We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Kamari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kamari
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is very nice place to spend your vacation.The rooms are equipped with air condition and almost all of them have verandas.Very clean swimming pool and a cafe at that pool.The break fast is very nice one on a beautiful terrace.Very quiet surrounding. Actually you can spend the whole day at the hotel. The only thing, it is little bit far(20 minutes ride) to the city center of Mykonos. But the bus station to the center is right at the entrance of the hotel and the bus passes almost every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanikoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. The transfers to and from the hotel were very handy and he location was great. Only downside is the room is very basic looking and dark. A bit if a cave! No views or nice space to retreat to. We spent our time when at the hotel at the pool which was a good area, big pool nice and clean and bar area. Internet is quite bad- often kicks you offline and is really slow most of the time. Probably an area that could be improved.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charlotte2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 2 weeks at the Kamari hotel during our recent visit to Mykonos in June/July. We had a transfer to pick us up from the Port and also to take us to the airport on our departure. A great service offered for only 4 euros per way.
The hotel gave us a very large room with 3 beds, even though we only required a double bed - not complaining as it allowed us to really spread out.
The big advantages the hotel has is its location - quite close to the beach where there are so many lovely restaurants, and also the fact that the bus stop is right outside and the front desk sells the bus tickets.
The breakfast was only average so we only ever tried it once - but this is Greece and you won't starve and we preferred to save ourselves for lunch and dinner at the wonderful Greek restaurants in the area.
The wi-fi in the room was only intermittent and that caused us a bit of frustration as we had some business that we needed to do whilst on holiday and wi-fi was necessary.
The bathroom was quite nice and looked like it had been renovated in the last few years, but unfortunately the hot water didn't work - it took an age for the water to turn hot and then once it got there, went boiling before going back to cold. I guess the fact that it didn't bother us too much is testament to the great time we had in Mykonos, as we didn't feel the need to make a big deal of this.
It's handy that the hotel has parking, so you can park your car or bike off street - we conveniently had the parking area next to our room. The odd thing we found in the parking area however, was the pen of chickens (with her chicks) and the poor rabbits (about 10 of them) stuck in a wooden pen with no exercise or room to move and seemingly little food or water - I don't know if the hotel owns them but it did make me wonder…
The hotel did our laundry for us (at 15 euro per load) which was helpful given that we were away for quite a long time.
I would recommend this hotel for families and couples who don't mind a functional and no-frills hotel. It's somewhere i would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Battlecat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on the 8th of June. Great location just a couple of minutes away from the beach and good restaurants. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel which goes into Mykonos town which takes 10 minutes max. Breakfast was included in our stay and there was a good selection. The pool area Is beautiful and I will stay here again when I return to Mykonos.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krystle_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel was beautiful, marble floors & nice bathroom. The pool is lovely, but we didn't have time to use it. I loved the breakfasts with fresh eggs, yogurt, honey, meats cucumbers and tomatoes! Within walking distance to the beach. At checkout,we had a close call and were running late for the ferry....every taxi on the island was busy, but the concierge made sure we had a ride...(boy, he looked worried!) The only bad thing was, when you wake up at sunrise because you're American & not used to sleeping in, there is no place to get a cup of coffee until after 7.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1pinegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently stayed at hotel Kamari for 2 nights while on my honeymoon and felt like the only guests without kids! The hotel is very nice and pool looked great. Breakfast in the morning was good and there are plenty of good restaurants on the beach just a few min walk down the road. The lounge chairs at the beach were free while we were there, but I imagine they charge during high season. We took the bus into mykonos town one day and did a trip to Delos that was organized by the hotel. After we returned from Delos, we had lunch (expensive) in Mykonos town before returning to platis yialos. The next day we took the boat taxi to Elia beach which was quite nice. It was neat to see the other beaches along the way. Our room was big but there was no shower curtain on our shower so the whole bathroom got wet when we showered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We wanted just a couple of nights on Mykonos so we could visit Delos. The hotel was recommended to us and so we booked through Travel Republic. We were greeted at the door and our bags whisked away with a smile. We had a great room overlooking the pool and rear sea view. Reception, room and breakfast service were great - maybe we're just better at asking that previous reviewer!
Couldn't fault it and would gladly return - although a bit underwhelmed by Mykonos and Plays Gialos.

Room Tip: Good large balconies overlooking the pool / rear view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.1 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#3 of 26 in Platys Gialos
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#1 of 6 in Tourlos
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Mykonos
The George Mykonos
#9 of 26 in Platys Gialos
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamari

Address: Platis Gialos | Mykonos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range: £76 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kamari 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Kamari Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing