We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breath taking beach”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed 3nights in one of Waihi top ten units. Top service, wonderful hosts all the amentities at hand. Caters for all ages. We took our two grandchildren one 13 the other 4 lots for them to do .Lovely cafés all within 5 minutes drive. Friendly local RSA and good meals too.

Room Tip: Units above pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moko18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. Waihi is a wonderful community and we are pleased you were able to have a lttle taste of our beach and surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    68
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
154
69
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our campervan adventure through North Island, and what a perfect closure it was. The staff who registered us was warm and efficient. We were given a choice to stay close to the beach or close to the main amenities, and we chose the beach. It was a quiet period so we had the whole beach place to ourselves. The hot shower was not timed like other HPs so that was great - we could take long showers to wash off the grime from our campervan adventure. Everything was perfectly functional including the laundry machine and the dryer, the powered sites were lighted so we could enjoy a nice, comfortable dinner out of the vans. Fabulous HP for a family holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akafaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are pleased you a wonderful last night with us and thanks for the review. We hope we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Cabins were cosy but clean and well equipped. Everything had a feel of quality and very modern, more like a motel unit than camping cabin. Facilities are excellent, clean loos and pool area. Family bathroom was a big plus for us. We will definitely be back, this was the second visit this year.
There was plenty going on at waihi beach to give the place a bit of a buzz, you'll love it for an affordable weekend away.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katharinednz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to make a review. We are pleased you had such a good time, it is always nice to welcome back repeat visitors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just had the weekend at Waihi Beach and decided to stay at the Top 10 Holiday Resort, we stayed in one of their motels and found the whole experience excellent. Staff were friendly and accommodative (we checked in really early), the grounds and units were clean and in excellent condition and the location is excellent. We really liked staying in the units and liked the fact that they had nespresso coffee and capsules, as well as plunger coffee. The kitchen had a good set of utensils and cooking equipment and as we had our baby boy in tow - they were more than happy to provide a portacot at no extra costs. It was also great, being at a beach, that they are not stingy on the towels - there were heaps of towels in the unit!!! All in all a great experience and when we return to Waihi Beach we won't look to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_kiwi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for you for your great comments we are so pleased you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back. The nespresso machines make such good coffee it is nice to hear they are a valued addition to our beach side motel units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed one night in a powered site for our camper. The service we received at the reception desk was lovely - with the offer of a lift into town for dinner if we needed it. The pool and spa were lovely and warm and very clean, as was the whole site. We even had a great time feeding the eels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumpdihump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thanks for the great feedback - we are delighted that you had a lovely stay and got to feed our 'mostly' friendly eels. Enjoy the rest of your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We love coming here at Easter as the heated pool is a great back up option if the weather is too grotty for the sea. The bouncy pillow and playground is good, but a much bigger sign is needed stating the playground is open after 8am. It's sucks getting woken up by kids on the playground at 7am when you want a bit more of a sleep in on holiday. The 10.00pm curfew is a bit over the top when you have a group of adults quietly talking/ no music and you get told to quieten down. Our neighbours close by said they couldn't hear us so maybe a little lenience on that would be good.

The pool could do with some of the awesome led lights around the edge of the decking for safety once dark. The ones put on the bridges are great and make it much safer.

Room Tip: Don't use the rooms just camp in our Pop Top Camper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. We value the feedback and in particular value your idea about lighting the edge of the pool decking at night. We have been installing a number of LED strip lights around the Resort to add to the ambiance and to ensure a higher level of safety, and we will add this to the next lot we install. Children making a noise in the mornings has always been a difficult one and not a great experience when one gets woken early in the morning. The Jumping Pillow is programmed not to come up until 8am, however, whilst we have tried various signs over the years around the use of the playground, we still have parents who send their children their when they wake up! Maybe next time we can get you onto a site a bit further away from the playground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealnd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Three of us hired accommodation for one night. we were in a small two bedroom unit. It was so small the bedroom door didn't close because the bunk set blocked part of the doorway. Overall this stay was poor in comparison to other accommodation we used around Coromandel. For the price we paid (over $240) i expect Sky TV channels in my unit not over the road in the communal camp area. Diluting detergent is stingy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wontoksmith, Owner at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property - as owners we were not aware that the detergent had been 'watered down' and this has been immediately corrected - thank you for telling us. We are sorry that the stay did not meet your expectations, and have taken steps to sort out the bunk issue - this is because it had not been put back against the wall when the bed was made by our house-keepers. We value feedback and act on any issues promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
0.3 mi away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
5.3 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
6.0 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#5 of 9 in Waihi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
5.2 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#1 of 1 in Waihi
36 reviews
7.1 mi away
Birds Eye View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Property: Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Address: 15 Beach Road, Waihi 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach TOP 10 is the kind of nostalgic place that parents dream of. Offered are a huge variety of accommodation options, and the range of activities within the extremely well equipped facilities means the kids can have a blast while you relax and unwind knowing they are safe and occupied. To find out the full extent of the Resort’s capabilities and service, contact them today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing