We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport stopover”
Review of Hotel Kamari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kamari
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Airport stopover”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having spent the previous three weeks in quiet locations on TInos and Syros we had a stopover at the Kamari hotel for our flight home. I must be careful with my review as large hotels and busy resorts are not my cup of tea especially after two such charming islands as TInos in Particular and Syros. Even though we only stayed one night the hotel they were pleased to supply a mini bus for transfer from the port which was terrific considering the numbers waiting for taxis on the quayside. The hotel was well positioned for the resort and the room was large but without a view and only a very small patio but we were only staying one night and some hotels probably would not consider it. I should mention there were plenty of other rooms with good views of the resort if you were staying longer. The pool is of a good size and breakfast was fine if not as traditional as we had got used to. The beach is around a hundred yards down a steep hill and is covered from one end to the other with beds and brollies. It is lined with tavernas and a walk along the beach greeted with enthusiasm amongst the owners as they try to convince of you they provide authentic Greek cuisine. We found a taverna up the hill a little way (five minute walk) from the hotel which a terrace with a view serving good food and wine and at around half the price of the beach set. If you enjoy the busier side of GReece then this resort is the place but for us it was a little over the top. However a great airport stopover. Certainly beats gatwick! We were also transferred to the airport for a very reasonable four Euro each.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    154
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
70
179
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cas Catala, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only stayed at the Kamari for one night after a couple of weeks on Paros and it was perfect for our needs for the night.

The rooms looked like they had recently been renovated and whilst not particularly modern or trendy looking they were comfortable and fine for the night. I would say basic but fresh and clean. We might have struggled for space and storage had we been staying any longer.

Pool area was lovely and bar staff seemed friendly. Drinks prices much cheaper than many other places in Mykonos.

Breakfast was excellent - I was really impressed. A great choice of fresh food and I really enjoyed it.

The location is good if you want it quiet at night as its a short walk from the beach. Last year we stayed at the Lady Anna which had a great location but we found it difficult to sleep.

We used the hotels shuttle bus for port pick-up and airport drop-off - could not fault it. Good service and not expensive.

All in all, a good night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is very nice place to spend your vacation.The rooms are equipped with air condition and almost all of them have verandas.Very clean swimming pool and a cafe at that pool.The break fast is very nice one on a beautiful terrace.Very quiet surrounding. Actually you can spend the whole day at the hotel. The only thing, it is little bit far(20 minutes ride) to the city center of Mykonos. But the bus station to the center is right at the entrance of the hotel and the bus passes almost every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanikoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. The transfers to and from the hotel were very handy and he location was great. Only downside is the room is very basic looking and dark. A bit if a cave! No views or nice space to retreat to. We spent our time when at the hotel at the pool which was a good area, big pool nice and clean and bar area. Internet is quite bad- often kicks you offline and is really slow most of the time. Probably an area that could be improved.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 2 weeks at the Kamari hotel during our recent visit to Mykonos in June/July. We had a transfer to pick us up from the Port and also to take us to the airport on our departure. A great service offered for only 4 euros per way.
The hotel gave us a very large room with 3 beds, even though we only required a double bed - not complaining as it allowed us to really spread out.
The big advantages the hotel has is its location - quite close to the beach where there are so many lovely restaurants, and also the fact that the bus stop is right outside and the front desk sells the bus tickets.
The breakfast was only average so we only ever tried it once - but this is Greece and you won't starve and we preferred to save ourselves for lunch and dinner at the wonderful Greek restaurants in the area.
The wi-fi in the room was only intermittent and that caused us a bit of frustration as we had some business that we needed to do whilst on holiday and wi-fi was necessary.
The bathroom was quite nice and looked like it had been renovated in the last few years, but unfortunately the hot water didn't work - it took an age for the water to turn hot and then once it got there, went boiling before going back to cold. I guess the fact that it didn't bother us too much is testament to the great time we had in Mykonos, as we didn't feel the need to make a big deal of this.
It's handy that the hotel has parking, so you can park your car or bike off street - we conveniently had the parking area next to our room. The odd thing we found in the parking area however, was the pen of chickens (with her chicks) and the poor rabbits (about 10 of them) stuck in a wooden pen with no exercise or room to move and seemingly little food or water - I don't know if the hotel owns them but it did make me wonder…
The hotel did our laundry for us (at 15 euro per load) which was helpful given that we were away for quite a long time.
I would recommend this hotel for families and couples who don't mind a functional and no-frills hotel. It's somewhere i would consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Battlecat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on the 8th of June. Great location just a couple of minutes away from the beach and good restaurants. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel which goes into Mykonos town which takes 10 minutes max. Breakfast was included in our stay and there was a good selection. The pool area Is beautiful and I will stay here again when I return to Mykonos.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystle_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel was beautiful, marble floors & nice bathroom. The pool is lovely, but we didn't have time to use it. I loved the breakfasts with fresh eggs, yogurt, honey, meats cucumbers and tomatoes! Within walking distance to the beach. At checkout,we had a close call and were running late for the ferry....every taxi on the island was busy, but the concierge made sure we had a ride...(boy, he looked worried!) The only bad thing was, when you wake up at sunrise because you're American & not used to sleeping in, there is no place to get a cup of coffee until after 7.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1pinegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platys Gialos hotels
0.1 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#3 of 26 in Platys Gialos
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acrogiali Hotel
Acrogiali Hotel
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.2 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamari

Property: Hotel Kamari
Address: Platis Gialos | Mykonos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#10 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kamari 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Kamari Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing