We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel with great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My first impression is that the hotel is located in an 'OK' location, but I was quickly won over by the graciousness of the staff, the luxurious amenities and the accommodations. The pool service was superb including complimentary eyeglass cleaning and smoothies. The beach is a two minute walk from the hotel but it's really not worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Myconian Ambassador is a stunning and relaxing property with two beautiful, warm pools, perfect for relaxation and poolside dining. The breakfast buffet was the best we've ever had in our travels, featuring an amazingly extensive selection of fresh figs and other fruit, REAL Greek yogurt, honey, nuts, cheese, breads, pastries, and much more. You will not be disappointed. Our room was spacious and decorated in the soothing hues of the Aegean Sea, with a small balcony and water view. I especially appreciated that the room was equipped with an iron, ironing board, and retractable line for drying swimsuits and lightly laundered apparel, as we were visiting in July and brought a lot of linen items that needed to be touched up or rinsed out during our stay. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Mykonos town (about a 20 minute ride), which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLover57201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is the equivalent of a dream came true. It's chic, design, classy, pure, AMAZING...
Everything was perfect from the first second to the very last one. I was there for 3 days, and it was magic. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The staff is very well trained and polite. They are always there for you when you need them. I would go back there anytime. The food and the champagne list was great. Perfect for romantic time. I was there with my family, but next time I will go there with my boyfriend.

Room Tip: 414 is the best room (ask for this one if you can)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Myconian for 3 nights and it was the most amazing experience we didn't want to leave!!! Everything we needed was at the hotel the rooms were clean and had amazing views of the ocean, the staff work very hard and were so friendly we almost felt like they were our family! We spent most of our days sitting by the pool because the view was just gorgeous and staff were always there to serve us. It was a 2 minute walk to the beach and restaurants and a short bus ride to the main town. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mykonos!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vesna613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Pros: Free shuttle service transfers to and from airport. The resort is large, very clean and we had rooms with balconies with magnificent views over the beach. The staff are (? Overly) very polite..which is very good (most of the time). The pool and sunlounges were great . A really nice touch were tasting serves of smoothies or fruits being passed around to guests. Guests were also offered a free sunglasses clean! A beautiful beach, Platys Gialos , is only a few minutes walk. Guests are provided with use of a free sun lounge and umbrella and there are some really nice restaurants there as well.
Cons: the complimentary wifi was poor.
When we arrived at checkin our room was not ready. We were not given an explanation or apology but were invited to wait in the restaurant where we had an expensive lunch. Not a good start.
The resort is not in Mykonos town so to get to Mykonos town you can take the bus, 1.60 euro per person which runs every 1/2 hour (and was often overcrowded at peak times but is a good service )or a taxi for 10 euros. Sometimes taxis were hard to come by as well. It appeared some nearby resorts had a shuttle service.
The hotel service was generally very good but over the top and seemed superficial..I didn't need 6 staff lined up to say good morning to me as I was shown to a table for breakfast!
The food and drinks at the hotel were overpriced.
The TV has very limited channels.
Enjoyable stay with some deficiencies not expected for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

LOCATION & OVERVIEW OF HOTEL:
4 ½ /5: This depends on what your priorities are for your holiday… if you’re a party-goer and would rather be in the middle of all the clubs etc, this probably wouldn’t be for you!
However, we loved it! Fabulous quality hotel, in a great location - you can choose to relax by the pool or take the 3 minute walk to the beach. Platys Gialos has about 10 restaurants or alternatively you can take the 10-minute bus journey into Mykonos town to use the huge choice of shops / restaurants there.
There are buses every half hour (€1.60 pp each way), through the day and evening too.
It’s difficult to get a feel for the situation of the hotel until you’re there. It has 80 rooms, spread out over maybe 6 floors, but stepped up the hill-side. It overlooks the village of Platys Gialos, and the bay beyond. Stunning views 24-7!
The hotel is in beautiful condition, inside and out. Apparently the owner is always looking for ways to improve the hotel…. and it shows!
It is about a 10-minute trip from the airport - I emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before our arrival and they organised a hotel transfer for us. (I forget the cost exactly – I think around €6 each way).

FACILITIES:
4 ½ /5: Very good! Lovely outdoor swimming pool with plenty of sun-beds (the best we’ve ever come across!) and complimentary beach towels, great spa facilities, free wi-fi across the resort, etc. (Oh, and can I just mention the little things that really mean a lot… like the smoothies & fruit kebabs which are handed out by the pool-side, plus the cool towels & sunglass-cleaning which you are offered every afternoon!)
Due to the location there are no sports facilities on site, but a range of water-sports are available at the beach.

SPA:
4 ½ /5: I booked a back massage for my husband and myself while we were there. Beautiful facility, friendly staff, and a lovely way to relax!!

SERVICE:
5 /5: Here’s where they really excel! Reception, housekeeping, pool, bar and restaurant staff are truly an asset to the hotel – all so welcoming, cheerful, hard-working and helpful. Special mentions to Alexia (for perfecting her Tequila Sunrise for me!), Alexandra (eternally smiley, even in the mornings!), Danny (“no problem, man”!), Eglerios, George, Konstantina, Antonis, Maria, Virginia… OK, I’ll stop there! THANK YOU, ALL!

ROOMS:
4 ½ /5: We had a deluxe room with sea view, and a really good-size balcony with table, chairs and even bean-bags – fabulous!
Our room was freshly decorated, very clean, with AC, mini bar, TV, well equipped bathroom with complimentary toiletries, modern fittings and shower over the bath.
(If I’m honest, the bathroom was a little on the small side, and I’m not a huge fan of shower curtains, but this was a very small negative for us.)

BREAKFAST RESTAURANT:
4 ½ /5: Breakfast is buffet style - a lovely choice of fresh fruit, cereals, breads, pastries, croissants, cheese, cold meats, smoked salmon, mini pancakes etc.
There were also hot servers with the usual cooked breakfast items, and the staff will bring you endless supplies of fresh orange and hot drinks!

DINNER RESTAURANT:
We prefer to try different restaurants in the area for our evening meal, but we did use the hotel restaurant one evening and were not disappointed. Service, food, and setting were all superb. Perhaps a little on the pricey side, but definitely one of the best meals we had.

[We ate at 5 or 6 restaurants in the village and didn’t have a bad meal. Our favourites were “Avli Tou Thodori” in Platys Gialos and “Nautilus” in Mykonos town.]

OUT AND ABOUT:
We had a lovely walk past the beach out to the rock at the end (with the resident peacocks!) which was great for photographs looking back towards the hotel and bay! Also took the short stroll to Psarou beach and admired the yachts there!
We took the bus into town a couple of times and loved walking round the lanes in Mykonos town and the Little Venice area. (It can be very busy with cruise-ship day-trippers adding to the population!)
The hotel also arranged a driver for us to see a bit of the island one morning. Not a cheap service, but Stavroula was a great hostess for her country – interesting, obliging, perfect English, and a very competent driver too.

SUMMARY:
This was our first trip to Mykonos, but we quite simply adored it. We are the kind of people who love to holiday, but like to try new places instead of re-visiting. However, we have both said we could return here without a doubt. Keep up the good work guys, and we’ll see you in a year or two!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvidHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On top of the amazing view and great rooms, the service was out of this world. Mother-like care from the staff. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay (especially the manager and front desk lady called IRO)!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdallah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
338 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
2.9 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel

Address: Platis Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 Spa Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range: £135 - £709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Myconian Ambassador Hotel Relais & Chateaux is perfectly located near Mykonos Town and near the most famous beaches on Mykonos, Platis Yialos, Psarou, Paranga, Paradise and Agia Anna. The Myconian Ambassador offers spacious and exclusively designed Mykonos accommodation with superb views of the beach and Aegean Sea. Relax in your private pool or Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myconian Ambassador Hotel & Thalasso Platys Gialos
Myconian Ambassador Hotel And Thalasso Spa Center
Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso Center
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing