We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling Spa Hotel in Alp Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loewen Hotel Montafon
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Schruns
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, Surrey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sparkling Spa Hotel in Alp Village”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I simply cannot say enough good things about this hotel, but this is a start; the hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard throughout. The rooms are gorgeous, the fine dining very good and so is the breakfast on offer. The spa is awesome and to have use of both an indoor and outdoor pool is really great. However the greatest thing of all in this hotel are the staff; they are so warm and courteous. I was unwell for part of the week's stay and the staff just could not do enough for me. My thanks particularly to Katarina who could easily run the hotel single handed as she was so efficient, acted with great authority, but always with a smile and a lovely sense of humour. I'm afraid I don't know the other staff by name, but the ladies who served in the dining room were particularly outstanding. In short; great service delivered by a great hotel sited in the beautiful village of Schruns.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back of the hotel do not have the noise from the road but still have a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBear62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewenHotel, Manager at Loewen Hotel Montafon, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind and lovely words. It was a great pleasure for us to meeting you in our hotel. We hope you had a good and safety journey back home and we really would love to welcoming you once again in our hotel. So long we wish you all the best and send you lots of regards from Schruns,

Yours

"Löwen-Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    61
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
53
139
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were looking for a nice, contemporary hotel not too far away from Zurich for a ski weekend. Our preferred locations in Lech and Zürs were fully booked (or unaffordable), so we found the Löwen Hotel through some web research. With 83 rooms and suites, the hotel is one of the bigger ones in the Austrian alps, and is not really a beauty to look at from the outside, but our experience was very enjoyable.

The modern alpine design with a lot of wood and natural fabrics and the fireplace in the lobby makes for a very good ambiance. We did ask for a room change upon arrival, as our original room only featured a bathtub with a handheld shower, while we prefer walk-in showers. This took a bit longer than expected, but was ultimately resolved to our satisfaction. The description of the room categories on the website is a bit confusing and incomplete, so be aware what you book.

The location is great, a 5 min walk to the ski gondola, and the ski bus also stops right outside the hotel. The village of Schruns is however a bit disappointing, so don't expect a lot of dining and nightlife options. As we had half board included in the nightly rate, we ate in the hotel restaurant, where the half board options were surprisingly good. The restaurant staff was also very friendly, although I don't recall seeing a single Austrian staff member.

We also tried the wellness area, which is big enough with a lot of options. Be aware that the heated outside pool is not really heated to a comfortable temperature, so for us it was matter of minutes before we got cold.

All in all, we had a good experience, good value for money and would return.

Room Tip: High floor is generally recommended; be sure to specify your request for bathtub or walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vienna-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewenHotel, Manager at Loewen Hotel Montafon, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind message and for your time! It is good to hear that you had a pleasant holiday in our hotel. Hope to seeing you soon again.
Kind regards from Schruns.

Yours team of Löwen Hotel Montafon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

the two of us went off for a 3-day wellness weekend. The HOtel was just newly renovated and has lot of charm. The rooms had warm colors and wood paired with some design objects. The bathroom had a big rainshower and enough space for the cosmetics.
The public are had been done in wood, granite and warm lights, very welcoming atmosphere.
The service staff was friendly and attentive as well as talking to the guests with humor.
The spa is huge and has different rooms to relax, in- and outdoor swimmingpool. Just that the Hotel is a bit squeezed in between the houses. The treatments were good but different depend on staff. Our Rooms were booked as single with 195.00€ per night incl. breakfast and dinner.
Would we go again, YES

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Me and my partner spent Friday to Sunday a couple a weeks ago. The first sight of the hotel may not be the ultimate "wow", but as soon as you get to the reception desk in this huge and cozy lobby, anticipations are rising....and are met. Typical Austrian friendliness are combined with very good food quality and professional service. The room was perfect and very quiet. The Spa is magnificent and offers all kinds of different baths, pools and treatments. All in all, we enjoyed the quality we were prepared to pay for, although this doesn't mean it's cheap. Please note that the hotel will undergo renovation during the next 7 months and will be closed. The furniture in the rooms partly shows the need for replacement. Would recommend it at any time to the ones who are prepared to pay for a quality stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanbevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Charmant place , warm welcome. We enjoyed the lovely welcome, the full pension was good. Spa is very nice and discrete. The hotel is located in the center of the small town with nice trekking near the hotel. You can park the car at the hotel (at a small cost). We very much enjoed the athmosphere and we had a full relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cskswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel offers outstanding services, cuisine, location, and installations. While the price is not low, it s an excellent value in relation to the offer.

From the moment of arrival to departure, the personnel provides just the right amount of assistance - they are helpful and present, but not overbearing nor intrusive. The breakfast buffet and grill is grandiose, the afternoon tea is cosy and relaxing, and the dinners are refined, sophisticated and delicious.

The personnel at the hotel is experienced, well trained and very pleasant.

The ski lift is just a short walk of a few minutes from the hotel. There is a bus stop located directly in front of the hotel, where you can take the region's free ski bus to other lifts in the area.

The hotel has a large underground parking garage and a ski room with heated pegs for drying ski boots. It can be a bit tight in the ski room in the morning and there are few seats for putting on the ski boots, but this was not a problem for us.

There is a heated indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and various types of saunas and turkish baths. There is one spa area reserved for women alone and another spa area reserved for naturists.

The room was well equipped, large and comfortable.

While Schruns is an international destination, it is still a small and quaint Austrian village. At this hotel, there was a limited number of personnel who spoke English with ease and most signs and communication were in German.

In conclusion, this hotel offers an authentic, refined and luxurious experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandcliffridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Me and hubby traveled from Singapore - Zurich and did a 3hours car transfer to Loewen. It is nearer than Vienna. We spent 3nights in Loewen and i would say this is a great hotel.
The staffs were friendly, food was good, quiet resort with nice mountain view except that the hotel is by the road so it may get abit noisy at times but still bearable.

Would like to revisit again during winter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllaLeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schruns
1.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Montafon
Alpenhotel Montafon
#3 of 5 in Schruns
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aktiv & Spa Hotel Alpenrose
8.1 mi away
Sporthotel Silvretta Montafon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Fernblick
Ferienhotel Fernblick
#1 of 2 in Bartholomaeberg
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zimba
Hotel Zimba
#2 of 5 in Schruns
118 reviews
22.1 mi away
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hirschegg
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loewen Hotel Montafon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loewen Hotel Montafon

Property: Loewen Hotel Montafon
Address: Silvrettastrasse 8, Schruns 6780, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Schruns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Schruns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loewen Hotel Montafon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loewen Hotel Montafon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing