adults fit fine in the room. They don't! The third bed was a single sofa bed which is clearly for kids and not for adults. I am not exaggerating it is very uncomfortable to sleep in this sofa bed and it should be clearly indicated that all rooms have one of those anyway and that this is for kids, not for adults. The manager tried to be helpful but in the end offered us absolutely nothing, no refunds and no upgrades as they claimed that the hotel was fully booked. This is simply poor service. It is a problem we didn't create and other 5 star hotels would at least offer a refund for the 3rd bed.

2) Someone needs to urgently train the reception staff. They are incredibly slow and have to ask their manager how to do everything. They try hard to be helpful but this is possibly the slowest service in a reception desk ever. I understand the hotel is brand new but staff didn't know very basic things and had to ask all the time.

3) Very important: If you stay on the left side of the hotel forget all about sleeping after 11:00 AM (including a nap around mid-day). The music from the bar at Ushuaia's Tower (hotel next door) is simply TOO loud to bare. There were barely 5-6 people around this bar all day but still the music is on every day 11:00AM-1AM. Most of us go to Ibiza to party but this is simply too much. We want to be able to sleep in a hotel room otherwise there is no point.

4) Arranged for a late checkout for 40euros and our card keys got cancelled at 12:00 (the time we were supposed to checkout originally). There wasn't a note of our checkout and we kept having to explain to people who we arranged the late checkout with. We were offered new keys that were cancelled again after an hour. In the meantime the cleaners tried to enter our room 2 times to clean and we received 2 calls from a desk claiming to be checking why we haven't checked out at 12:00. When we explained this in unacceptable to reception they apologized but still charged us 40euros which we shouldn't have never paid.

5) Food is not great in general I think. We tried the tapas, the restaurant by the beach and the one by the pool. We didn't particularly enjoy the food in any of those and thus never returned back.

6) We had to wear a bracelet to prove we are residents, carry a key card for our door and another one to get towels. This is simply too much there has to be another way. Ushuaia has a bracelet for everything

It is a pity because the hotel is stunning, the spa for 20euros a day is great, breakfast is very reach, beach and swimming pool great as well and the rooms really nice and modern too. The poor service and the lack of recognition that we should have to pay for such poor service is what upset us very much. I truly hope all this improves in the future

GA (Room 1631) 4-8 June 2014

Room Tip: Ask them to give you a room on the right side of the hotel if you like your afternoon naps or genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Geoalex79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Director General at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Geoalex79,
Thank you very much for your comments. This really helps us to create new sounds. It is good to hear that you liked the spirit of our Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza as this is something we would love to share with any of our rockers. Unfortunately you felt that some of our sounds are still not attuned to one another. We are still working on our band and stage performance but be assured that it is our daily effort to make this track rolling smoothly. Your next stop here will be free of scratches and full of the Rock Star rhythm. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 2,509 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was extremely disappointed with the way I was treated upon check-in. There was a problem with booking a room for 3 occupants online so we decided to book a room for 2 and to add the extra guest upon arrival. Even though this was a technological glitch on the internet, the staff at the hotel alluded to us wanting to get away with paying a fee for an extra guest. After a one hour conversation, which was interrupted for 30 minutes because the manager needed to go on break, the the staff did not honor the price that we would have paid online. In addition to this issue, the room did not have wifi which was very important to me as I need to stay connected to work while on vacation. Also, the hotel was not fully finished. Many areas of the hotel were still under contruction which was not pleasing for the hotel guests.

Hotel is directly below an airport. You will hear airliners taking off all night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear James R,
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza for your tour stop.
We are really sorry to hear that our band performance and stage could not give you a real Rock Star feeling. This is the third week of our tour and the high occupancy rate from the very first day on slowed down the pace of sorting out last rhythm problems as the mentioned Wifi problems. We have already hired and trained new band member to fasten and smoothen standard procedures in order to give this new stage the power to become a #1 hit.
James R, hopefully you give us another chance in the future to regain your trust. Just let us know and the red carpet will be there for you.

Take time to be kind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza during the days of International Music Summit in May 2014. When you are busy at music event there is no time for complains, everything is just fun. So here is the story about what I remember well. This is new hotel in the end of Playa d'en Bossa. It takes 5 or 6 minutes from airport by taxi. Very nice lobby, the walls covered with relics of pop and rock music. Nice Hard Rock shop at the entrance where you may buy summer clothes and Hard Rock hotel memorabilia. I got a room 7107 in the seventh building. Balcony with two armchairs and a small table was overlooking the sea, courtyard with stage and sunbeds, kinder-garden and the main building. In the room: very comfortable large double bed, armchair, writing desk, mini bar (over-priced), kettle and cups, large flat-screen TV (local channels, international news and selection of pay TV movies), washbasin with mirror, shower room, toilet, wardrobe, ironing board, iron, hair dryer and great stereo system with iPhone 5 charger. The room also has many lamps, including a highlight with an option to change the highlight color. The Internet is fast, which is rare in Ibiza. Excellent breakfast with a huge selection of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes.
On the dark side: Very very very long check-in. Very very long check-out. Very long cooking in the beach restaurant. During parties or conference inside hotel it is very difficult to get through to the room service. No menu in the room and no room service information. No possibility to order late check-out or book additional day in the hotel – they always tell you that they are fully booked according to ‘their system’ - but it was easy to book and order additional day via Internet booking sites. And they blocked 500 euros on my card during check-in (in the middle of May) and these 500 euros are still blocked (it’s a middle of June). I showed my Hard Rock VIP member number at check-in but My Hard Rock rewards points are missing. I hope everything will be fixed by management ASAP. And I give HRH Ibiza four points for it's potential to become good. I'll be back to check it.

Room Tip: My room 7107 was good, but I think the suit above my room was better with private sunbeds and roof s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLEG I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Oleg I,
Thanks for sharing your comments with us. This is really helpful to short out existing hiccups.
We are happy to hear that our brand new show stage could offer you right rock star experience. The one in a kind location and the modern instalations with nearly 500 rooms, 7 pools, gym, spa and a privat beach are the red carpet we give you - the show is yours. Great you liked our food offer! In our 10 bars and 5 restaurants we try to satisfy every rockers taste - back from a party and in need of a coffee? No problem Constant Grind surly gives you the boost. An ice cold drink while sunbathing at the pool? Try the pool bar. Or a cocktail before dinner - Floyds has really good ones.
Sorry for making you notice little band problems as during check in and check out, but we assure you that we are rehearsing on a daily basis.
Hopefully you come back to give us the chance to show you the real potential of Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza.

ALL IS ONE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a vacation to Ibiza. During the stay he asked me to marry him. The hotel knew about this. Both Maria's at Guest Service made us feel very special. They rocked our stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
5  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Laura V,
congratulations from all our Hard Rock band members.
Wedding bells .... this is a very good sound. We are happy that you enjoyed the stage offered and that you had a life time experience. The one of a kind setting and the modern facilities are the notes which together with the rock star lyrics of our staff like Maria, form the perfect song in every single moment. Do you know that Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza offers special honeymoon packages? Just ask for information and come back on stage. We promise to pamper your rock soul to make out of this special period in your life an unforgettable #1 hit.
Again all the best from the Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza family.
ALL IS ONE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Right, I have read all the previous reviews and feel we must have stayed in a different Hotel this last week, firstly we were booked in within 20 minutes, although we were lucky as quite a few people arrived just after us so they may have had a longer wait. The staff were very nice and helpful and in my opinion this goes a long way. The smell in the hotel reminded us of walking into the Vdara in Vegas:-). The bell boy was very nice, and was telling us how the 2 year build was done in 7 months, which my explain the small niggles that some people seem to have had.
The room was lovely, clean, modern, bed was AWESOME!!!, so comfortable it was hard to get out of. We couldn't work the Jacuzzi or the safe (main problem for us was the lack of information in the room), went to Reception and the maintenance men were up and had it sorted in 20 minutes.
All the staff were lovely, great service, constant service for drinks around the pool. Although we did have a hot dog at Munchies and it honesty wasn't the best, neither was the food from room service, but the food in the 3rd Half was very nice.
The Hotel has a real Vegas feel for us, the Sports bar although empty every night was brilliant, such good quality fittings everywhere, the toilets are great all over the Hotel.
Breakfast was amazing, everything you could think of, and as for the comments about the juice and coffee!!!, there was at least 5 different juices to choose from, all nice, and the coffee was Nespresso, hardly basic!!!.
It was disappointing to find that you had to pay extra for the Beach Club loungers but if you don't want to pay then there are more than enough loungers around both Pool areas...
People moaning about the Hotel being under the flight path...not even sure what to say about that, check out the area you are going to before you go maybe?...it really wasn't a problem. The only bad things I can say are,
1. the area is very Clubby which we did know but were slightly surprised by how "rough" the surrounding area was but again that isn't the Hotels fault and its only a short bus ride to Figueritas or Ibiza town, and the bars at the Hotel are really nice too.
2. a massive lack of information about facilities at the Hotel, ie a booklet in the room explaining how the TV works, how the safe works, bars and opening times.
3. Lack of information about what is happening from one day to the next, we wanted to try the rooftop bar but when we went up there was a private party, no signs to say so or info , we felt a bit stupid when we went up and nearly got in but then were told it was a private party so had to leave, this would have been easily solved by some signage or something of the like, again the same story with the Beach Club bar on our last night, we only realised when we sat down and saw all the staff setting up tables, the bar man did actually come over on this occasion though and got us a drink anyway as we hadn't known, again easily resolved with signage or the like.
Plus on this night there was a large pool party with loud music right below our room. I honestly didn't mind as the music stopped at 01.00 but again a bit of notice would have been good.


We genuinely loved the Hotel, and found the experience very nice, but there are several things that would have made it perfect, considering its only been open 2 weeks or so i'm sure they will get there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Talulah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Talulah 13,

We are so glad to see that you took your precious time to read all previous comments and afterwards post your own.
Hard Rock is an attitude and a special experience and of course we want that every rocker gets his deserved award. 5*Rock Star service combined with professional attitude is what makes us standing out of the crowed. This brand new hotel in a one of a kind setting needed some time to get into the flow but we are proud to say that our band members won´t stop rehearsing until the richness of sounds is absolutely harmoniously.

Talulah 13, you know where is your stage. We are prepared for your next concert.

ALL IS ONE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

1- check in: promised a room in 1 hour, got it after 4
2- sorry sir, the hot water is unavailable, and we do not know when it will be fixed.
3- under cooked chicken burger with a piece of plastic wrap still in it
4- No TV, also sorry, we do not know when it will be fixed

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
6  Thank GilbertHaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear GilbertHa,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with the Hard Rock Community.

The constant high occupancy level since our recent tour start slows down a bit the pace in sorting out last details but we are rehearsing on a daily base with all our band members.

Sorry for not giving you the ultimate Rock & Roll experience as our aim is to offer great concerts to all our guests.

ALL IS ONE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Its a shame really because the Staff were genuinely helpful and polite if a little rough around the edges.... The whole experience was shambolic from beginning to end I'd really rather prefer not to relive it, I think at the very least an experienced well respected international organization such as the Hard Rock Hotel should be able to do a much better job than this, it would show their lack of Guest relations if they didn't offer every one who stayed there the opening week a partial refund, fingers crossed they get it right for the staffs sake and the sake of anyone staying there in the immediate future.

Room Tip: There isn't one right now , you are directly over the flight path to the airport ! Good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Gerente at Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Dirk v,

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. This really helps to get the band in tune.
It is good to hear that you liked the Rock & Roll attitude of our staff as this is something we would love to share with any of our rockers.
Unfortunately you noticed some of the scratches we are still working on but be assured that it is our daily effort to make this track rolling smoothly.
Your next stop here will be free of bumps and full of the Hard Rock rock star spirit.

LOVE ALL SERVE ALL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.1 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,453 reviews
11.7 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
982 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#4 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,392 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
606 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#11 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza

Address: Carretera Playa d'en Bossa, s/n, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range: £146 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing