We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The most beautiful, unique lodge"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manawa Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waihi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manawa Ridge
Ranked #1 of 7 Waihi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The most beautiful, unique lodge"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Manawa Ridge was the most perfect start to our adventures in New Zealand. You feel something very special about the surroundings as soon as you arrive. The house is simply beautiful, and you realise very quickly that your hosts, Willem & Carla have worked so hard and passionately to build and achieve such a marvellous retreat. The views 360 degrees are amazing wherever you look. The three suites each have a very different design and feel, with wonderful unique features and total privacy. Willem is a fantastic host and very eager to help and advise on the many day trips one can make from Manawa. Carla is a terric cook, using fresh, local ingredients to provide wonderful meals that are beautifully prepared and presented. We were so sad to leave Manawa Ridge, and at the time wondered how anything else on our trip could match the warmth and special feeling we received during our stay. Jarra, the dog, was there to bid us farewell just as she had greeted us upon arrival. Our three days at Manawa Ridge were so special and will remain in our memories for many years. To return to this marvellous place with such great hosts would be on our wish list for future trips.

Room Tip: All three rooms are terrific. Simply decide which style suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

From the moment we arrived at Manawa Ridge, Willem and Carla (& Jara) welcomed us as lifelong friends. We began our visit to New Zealand by choosing a quiet spot to recover from the long flights and Manawa Ridge was a perfect respite to begin our Kiwi adventure. This unique eco-retreat, which was born out of a dream to create a residence of beauty & purpose, fulfilled all of our travelers needs. We spent 3 magical days & nights surrounded by the vistas of the Coromandel Peninsula and wished we could stay far longer. Manawa’s unique lodging experience was created high on a hilltop in the midst of farm and forest from eco friendly materials with every effort to foster a reprieve from the outside world. Peaceful gardens, fantastic breakfasts, beautifully prepared suites with complete privacy and access to a multitude of hiking tracks. We hiked the path down to Homunga Bay and then on through Orokawa Bay to Waihi Beach. After a day of tramping, dinner was a five course culinary experience with much of the menu grown locally. Ask to see the wine cellar where you’ll find numerous options to accompany your gourmet meals. No effort has been spared in creating a space where beauty, comfort and peaceful reflection allows a world weary traveler space & time to refresh and recharge. Willem & Carla take great pride in sharing with visitors their version of Kiwi hospitality and every possible amenity is available at the Ridge for your adventure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The website althought very good, doesn't give this place justice, the remoteness of this place, the drive to the ridge. Ten you are greeted by both Carla and Willem straight away and you just know this is going to be the whole deal. the food the care it's like visiting old friends where they cater at your pace and take care to fulfill your needs. Stayed in the Rivendale suit, the best room of the 3 althought the others are lovely, but I loved my view of the ocean , the hills, and the cattle . the room is a reflection of Carla and Willemstad travels, it's not contrived every inch of the place is full of tought and passion and warmth. I think my lucky start for Paul Carberry at NZ Indepth for suggesting this place, I didn't find it in any guide book, which goes to show they are all rubbish. trust google maps to find remote places and if you consultant wtailor made travel company they always have niche, and it's worth every penny, as you are not just staying in a hotel but it's a total experience. okay is my last day I am sad to leave but I will be suggesting this place to friends for sure and for friends who live in NZ to come down for the weekend A great find you won't be disappointed. If you wanted to switch off and be looked after this is the perfect place todo just that....The passion both Carla and Willem exude will touch you and leave you feeling nourished and wanting to go for any dream you have, as they have worked hard to make theirs a reality which is humbling and inspiring.....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We spent Christmas weekend at Manawa Ridge-from the minute we got there at the end of 2 glorious weeks traveling around New Zealand we felt at home. Willem and Carla and of course Jara the dog felt like old friends. The house was beautiful and welcoming with beautiful music filling the rooms and courtyard. We had all 3 rooms and each were unique and lovely.
Carla should write a cookbook-the food was remarkable. Every meal, breakfast and dinner was delightful and delicious. At night we had so much fun and great conversations, not to mention wonderful wines. The beauty of the views was incredible and the day on Humungo Beach will be with us all forever(as will the walk back!).
We are all sad it is so far away for we would go back in a minute. Thank you Carla and Willem for a weekend we will all treasure-you are the most wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a lovely experience at manawa ridge, what a surprise finding this little jewel in the middle of almost "no where". Our room was very nice, lovely decorated, with an outside garden with a stone jacuzzi bath.. Our hosts, Willem and Carla, welcomed us as friends, and the dinner was excellent. This one night "retreat" was the very good surprise of our NZ 2 weeks trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Dearest Carla & Willem,

Manawa Ridge is the result of years and years of dreams – a wish to create something truly unique and different, which has soul, character and a magical ambience. We did not know what we were going to find on top of Marnawa ridge, but we did expect a lot. Withouth doubt, we were truly amazed and without overdoing; our expectations were thrown out of the window the moment Carla met us at the door and we stepped into this magical oasis.

We were so fortunate to spend two nights in Carla and Willems home, which is what it is; here we are true guest of the Lord and the Lady of the House – unlike anything we have ever experienced previously.

It was the absolute perfect place to spend some relaxing days for us. It was so perfect, that I chose to propose to my soon-to-be wife here. An marvelous evening up in the Turret, which we thereby claimed to be partly “our turret” following this event. I am certain that Willem can tell you all about this during your stay here.

We want to send our absolute warmest recommendations regarding Manawa Ridge. We are very fortunate when it comes to traveling, and seek for extraordinary places – usually of supreme luxury standard. Here we found all of this, wrapped into a warm and welcome feeling of becoming a part of a family. The only drawback with Manawa Ridge, which we actually have to blame Carla and Willem for, is the difficulty and sadness upon departuring. Its hard to leave this place. Reason why; its such a strong experience, that it claims a small piece of your heart and retains it at the Ridge. Hoepfully forever. We will return.

Warmest Regards,

Siri & Kenneth A. Wara

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed here in September and we had a fantastic time.The hosts Willem and Carla are very welcoming, even their dog is very friendly!We arrived after a long drive and took part in some stone sculpting...this is a must.Carla has a lovely spot in the grounds for this-just us, nature and our chisels and hammers.The room we had was Rivendell, simply awesome.The spa bath outside was a real treat under the stars.The bed is the biggest you re ever likely to see.The dinner served was delicious, all created on site and fresh from the hosts produce.The gourmet breakfast was a real treat served in the lovely lookout tower, overlooking stunning views.Willem and Carla are so kind and caring and its refreshing to stay somewhere as luxurious as this.Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
23.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
11.8 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
4.7 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Otesha Falls
Otesha Falls
#3 of 7 in Waihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manawa Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manawa Ridge

Property: Manawa Ridge
Address: 267 Ngatitangata Road, Waihi 3681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waihi
Hotel Class:3 star — Manawa Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing