We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”

Waihi Gold Mine Tours
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in Waihi
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Guyra, Australia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great informative tour by our guide Norm. A booking is required and there is a cost involved but i believe it is worth it. Guide was able to answer all our questions and able to take us where the general public cannot without going on this tour. Tour took 2 hours. Highly recommend tour

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coopernook, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Norm took us a terrific tour!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We booked the tour the day before, we met Norm at the information centre. We got into a mini van and he took us around and explained all about the mine. We had access to places no one else can and it was so interesting. We learnt everything about the mine and how it works and Norm answered all our questions. Greta tour, well worth the money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shezant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well worth doing!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our guide Norm was extremely interesting and informative, a real fount of knowledge, as he explained the whole complicated process of extracting the gold and silver from the mines and patiently answered our 'dumb' female questions! Well worth doikng this 2 hour tour, which together with looking at the Museum under the Visitors Centre and walking around the old Battery sites in the Karangahake Gorge certainly helped us to visualise and understand life in the old Goldmining days of the past and present.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NZNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Stop here and walk around the rim”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Another off the beaten track area of interest for overseas tourists. We didn't do the tour but started at the old Cornish pump house that had been relocated after it was in danger of collapsing. (interesting for us especially as we are from the west country and know the heritage tin mines of Cornwall). There is a goodly walk around the rim of this still productive gold and silver mine, with information boards as you go - takes and hour or so. Might be better to go to the I-centre first (unlike us), as there's and excellent exhibition downstairs which is educational. Had we had more time we would probably have done the tour - it sounded interesting (obviously there is a charge for this - our tour was for n'owt).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very informative and interesting tour”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Enjoyed the two hour tour of the mine with Norm one rainy morning last week. The tour was very well executed and ran smoothly. Norm was able to answer all our questions.
Found the cooperation between Newcrest Mining and the residents of the town a particularly interesting aspect of the modern mine. Underground roads following the above ground roads, Newcrest reforesting previously worked areas, keeping the noise level of the working mine to a minimum and even to the contribution Newcrest is making to the town each year. Norm really knew his "stuff".
Would recommend this tour to all age groups.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IMVO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waihi Gold Mine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Waihi Gold Mine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing