We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service”
Review of Argo Hotel Mykonos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great location, and a beautiful hotel. But what really impressed us was the service. When we stayed at a different hotel at our last night at Mykonos, Argo still provided us with a free shuttle to the port when we left.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was one of the most expensive hotels on our Greek island hopping trip but was totally worth the little extra money! We recieved a free transfer from our ferry, a warm welcome and when we were shown to our room a lovely welcome drink too. Location is perfect, right next to the beach with regular buses to Mykonos town and boats to the other beaches on the island. We loved the bar and cafe at the hotel, very reasonably priced and ate at their hotel on the beach front with a 10% discount and free sun loungers. Also, we loved that you could help yourself to towels for the pool area and beach everyday. The pool is a little bit small for families with children and looked a bit murky by the end of the day but that was not a problem really. Our stay was overall quite perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinkys1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at Argo Mykonos. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children and had an amazing stay here. Platy Gialos is an ideal location for a family holiday. The Resort was very picturesque and reception staff helpful. The Hotel was very close to Platy Gialos Beach, and the bus for Mykonos town stops outside the Hotel. We had a family room below the pool. The room was clean. Resting/napping during the day was very difficult to do, as pool lounges were directly above the room and people dragging their lounges around made it very difficult to rest/sleep. Apart from that the Hotel was really lovely. The breakfast was incredible - the best yoghurt you'll ever have anywhere! I would stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed at Hotel Argo with two friends and we absolutely loved it! We had such a great time in Mykonos, and it had everything to do with our accommodations at Hotel Argo. The hotel is in a great location, right next to a gorgeous beach and a bus stop that takes you into town. Beach chairs with umbrellas are free (if you get there early enough) in the Argo area, and you can also order food and drink and charge to your room from the beach OR pool. The bartender is fantastic, and even remembered our drink orders and made us welcome drinks within minutes of arriving and served them to our room. The hotel pool is absolutely, positively relaxing. They also make an extensive breakfast for their guests every morning, which was delicious! Did I mention they provide free wifi? The hotel rooms themselves are very nice, and we had a little patio outside (I believe all rooms do) near the jacuzzi. The bathroom and shower were spacious, and there was a mirror outside, which was nice for multiple people getting ready at once. We called the reception for dinner recommendations and they not only did so, but made a reservation for us and set up a taxi ride. (The place he recommended was AMAZING, and our waiter ended up driving us home from Cavo Paradiso at 7 the next morning -- haha!). The only complaint we had is that we had really rude neighbors on our last night, who were obnoxiously loud and kept us up past 2am screaming, swearing and fighting each other (conveniently when we had to wake early for our ferry), but that was not the hotel's fault -- only wish they had security to have shut them up! This hotel has it all, and I HIGHLY recommend it

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room, which had two double beds and more than enough room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishkaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My wife and I picked this hotel because of excellent reviews it has been receiving on TripAdvisor.

We received exceptionally warm welcome by lovely receptionists and were pleasantly surprised by fruit cocktails we received free of charge within 10-15 minutes of arriving. The hotel also offers free safe box, Wi-fi, beach towels and transfers to/from the airport. The breakfast service was no less exemplary.

We only spotted a couple of faults. One was the lack of balcony privacy. We could see and hear all our neighbours and we did not enjoy the presence of a group of Italian lads who didn’t care about any guests or children around them. They were very rowdy and unreasonable. Thankfully, they were gone within two days of our arrival and the rest of our stay was beautiful. We are under impression that none of the rooms have a decent sea view but we were not bothered much about it. In our eyes the hotel was exceptional and it undoubtedly deserves all good reviews posted here.

The hotel is located only two minutes from the beach and one minute from the bus stop with local buses running every 30 minutes to the town centre. There are three mini-markets in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and one supermarket further up the road (2km to 3km). The beach is beautiful and much less crowded from the middle onwards. Plenty of restaurants on the beach but all are very pricey. A typical lunch comprising one starter, two soft drinks and two main meals (fairly light) would make us 40 euros poorer. We thought that eating around this area was very expensive. Taxi boats are also available. Return tickets to other beaches such as Paraga, Paradiso and Superparadiso come at 5 euros per person which we thought was very reasonable.

Once you hit the beach brace yourself for some attention – restaurant owners and umbrella boys will fight over your money and once you find your perfect place, African and Asian migrants will test their selling skills on you, good looking Bulgarian, Macedonian and Serbian girls will be promoting night clubs and massagers will wonder around. But do not be put off by this – everything is being done in a friendly way and a simple “no, thank you” will be sufficient to get rid of any unwanted attention. We did not object to any of this as we enjoyed every single minute of our time and within days we were on friendly terms with lots of people working at this beach.

We used local buses but were horrified by bus drivers and their persistence to get as many people as possible into buses. At times we felt like canned sardines and questioned our safety so we started using taxis instead.
Mykonos is a lovely island that has a lot to offer. It has an amazing mix of well-behaved and beautiful visitors from various parts of Europe, North America and Australia. We will definitely travel back to Mykonos.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pathon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

ensure you are aware of the bus times as they don't run all night into town/from town

Room Tip: close blinds before sleep, gets hot in summer- although excellent air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournegirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Very nice hotel located close to the beach, restaurants and bus to Mykonos Town. The service at the hotel is great (eg. pick up at the airport and buys ferry tickets and pick them up in Mykonos Town) and the staff is very helpfull and friendly. The breakfast is good and it is nice that the eggs in the buffet varies from day to day. The beach and restaurants is a two minutes walk away and the bus for Mykonos Town is one minutes walk. The bus leaves every half hour and its a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_dose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argo Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Hotel Mykonos

Address: Platis Gialos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 Best Value Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range: £101 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Argo Hotel Mykonos 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argo Hotel will provide you comfort staying in a family environment with friendly atmosphere. It is located 100m from the beach of Platis Gialos, on the south side of Mykonos Island, 4 km from Chora (Mykonos Town). All rooms have air conditioning, TV, fridge, radio, safe deposit box, bathroom and balcony. The hotel also has a terrace for breakfast and a snack bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argo Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argo Hotel Platys Gialos
Argo Hotel Mykonos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing