We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - room, view and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago ,IL
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - room, view and staff”
Reviewed 25 July 2006

My wife and I just returned from 5 nights at Petasos Beach Hotel. We had a deluxe room which included a balcony and an ocean view on the third floor. The room was very nice and the view was spectacular, over Psauro Bay which was full of mega yachts. There are two pools, the largest of which was a bit crowded. However, we suggest the nearby beachs, Psauro was close and very nice. When our ferry was canceled we had to move to another room for one night, but they upgraded us to a room with a private pool which was great. I think it is worth it to get a "deluxe room" because the basic room had no view. The location is excellent for the beachs and is a 15 minute bus ride to Mykonos town, on very nice buses for 1 euro. The staff was very helpful with dinner reservations, transportation and beach suggestions. Two computers are provided free in the lobby for internet access. We would defintely stay here again.

  • Liked — locatio/view of ocean
  • Disliked — no issue
  • Tips/Secrets — get a deluxe room rather than a basic room
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jsmithkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    171
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
151
534
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2006

Just came back- We booked a standard room becuase there were no other ones available. I thought the "standard room" was cute, although small for American standards. Plus, instead of having one bed, they put two twins together. That part was pretty bad, so be prepared.

The facilities/grounds of the hotel were really nice. Great pool area. Plus, they have an awesome spa. Very nicely appointed and clean. Breakfast was included in the room, and was decent.

As far as location, I think the location was perfect. The bus into town stops right in front of the hotel, and is primariily set up for tourists (not locals). So it is easy to use. "Everyone" speaks English, so no worries about getting lost and not finding your way. Location on another note... the hotel is located right next the best beach in Mykonos, and there are lots of restaurants located along the perimeter. So no worries about lack of variety!

All in all, the stay was pleasant and about as good as it could be minus the weather which was pretty windy. Even in July it was windy and slightly chilly so bring a sweater and a few long-sleeved tees as well as jeans.

Oh, another bonus I forgot: The hotel has free internet.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Miamiheat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

I had debated a long time about whether to stay at the petassos beach hotel, or it's sister hotel, less money, Petassos bay. I was glad to have chosen the Beach hotel.. It was a gorgeous hotel, very nice amenities, excellent location. The staff was also very willing to accomodate. The Bay hotel did share the same amenities, but it was not as easy to access as the Beach hotel. This hotel was worth the price.. The only recommendation I would make is to eat at other restaurants-- much less money and very good food. Their restaurant was too pricey for the food provided.. but overall, would highly recommend this hotel...

Helpful?
10 Thank Hope1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 June 2006

We stayed at Petasos for three nights in May to celebrate our wedding anniversary, in a deluxe room (with a balcony overlooking the sea). The hotel surpassed our expectations in every respect. First, the service was outstanding. The staff was very helpful and made us feel so welcome. They genuinely sounded like they were delighted to help us with every question we asked. Second, the rooms were bright, beautiful and airy, with simple, modern design. The view from our hotel room was breathtaking -- we sat out on our balcony every morning to just take in the beautiful scenery. The pool area was also our favorite hangout -- looking out at the ocean, and sipping drinks and eating ice cream all day. Third, the food at this hotel is probably the most delicious I had on my entire vacation (though lunch and especially dinner are admittedly on the pricey side). Breakfast was actually free with our room; the spread is enormous and the quality was outstanding. Since the weather was nice during our stay, breakfast was served outside on tables overlooking the sea. Lunch and dinner were really tasty, and dinner was a bit more formal.

Location-wise, the hotel is only a 10-minute bus ride to Hora, and the bus stop is literally right outside the door of the hotel. The bus stops there every hour. There is a small beach steps away from the hotel. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel, especially to couples (I might note that if I were single and with a group of friends out to party, I might want to stay right in Hora). Personally, we felt like we really had to drag ourselves out to enjoy Hora because we were so happy with our accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2006

This is an excellent hotel, which I would recommend to couples or families.
We only spent 2 nights here on our honeymoon and would have loved to have spent another 2-3 nights here.

Although we didn't book or pay for a transfer, the hotel shuttle kindly gave us a lift from the airport, from here on in the staff at the hotel proved to be welcoming, informative and warm.

The reception area and bar are stylishly decorated, with books to borrow in the bar, and free internet access (which is rare).

The facilities are excellent, including 2 pools (my favourite was the smaller quieter pool)overlooking Platos Yialos beach.

The restaurant is a little pricey but the food is good quality and the breakfasts are excellent, with lots of variety.

I think the hotel is in an excellent location, with the beach so close by and a bus to town right outside your door. Though I would recommend hiring a car to see more of the island, which the hotel can organise for you.

We had a basic room although the hotel does offer deluxe rooms and suites etc. Our was still extremely clean, comfortable and had all the facilities you expect. We also had a little balconette with bay views.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 June 2006

Just got back from a stay in early June 2006. Petasos is located in a perfect spot. There is a beach nearby, but the hotel still feels private and quiet. The bus stop to Hora is right outside the hotel steps, and boats to the other beaches are just a few feet away.
The staff and service are exceptional. They allowed an early check-in for us (9AM!) and even fixed hotel transfers for our booking in Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

I've never seen a hotel like it in my life. It was amazing - great service, clean and modern rooms, GREAT breakfast. We were island hopping and this was BY FAR the nicest hotel we stayed at (3 islands and Athens). You are a short bus ride from town (bus station is right outside hotel), and 30 second walk from Platys Yialos and 5 minutes from Psarou. Try Atlantida for dinner (on Platys Yialos). Staff is courteous and helpful. Free internet service (2 computers). Most rooms with oceanview. Pool is clean and spectacular. Overall 5+!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CMcKAncaster_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petinos Beach Hotel
Petinos Beach Hotel
#6 of 26 in Platys Gialos
626 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#5 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petasos Beach Hotel And Spa
Petasos Beach Hotel Platys Gialos
Petasos Beach Resort
Petasos Beach Hotel Mykonos
Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing