We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss ...”
Review of Manawa Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manawa Ridge
Ranked #1 of 7 Waihi B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolute bliss ...”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Willem & Carla at Manawa Lodge for two nights.
We stayed in the Shire's Suite which had a small open fire, under floor heating, a huge big comfy bed, and a lovely spa pool which was bliss.The spa pool was completely private and offered a stunning view up the Coromandel Peninsula.
Willem and Carla were wonderful hosts, we enjoyed the wonderful meals and wine, and their beautiful home.
Manawa Ridge offers stunning views, and the lodge offers a tranquil setting to totally relax in, it is a place of peace. It was two days that we will not forget, thank you Willem & Carla.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This place is just magical, incredibly built with the owners own hands, it is one of the most spectacular and luxurious places I've ever been to. The hosts Willem and Carla are so nice and friendly, they are amazing cooks and the food is better than restaurant quality! You could stay in the private spa (also built by them) for hours, the music with the mixture of lamps and candlelight while you wait for dinner is very relaxing. Everything was amazing; the decorations, the rooms, the California king bed, the food, I don't know how much more I could rave about this place, it's just a must see before you die kind of place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReinaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We booked Manawa Ridge for two nights and stayed for three and it could have been longer. That says it all. Willem and Carla, absolutely wonderful hosts, have built a truly unique experience. From the delightful, super-comfortable Santa-Fe style house they built with their own hands, to the delicious meals, the awe-inspiring views from their hilltop eyrie, the romantic rooms, to the attention to detail made this a holiday we will remember for a long time. We loved many things about Manawa Ridge, a couple where: how Willem and Carla where there but not there, one can be as private or not as you choose and we had some lovely convivial evenings together and plenty of private time. Also as I had an interest in sculpture Carla, an accomplished sculptor in her own right , spent most of one day with me as we chiselled and chipped at our respective blocks. What a wonderful way to relax. Other bonuses were the deer, horses and cattle that Willem drove us around the paddocks to see and shared their considerable experience in farming, building and running an exclusive world-class B&B. Thank you Carla and Willem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnghuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geilo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

As we arrived at Manawa Ridge we were welcomed by the owners: Carla and Willem.
A lovely couple with so much dedication to their work! I can`t really believe that it is possible to have a lifestyle where you constantly open up your home to strangers. Their hospitality is one of a kind. They spoiled us with delicious food made by Carla herself, offered wine from their own little winecellar and gave us good advises about what would be worth seeing and doing while in the Cormandel. With an amazing location on top of the hill, the B&B looks like a dreamcastle. The rooms are all in different styles - and you can really tell that this place has been built by people with ambitions. Carla and Willem were always there if you needed or wondered about anything. They even introduced us to their neighbours to help us answer some of our many practical questions about Cormandel and New Zealand. Willem and Carla are truly inspiring people. If you decide to visit this place, be sure to ask them about their story - how they built their dream on the top of hill. You will then learn how much power a dream can contain. I gained so much respect for Carla and Willem as I realized how much hard work they`ve put into making Manawa Ridge a real place. I absolutely love this place and the atmosphere here is almost divine. I hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A truly amazing experience, from the great food Carla makes to the fantastic experience in the back of Willems jeep driving through the paddock between the deer and the bulls. From the nice music that instantly relaxes you on arrival to the utterly stunning views. The lodge is superb and makes you feel at home and bathing in luxury at the same time. Not a dull moment! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansenNienke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

An amazing experience for family. Located high in a hill overlooking the sea and hills around. Built out of wood and by the owners Willem and Carla. Manawa Ridge is a huge lodge with; fantastic facilities, out-door baths, a tower and an imaginative and very effective design. Two friendly dogs live there and come to greet you. The two owners go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. There is a great walk that you can do from the lodge down to Wahi Beach or you can drive there.

My dad says that there is an excellent wine list, and also good trout fishing near by.

Overall brilliant!

William. Age 10

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frequent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Manawa ridge came highly recommended from a fellow traveler on TA, and we decided to stay for three nights at the beginning of your holiday on the North Island. Our expectations were high, but we were not disappointed! The B&B/farm sits on the hilltop overlooking farmland and the ocean. The view was truly amazing. The lovely hosts Willem and Carla have spent many years building their dream home, and the whole property is filled with a warm energy. They also happen to be great self-made chefs, and they use fresh ingredients from the farm and the garden surrounding the B&B. Manawa ridge was actually one of the most expensive places we stayed at during our 6 weeks’ vacation - but it was worth every penny. We hope to return for a second stay very soon.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
23.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
24.8 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
53 reviews
11.8 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whangamata
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
4.7 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
5.7 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#2 of 7 in Waihi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manawa Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manawa Ridge

Property: Manawa Ridge
Address: 267 Ngatitangata Road, Waihi 3681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waihi
Hotel Class:3 star — Manawa Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manawa Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing