We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Waihi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waihi Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

While the staff were friendly and the rooms were fairly modern and tidy, we stayed in Unit 10 which felt like a cupboard which was not great on the hot muggy nights as there was one small window in the entire unit (no ranchslider) so very little ventilation. This is one unit that you see right into as soon as you drive in. Alot of road noise especially when you had to have the door wide open to get some fresh air but then you couldnt hear yourself think. I dont think the pricing was suitable for this sized room either. The location is central in Waihi and very handy to a supermarket however you wouldnt be able to cook in this room as there is no facility and you would stink the place out. The cooked breakfast was ok but we would have got nicer at a cafe in town. We stayed two nights and the room was cleaned on the first morning however the bathroom basin clearly wasnt wiped (my husband had shaved in the morning) and this hadnt been cleaned up entirely. The staff were exceptionally friendly but it was really let down by the size of our room and what we paid for it. We didnt sleep well at all with the heat and lack of ventilation. We asked for and were given a fan that was covered in rust and dust which was not good for my asthma and allergies

Room Tip: Do not go into room ten
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The owner/manager was extraordinarily nice and welcoming. We were traveling by bicycle through Sherpa Bus who had ferried our baggage ahead of us. The motel happily accepted our baggage from Sherpa Bus before our arrival and stored it for us. They also allowed us to store our rental bicycles in their secure garage overnight. We really appreciated this.

We were in a room at the front of the motel. Other travelers have complained of traffic noise but we booked the motel knowing that it was located on a relatively busy street (for a small town) and so were prepared for the fact that we might hear some cars. That said, the double-glazed windows cut down most of the traffic noise and neither of us was in the least disturbed.

The room itself was very comfortable and well-appointed with modern furnishings and a recently renovated bathroom. The room was wheel-chair accessible for those travelers who might need this.

The room had a Queen bed with two nightstands, a chair, TV stand and small flat-screen, small two-person dining table, kitchen area, and spacious bathroom.

The bed was made up with a dual-control electric heating pad that proved very useful given that the temperature dropped rather precipitously in the evening. The mattress was quite firm but comfortable. For even colder nights, the room also had a stand-alone room heater that could be used.

The kitchen area had a sink, kettle, coffee plunger, microwave, small fridge, and dishware. But there were no hobs or hotplate. It was thus very easy to prepare cold or light meals but the facilities are not fully self-catering as they are in other motels at a lower or equivalent price. Indeed, self-catering options seem to be more readily available with older-style motels than with newer ones. The Waihi Motel does, however, offer full breakfast room-service with hot and cold options and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

The bathroom was wheelchair accessible, with a continuous floor between shower and bathroom. This means you have to be a bit careful about focusing your showerhead near the drain so that you don't soak the entire floor - not difficult to do but something you'll want to keep in mind. The bathroom has two sinks with mirrors; one with a vanity and associated counter-top.

On the whole, the Waihi Motel is a very good choice for a traveler who wants a clean, comfortable, spacious room with modern amenities and decor, and friendly service. We thought that the price was dear, even allowing for the modern decor and good location, but Waihi does not have many room options and so higher prices are to be expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A nice clean friendly motel. If it wasn't on a main road it would have got at least 4 stars but..on .. SH2 (State Highway 2 ) the address is on one of the main trunk roads from Auckland and the truck traffic was non-stop. after 1 night we were moved to another unit which had double glazing and this helped to reduce the background noise. As a base to travel around it is well placed, Waihi, not a major tourist town is good to travel from and a countdown supermarket is 100m away and the main town is a 5 minute walk ( the'free wifi' advertised is a voucher for $5 worth of connection for a single unit )

Room Tip: request double glazed accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Dunstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Waihi Motel recently on our trip around the Coromandel, the unit was clean, and warm and would recommend this Motel to any future travellers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annasorsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We planned just a 2 day stay initially - but stayed a 3rd night we were so comfy there. Its in a good location, a few mins walk from Waihi town centre, Karangahake Gorge is less than 10 mins drive away, and of course beach is nearby also - so this motel was the perfect base. The staff were friendly and helpful. The unit we had - with separate bedroom was great, clean and modern. It was like staying in an apartment, full kitchen with every thing you'd possibly need. A small deck off of kitchen, very large shower, separate toilet - and a nightly rate that we thought was pretty good considering what we'd paid elsewhere and what we'd got for that money. We would definitely stay here again if we were in Waihi, a nice little place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed. The motel has been recently renovated and is very clean and tastefully decorated. The owners were extremely helpful. It is only about a ten minute drive to a beautiful beach and an easy walk into town. The rates for places right at the beach were very high, so this was a perfect alternative. We would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllisJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
13.5 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#2 of 7 in Waihi
37 reviews
12.0 mi away
Katikati Motel
Katikati Motel
#2 of 2 in Katikati
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
9.4 mi away
Pedlars Motel
Pedlars Motel
#1 of 6 in Paeroa
66 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Motel

Property: Waihi Motel
Address: 35 Rosemont Road, | (PO Box 236), Waihi 3641, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waihi Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waihi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing