We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth The Trip”

Waihi Gold Mine Tours
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Waihi
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
Attraction details
New Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Trip”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is an excellent trip that takes you out to the mine & to it's processing plants & sites. Very informative commentry along the way with excellent views.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Racgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing tunnels”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We did the bike ride through the gorge and then walked from the mid-point up the track to the actual mines. Doing it by bike was much better than walking all the way - much quicker. You do need to dismount at one place by the river. It pays to take a good map - the signage is quite confusing.
The actual tunnels walk is quite amazing and gives a real sense of the amount of work and hardship

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jindabyne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great informative tour by our guide Norm. A booking is required and there is a cost involved but i believe it is worth it. Guide was able to answer all our questions and able to take us where the general public cannot without going on this tour. Tour took 2 hours. Highly recommend tour

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopernook, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Norm took us a terrific tour!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We booked the tour the day before, we met Norm at the information centre. We got into a mini van and he took us around and explained all about the mine. We had access to places no one else can and it was so interesting. We learnt everything about the mine and how it works and Norm answered all our questions. Greta tour, well worth the money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shezant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth doing!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our guide Norm was extremely interesting and informative, a real fount of knowledge, as he explained the whole complicated process of extracting the gold and silver from the mines and patiently answered our 'dumb' female questions! Well worth doikng this 2 hour tour, which together with looking at the Museum under the Visitors Centre and walking around the old Battery sites in the Karangahake Gorge certainly helped us to visualise and understand life in the old Goldmining days of the past and present.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NZNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waihi Gold Mine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Waihi Gold Mine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing