We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otesha Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otesha Falls
Ranked #3 of 7 Waihi B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a fantastic few days staying at Otesha Falls. It's already been said in some of the other reviews but Carol and Philip are fantastic hosts and went the extra mile to ensure we had an amazing stay. The rooms are luxuriously appointed and there are nice homely touches throughout the property, it's amazingly quiet and a great place to relax and unwind. Our dog Jessie also had a great time hanging out with McGregor! We will be back :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerryness2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol v, Owner at Otesha Falls, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to finally met you, the added bonus was to meet your new addition to your family. McGregor enjoyed having Jess to hang around with, what a lovely dog.
Hope to see you all again, maybe the Golden Nugget !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of being guests at Otesha Falls with Carol, Philip and Mr McGregor (one very cute dog!) room was lovely with beautiful decor, the breakfasts, cooked by Carol were amazing. Overall a great, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacmannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol v, Owner at Otesha Falls, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I'm so glad you had a lovely anniversary, we loved having you.
When you're in this area again you must pop in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just outside of Waihi, North Island, NZ. Nice comfy room and well equipped bathroom. Good breakfast. Great hosts. They even washed out our smelly, muddy running stuff after we did an Xterra trail marathon at Waihi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol v, Owner at Otesha Falls, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to have you stay, including smelly socks !!!!!
Have a great time down South.
Regards & Best wishes Carol, Philip & McGregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Brilliant place to stay and relax in superb decor and we felt right at home with Carols amazing breakfasts and Philips amazing work in and around the property brought it all together for the best holiday away for the family in ages. Mr McGregor the Scottish Highland Terrier was also a highlight. The kids loved the waterfalls with natural pools too an absolutely awesome stay thank you so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol v, Owner at Otesha Falls, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you David, we are glad you all had a great time,we enjoyed having you all & so did McGregor.Asley, thank you for your comment in the guest book, we think its Heaven too. x.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and gave another night to friends as a treat. That's how much we valued the experience Carol and Phillip present at Otesha Falls. Luxurious with Carol's flair for elegance makes staying here a real treat. Definitely value for money. I wish I was a big eater as the breakfast offerings were extensive and of very good quality. Lovely place, lovely hosts. The only problem for us is that we don't visit this part of the country very often. Otherwise we would become regular guests.

Room Tip: The Garden room has a french style - tres chic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol v, Owner at Otesha Falls, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you Charlie, it was a lovely time for us also,and great to have the honeymoon couple stay.Hope to see you again when you are this way, promise to give you a smaller breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had a great time at Otesha Falls. We stayed for two nights and both my husband and I left feeling extremely relaxed. Carol was the perfect hostess. The house is beautiful and the location was the icing on the cake. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol v, Owner at Otesha Falls, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely reveiw.Hope David has settled well in his new job in London.And it wont be long before you join him.
Look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
12.0 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#1 of 2 in Waihi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.6 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
Dragonfly Gardens Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otesha Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otesha Falls

Property: Otesha Falls
Address: 115 Ngatitangata Road, Waihi 3681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otesha Falls is a luxury Bed and Breakfast set at the base of the Coramandel Peninsula & Northern end of the Bay of Plenty.This beautiful new home offers peace & tranquillity in a quiet setting. Walk through the garden down to the natural waterfalls, chill out in one of the pools with a glass of champagne or fire up the barbecue and enjoy the solitude.Our aim is to give you a touch of heaven, we hope all our guests will love this place as much as we do. We have another friendly host here, McGregor the West Highland Terrier, a friendly little chap who loves every one.We very much look forward to meeting you.Carol, Philip & McGregor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Otesha Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing