We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After arriving at this lovely hotel we were told by the manager that they had no room for us which was very annoying, given, that we had booked this 6 months ago. We were transferred to its sister hotel near Mykonos town which doesn't come close to the ambassador, we were also offered an upgrade on the room we booked, free massage and free 5 course dinner in the hotel. We were picked up the following morning and allocated to our room, the view was stunning and the room was lovely. The staff were so friendly and helpful, service was always with a smile and the little touches around the pool such as being offered iced tea, sunglasses being cleaned, iced lollies and cold flannels was much appreciated. Dinner at the hotel was lovely, breakfast was superb, so much to choose from. The location is very good, a quick stroll to the beach and about a ten minute drive to mykonos town. We hired a car for the day and drove around the island visiting some lovely beaches in the north. On the morning that we were leaving we asked for a late check out as our flight was in the evening, we were allowed to keep our room until 2.00pm then we were moved to a basic room with no view but it was clean, consisted of 2 beds, TV, aircon, fresh towels and toiletries.

Would we stay here again? Yes most definitely

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear donna a,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center. We apologize for the inconvenience of the first night, and we are very pleased to see that you did have an enjoyable stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team thank you once again for choosing the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind Regards,
Vangelis Daktylides
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We are on our final evening at the Mykonian Ambassador Hotel & Thalasso Spa Centre and we are very sad to be leaving! The service here is impeccable! The staff goes out of their way to ensure that you're happy in every aspect. Daily at breakfast they visit you to see if they can assist in planning any activities (even ones not offered by them). Staff are very open to recommend sites and restaurants and have no problem booking reservations. Upon our arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade to room 108 (definitely would recommend this room). After an extremely long flight from Toronto, this was a very wonderful surprise. Mykonos Town and various beaches are of close proximity and very easy to get to. This hotel's location is perfect as it is close to all tourist sites (via bus) and the water taxi is able to take you to any beach on the south side of the island. We would highly recommend The Mykonian Ambassador Hotel & Thalasso Spa as you place to stay when visiting Mykonos! We can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for sharing online your recent experience at the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Relais & Chateaux. I was delighted to read that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed your well deserved holidays.

I will congratulate the entire team for making your stay a special one. Please rest assured that your kind words are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best Regards,
Vangelis Daktylides
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived at the Myconian after a week in Italy and a hundred aggrivating mistakes by our travel agent only to find she booked up for 4 days, yet we paid her for 5, and our flight was in according to a 5 night stay. Upon arrival, the manager knew our situation after having spoke to the agent and made us feel extremely comfortable that it would be taken care of. Although he was unable to accomadate us in the hotel or his other propoerties because of the peak season, he did offer us to use all the hotel facilities for our last day as if we were still staying there. They helped us with anything we needed. The rooms were a little small, and bathrooms for tiny toons but then again the travel agent booked us in the wrong rooms as well. Only a short walk to the beach, but you always want to explore different areas anyway! The wifi was not very good! If internet is important, definitely get a sim card. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Get an upgrade! The rooms, although nice and clean, are definitely on the smaller side, especially t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AmandaR922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Amanda R922,

Thank you for taking the time to post online about your recent experience at the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindly rest assured that your kind words are deeply appreciated, and your comments are taken on board.

On behalf of the entire team thank you once again for choosing the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Vangelis Daktylides
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Everything about this Hotel is excellent. The rooms, the pool, the service and particularly the food.
However a problem on our first night was very annoying. I arrived at about 5pm - 2 hours earlier than my friend. After checking in I was then told that we would have to move after the first night as there were problems with guests who were staying for an extra night due to a flight problem. I agreed to this and was told we could be compensated by a free Dinner during our stay. However, at this stage I had not seen the room. It was like a cell with a blocked up window and 2 small single beds. Obviously a staff room I imagine. The Manager said it was an 'overflow room'!
My point is that the guests who had to stay the extra night - albeit through no fault of their own - should have been moved to the cells, not us. They were getting an extra night whereas we were losing one by having an uncomfortable room for the first night and then having to move the next day, I can only assume that we were targeted because we were women travelling without husbands!. I noticed that other people checking in after me were getting the rooms
they had booked. I find this attitude to women quote prevalent as I travel a lot for business reasons and would normally have made more of a fuss but I didn't want to start my holiday on a negative note.
We were also offered a half hour facial but even that seemed a bit stingy in the circumstances.
It is without doubt a lovely Hotel and I would return - if allowed after this review!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mrs Barnes 60,

Thank you for taking the time to post online about your recent experience at our hotel. We read your comments with concern and disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and annoyance you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is deeply appreciated, and we can guarantee it is taken seriously as it only helps us to improve our level of services.

We can assure you that the rooms you were given on your first night were not staff rooms. We have specific sections where the staff reside, and we do not offer the guests the staff rooms under any circumstances. Sometimes we are faced with difficult situations, where a decision has to be made, and we regret that in this case we had to make a decision that influenced your stay. However, in order to ensure our guests privacy we may not always be at liberty to divulge the full reasons for our actions.

We are most certainly looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel, and we are most happy to see that you had a good experience overall and wish to have the chance in the future to offer you the memorable and relaxing holiday experience so many other reviewers are describing and we are renowned for.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email at the following address: vangelis@myconiancollection.gr should you wish to discuss this issue any further.

Kind Regards,
Vangelis Daktylides
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good location. Good food, pool area, and gym, Walking distance to two beaches. Sea view rooms were quaint and nice with lovely views. The shower was small but adequate. Need transportation to get to town or other beaches (although there is a bus service). Their partner property, Mykonos K, is closer to town, and Utopia is farther out but on a beautiful beach (Ellia). Check all of them out.

Room Tip: 101 and103 had good views but got a bit noisey in the am because the breakfast room was below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Robin B,

Thank you for sharing online your recent experience at the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center. I was happy to read that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Guests' feedback is always welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, in the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center, or in any of the Hotels in the Myconian Collection group.

Kind Regards,
Vangelis Daktylides
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great location and a great service!!!

Besides a problem only at our first night with our room - They made a wonderful job hosting our stay for 7 days at the Myconian hotel without any other problems.

Restaurant highly recommend for dinner - With a beautiful view to the pool area and of course to the Med sea, you can have from 3 to 7 delicious courses, a great experience over there. The staff from the restaurant just complement the tasteful food with the best treatment and service you can have! Ten thousand better than all the tourist restaurants down on beach Gialos.

Talking about the beach, only 2 min away from the hotel, if u like a calm beach to relax, that's the right place to go.

Transport it can a bit difficult on the island sometimes, but also not so far from the hotel, you can get the bus about each 20min to Mykonos town ... Or as the best way, I recommend just rent a scooter for 15€ a day and will make your mobility much easier though...

Just make sure to book a room with a balcony and a view to the sea - Will make any penny spent really worth it!

Can't wait to go back :)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank FariasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Farias D,

Thank you for sharing online your recent experience at the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center.

I was delighted to read that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed your well deserved holidays.

I will congratulate the entire team, and all the restaurant & kitchen staff, for making your stay a special one. Kindly rest assured that your kind words are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Vangelis Daktylides
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Mykonos was the last Island we visited during our trip. As the trip was a birthday surprise/celebration trip for my husband and we were to celebrate it in Mykonos, I chose Myconian Ambassador Hotel & Thalasso Spa Center which was also recommended by my trip planner(Travelive).

We reached the Hotel and were warmly welcomed by the Staff. The Manager informed us that the room we had booked was unfortunately unavailable, and the room that we were to check in was without any view, though decently spacious (had booked a sea facing room), I was upset when I came to know of it and I didn't care to ask as to why we were not being checked into the room that was booked. I thought the birthday was spoiled. However, I was completely wrong. We were told by the Manager that we would be compensated for the inconvenience. The Hotel, for the inconvenience, gave us a special dinner which was a 5 course meal for two at their Restaurant - Apollo (We didn't choose what was served to us, we were asked if we wanted to have Meat or Fish, the food was prepared by the Chef, we did not choose anything from their regular Menu). We were given Thalasso Therapy Vouchers for 2 and a 25 mins massage each at their Spa and Vouchers for Sun Beds at the Beach. We were also promised a better room for the next day and we were shifted into an Executive Suite with a Private Pool having panoramic view of the Aegean Sea.

The Breakfast at the Hotel is elaborate, matching all 5 star standards. The Beach is 2 mins walk from the Hotel.

The Staff is warm, helpful and friendly.

I loved my stay at the Hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank priyadeepsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Priyadeepsingh,

Thank you for taking the time to post online about your recent experience at the Myconian Ambassador Hotel.

We were very happy to read that that you have appreciated our services and facilities. It is a great reward for us to know that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Please rest assured that your kind comments are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, in the Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso & Spa Center.

Kind Regards,
Vangelis Daktylides
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
337 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
2.9 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel

Address: Platis Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 Spa Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range: £122 - £728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Myconian Ambassador Hotel Relais & Chateaux is perfectly located near Mykonos Town and near the most famous beaches on Mykonos, Platis Yialos, Psarou, Paranga, Paradise and Agia Anna. The Myconian Ambassador offers spacious and exclusively designed Mykonos accommodation with superb views of the beach and Aegean Sea. Relax in your private pool or Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myconian Ambassador Hotel & Thalasso Platys Gialos
Myconian Ambassador Hotel And Thalasso Spa Center
Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso Center
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing