We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
Review of Poets Corner Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poets Corner Lodge
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After a meandering drive from Auckland we arrived at Poets Corner. A little hard to find on the Sat Nav but worth the wait. Our hosts were superb, the location beautiful and the poached eggs and smoked salmon on home made bread, divine

Marg and John, our hosts, went the extra mile to ensure that we had a good time

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

From the moment we arrived to the time we left Poets Corner we were made to feel completely at home by our hosts Marg and John. Our accommodation and scenery also added to the ambiance, along with all the wonderful home made goodies that Marg served up plus tips on the best places in the area. The accommodation is not only very comfortable but very well equipped and you would be hard pushed to find anywhere better so, don't delay, book today you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Marg and John were the bests hosts ever! We had such an enjoyable time at Poets Corner, met such lovely guests, relaxed in
the beatiful surroundings and enjoyed all the attention that we got from our hosts.
We really couldnt have asked for more. Meeting Marg and John will make your holiday I promise, you have to book, you will not regret it.

Alison Mackay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbriarhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed for two night's with Marg at Poet's Corner. The bedroom was well equipped, bed very comfortable with a good shower. The guest's communal area was stunning, comfortable sofas with a TV, dining area and very well equipped kitchen with a well stocked store cupboard and fridge. Bread was freshly baked every morning and Marg!s homebaked cakes were delicious! There was also an outside area for sitting with the most stunning views

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed in a small courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloyd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at Poet's Corner in November, 2012.

We were provided with some great tips for exploring the area, but to be honest, the dramatic scenery and the hot-tub, fireplace, heated floors, delicious tea selections and comfy couches made it pretty hard to make it beyond the front door!

The INCREDIBLE breakfast (even made to meet my pesky dietary requirements) made us forget to eat until dinner-time.

I would absolutely recommend this place to friends and hope to return some time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freyajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This is an amazing lodge, absolutely stunning value for money. The hosts Marg and John and friendly, welcoming and make you feel at home in their lodge. The setting is perfect, with a multi-million dollar view. You have to see it, no photo can truly show it.
The breakfast is great, Marg is a magician in the kitchen and there was an endless supply of home backing and fresh fruit on hand.
With only 4 rooms it is a personal touch, but there is enough space to not feel smothered. The surrounding Waihi region has great attractions to keep yourself busy with and Marg and John are very helpful in suggesting what you can fill your day in with.
A true 5/5, and a true Kiwi gem.

Room Tip: All are pretty much the same size/location etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJamesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

What a find this was! Marg and John are the perfect hosts. I am torn between wanting to encourage everyone to know this place, and keeping it for ourselves. We are already planning to return with our best friends, and to stay longer. Do not turn down the offer of breakfast. I didn't need to eat again until late evening!
The place is a little out of the way, but the instructions on getting there work perfectly.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be fine. There is even great wheelchair access in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
3.8 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#2 of 7 in Waihi
36 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
4.2 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#1 of 1 in Waihi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Corner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Corner Lodge

Property: Poets Corner Lodge
Address: 28 Poets Corner Road, Waihi 3681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Corner Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Boutique Lodge with expansive coastal views, surrounded by native bush. Four double rooms with en-suites. Large lounge/dining with full kitchen. Gourmet breakfasts included in tariff and complimentary fresh fruit and NZ cheeses. Lodge is separate from the house so privacy assured. Dine with your hosts by arrangement or eat at one of the many local restaurants. Base yourself here to discover the Coromandel,.Rotorua. Auckland is just a 2 hour drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poets Corner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing