We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little heat, noisy, and weird electrics”
Review of Waihi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waihi Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We only stayed here one night, but it was not very great. My husband pointed out that the electrical outlets in the bathroom didn't really work properly (I'm not talking about the 220 v current, we knew about that). There was no heat in the bathroom, so we asked for a space heater and had to rig it up with a fan to blow heat into the bathroom. It was clean, though, but noisy as it was next to the main road. Not our favorite place on our trip, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I arrived at Waihi Motel in the middle of a storm. The staff were very accommodating - allowed me immediate [early] access to a room to dry out. The facilities were great too, so clean and well equipped. Will definitely be returning. Wonderful service and facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takatapui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great location with Countdown in the next block so easy to get groceries. The units are very clean and tidy and are well stocked with everything you need. Rooms were lovely and warm and the beds so comfortable and with electric blanklets which made for such a great sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthiebear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Three nights were spent in this property and we were more than satisfied.

Our Unit 12 studio room was away from the other units which gave us additional privacy and reduced the noise from heavy traffic volumes.

Having a sofa, wide TV, chair outside, added to the comfort.

The place was spotless, great toilet / shower area with the shower itself being a gusher - great. Parking on site was another bonus.

Staff were friendly, and, as a stopover / transit point, we would stay there again.

david

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Finding this motel was a piece of luck. The room we got turned out
to be a suite with king sized bed , t.v. chairs and a table, a full kitchen, a seperate shower and toilet,and an adjoining twin bedded room all spotless and just cost us 115 n z dollars. Definately value for money. Very pleasant lady in charge while we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Nice room, if a little dated. Fabulous shower. Easy walk to everything Waihi has to offer. Great value for the one night I stayed. Cost one hundred NZD for a studio unit for one night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wifi supplied by zenbu.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

While the staff were friendly and the rooms were fairly modern and tidy, we stayed in Unit 10 which felt like a cupboard which was not great on the hot muggy nights as there was one small window in the entire unit (no ranchslider) so very little ventilation. This is one unit that you see right into as soon as you drive in. Alot of road noise especially when you had to have the door wide open to get some fresh air but then you couldnt hear yourself think. I dont think the pricing was suitable for this sized room either. The location is central in Waihi and very handy to a supermarket however you wouldnt be able to cook in this room as there is no facility and you would stink the place out. The cooked breakfast was ok but we would have got nicer at a cafe in town. We stayed two nights and the room was cleaned on the first morning however the bathroom basin clearly wasnt wiped (my husband had shaved in the morning) and this hadnt been cleaned up entirely. The staff were exceptionally friendly but it was really let down by the size of our room and what we paid for it. We didnt sleep well at all with the heat and lack of ventilation. We asked for and were given a fan that was covered in rust and dust which was not good for my asthma and allergies

Room Tip: Do not go into room ten
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
13.5 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
196 reviews
23.6 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#4 of 7 in Waihi
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Whangamata
51 reviews
5.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
5.3 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Motel

Address: 35 Rosemont Road, | (PO Box 236), Waihi 3641, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi
Price Range: £63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waihi Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Waihi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing