We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manawa Ridge
Nearby Hotels
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blake Court Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Thames Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katikati Motel(Katikati)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
70
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathwine cellarcomfortable roomsfresh ingredientsother guestsmany thankscarlaturretrivendellsuitelodgehostsluxurynzwineshilltopeco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a lovely experience at manawa ridge, what a surprise finding this little jewel in the middle of almost "no where". Our room was very nice, lovely decorated, with an outside garden with a stone jacuzzi bath.. Our hosts, Willem and Carla, welcomed us as friends, and the dinner was excellent. This one night "retreat" was the very good surprise of our NZ 2 weeks trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Dearest Carla & Willem,

Manawa Ridge is the result of years and years of dreams – a wish to create something truly unique and different, which has soul, character and a magical ambience. We did not know what we were going to find on top of Marnawa ridge, but we did expect a lot. Withouth doubt, we were truly amazed and without overdoing; our expectations were thrown out of the window the moment Carla met us at the door and we stepped into this magical oasis.

We were so fortunate to spend two nights in Carla and Willems home, which is what it is; here we are true guest of the Lord and the Lady of the House – unlike anything we have ever experienced previously.

It was the absolute perfect place to spend some relaxing days for us. It was so perfect, that I chose to propose to my soon-to-be wife here. An marvelous evening up in the Turret, which we thereby claimed to be partly “our turret” following this event. I am certain that Willem can tell you all about this during your stay here.

We want to send our absolute warmest recommendations regarding Manawa Ridge. We are very fortunate when it comes to traveling, and seek for extraordinary places – usually of supreme luxury standard. Here we found all of this, wrapped into a warm and welcome feeling of becoming a part of a family. The only drawback with Manawa Ridge, which we actually have to blame Carla and Willem for, is the difficulty and sadness upon departuring. Its hard to leave this place. Reason why; its such a strong experience, that it claims a small piece of your heart and retains it at the Ridge. Hoepfully forever. We will return.

Warmest Regards,

Siri & Kenneth A. Wara

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed here in September and we had a fantastic time.The hosts Willem and Carla are very welcoming, even their dog is very friendly!We arrived after a long drive and took part in some stone sculpting...this is a must.Carla has a lovely spot in the grounds for this-just us, nature and our chisels and hammers.The room we had was Rivendell, simply awesome.The spa bath outside was a real treat under the stars.The bed is the biggest you re ever likely to see.The dinner served was delicious, all created on site and fresh from the hosts produce.The gourmet breakfast was a real treat served in the lovely lookout tower, overlooking stunning views.Willem and Carla are so kind and caring and its refreshing to stay somewhere as luxurious as this.Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I was looking for a somewhere to go for a short break away and found a deal for a night at Manawa Ridge. Wow - we were blown away. It's such a unique place! Carla & Willem are wonderful hosts. The food Carla cooked was so delicious. I booked the Shire suite as it has it's own fireplace - something my husband really enjoys. We loved the views from the "Turret" - absolutely magnificent. Sitting in our private spa pool outside at night watching the stars was magical. This place is really an oasis in a busy world. We would highly recommend staying here - but make sure you stay for a minimum of two nights. We should've stayed an extra night, but there's always next time!

Jackie Rose

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieRose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night and arrived home feeling like we'd been away for a week! It's simply magical! Time stops and you just seem to become a part of the spectacular view and the nature that's surrounds you. (I know that sounds crazy but this place is seriously special) Aside from that the ambient music being played throughout, the sound of the waterfall, the candles lit as dusk falls, the outside very private spa bath, the changing vista as the sunsets (that you can watch from the turret as you sip your beautiful New Zealand wine and are treated to pre dinner nibbles), the sumptuous and plentiful towels in the room, crisp linens sheets, every detail has been thought of by the divine owners Carla and Willem! They are the perfect hosts, friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble, INTERESTING and also (this I find very important) gave us plenty of space to just, be. I could write a whole essay on the perfectly cooked, free range organic food they served, I'll simply say, go try it for yourself! The walk to the beach needs a certain level of fitness but is definately worth it. Simply a sublime experience all round.

Room Tip: Have put not sure re room service as we only stayed one night. All the rooms are gorgeous and unique
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews