We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Falls Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waihi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Falls Retreat
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were greeted with a warm welcome and freshly baked bread from Emma. She took time to explain the walks and cycling available around. The location is great with the falls at the bottom of the road.
The bistro served delicious wood oven pizza's and the chunky chips were gorgeous - compliments to Brad.
Cute cottage with large bedroom upstairs. Great value for money.
Emma is a great host and made sure our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcat097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed for just one night, on a cycling tour. The cottage was spacious, very clean and had every comfort we needed.
As it was middle of winter we were impressed with the warmth. Two heaters and a wonderful potbelly stove with kindling and wood were great.
The owners were brilliantly helpful, even greeted with hot home baked bread.

The onsite restaurant was another great find. We had real quality French cuisine, and the pizza's alsonlooked good.

The Karangahake walkway/cycleway is excellent, and only a minute from the Retreat.

We plan on returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I’m joining the other very positive reviews – the forest, nearby falls , nearby restaurant and the cottage itself, all were great and not expensive. If you look for accommodation in that area, it’s great choice

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This place was a surprise for us. Located close to the Karahangahake gorge and 20 min. drive from the ocean with beautiful views over Owharoa falls. We slept at the Rose cottage which is just behind the family's wooden villa. the house is surrounded by beautiful gardens. The kids loved the bikes and little playground. The cottage was very nice, especially the sleeping room which was well decorated. Shower was small and water presure is low. Cleanliness can improve - mailnly in the shower and toilet area. Our older son liked the X-Box and movies which were placed at the cottaged for the guests usage. Beds were comfortable. The price included nice breakfast with home baked tasety bread.
We had a dinner at the bistro which was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAYSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We are here on Christmas Day and just having a very relaxing an quiet time. This is a really pretty place and you can look over the water falls and just unwind. Emma and the family are very welcoming and friendly and cook us a fresh loaf of bread for Breakfast. If you want something a little rustic but very relaxing this is worth a try. They also have a bistro that just opened but was closed for Christmas I am te the food is very good so next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Had heard about this property and how great it was so a group of us went there for dinner. We found the situation was wonderful and not a large place but very welcoming and the food was wonderful. I would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangesnLemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Just off the Karangahake Valley road is this stunning getaway spot, tucked amongst the greenery. We stayed for three nights in Rose Cottage, complete with cosy pot belly stove and goody baskets downstairs and a delighful upstairs bedroom with steep pitched roof, that made you feel like you were in an alpine chalet! Awesome home made bread and tasty breakfasts made by Emma got us going each day and in the evening we dined in Brad and Emma's newly opened, amazing little bistro, just across from our cottage. Brad is a genius with his new wood oven stove, which produced wonderful pizzas and a stunning seafood cuisine, that was so good we had to come back the next night too. I would recommend it for a weekend getaway or a week long stay. We did the train trip from Waihi to Waikino, took along mountain bikes hired from OverthetopAdventures and rode all the way along the Karangahake bikeway, just newly surfaced. If you want a different kind of bed and breakfast experience, this is one you won't forget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waihi hotels
4.6 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#1 of 1 in Waihi
39 reviews
9.6 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
12.6 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
4.3 mi away
Dragonfly Gardens Bed & Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#3 of 7 in Waihi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Retreat

Address: 25 Waitawheta Rd | Karangahake Gorge, Waihi 3682, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Waihi
Price Range: £65 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this peaceful haven in the Karangahake Gorge and experience fantastic walks, trout fishing, stunning scenery and great food and wine. 2 charming, self contained cottages in a beautiful setting along the Karangahake Gorge Historic Walkway with amazing views of Owharoa Falls. Both cottages are 1 bedroom (queen size bed) with kitchen facilities and ensuite bathroom and rollaway beds are also available to accommodate extra guests /children.A basket of breakfast provisions is included in our rates with cooked breakfast and evening meals available on request (extra charge)A warm welcome awaits you at this slice of paradise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing