We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acrogiali Does Struggle to Deliver”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Acrogiali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acrogiali Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Acrogiali Does Struggle to Deliver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

After some extensive travels in Greece and Turkey it is time to review Hotel Acrogiali on Mykonos. The hotel is located right at the heart of Platis Gialos beach and despite the peak season crowds this beach is a pleasant place to be. This is surely the reason the hotel is so popular - being beachfront - but there is no pool. The hotel itself struggles to reach a four star rating, now being tired, in need of some renovations and without the hospitality ethic we experienced elsewhere in the islands and in Turkey. It is not a cheap hotel for what it offers, our best price being direct booking on their own site (with a discount) at 253 euros for 3 nights ($420 NZ). You would be wise to compare prices and what you want from such a hotel.

The free hotel shuttle pick up and drop off at the port is a bonus that attracted us. Otherwise it is an effort to get from the new port to Platis Gialos, and the new port is a nightmare with poor systems of arrivals and departures - long queues, significant delays, behind schedule, passengers pushing, no courtesy at all, competing ferries and hydrofoils, health and safety challenges, chaos followed by calm - the Greek Island ferries.

The garden view rooms at Acrogiali are very rustic and in need of renovation to achieve 4 star. They are of good size and the bedding is good, but the bathroom and some fittings need attention, and the air con needs to be persevered with. The outside sitting area is very small if you intend to use the balcony or ground floor patio to relax on. Otherwise it is the beach and the loungers where everyone else is. The breakfast is inclusive but is very ordinary and without the expected inclusions for the hotel's rating compared to many similar rated Greek island hotels. There is a small breakfast room for serving, then a large open-air patio dining area which is very basic but it does overlook the beach. Avoid the chain smokers at breakfast. Reception's service varies depending on who is on duty. Within a day or so you will realise this.

We found eating in the evening better at several next door tavernas, where there was music and great house wine carafes, and there is plenty of choice. Otherwise head into Mykonos town early evening for sunsets, happy hours, the pelicans, many tourists off the cruise ships, and great snacks and beers

The beach is narrow and the whole extent of the hotel frontage has sun loungers and nowhere is smoker free. The loungers and umbrellas have the problem of many hotels with conspicuous inconsiderate guests reserving them very early in the morning and not using them - especially impossible to get front row sun loungers. They are in the usual beach pattern rows and the back ones are usually available, but these ones are also hired out to non hotel guests. The sea is cold and therefore we missed having a pool as an alternative.

The best option proved to be spending several days at Paradise (not recommended) and Super Paradise (recommended) beaches which are accessed by small boats leaving from the pier just beside the hotel. Fixed price monopoly and crowded boats but worth the effort for the coastal views and decent expansive beach. Hiring loungers was not expensive.

It is easy to access Mykonos Town by the regular local bus at the corner (3 minutes walk), cheap price and there is an ATM and bank at the town bus terminal that is situated elevated above the port. Below the terminal is the maze of lanes that are the beauty of Mykonos, but confusing and so easy to get lost especially returning to the bus in the evenings. So look for landmarks on the first few occasions. Dining at the old port area is pleasant and there is a variety of cuisines and prices. Great place for a late afternoon beer.

We enjoyed Mykonos and the Platis Gialos beach area but would think twice about this hotel. You are paying for the location on the beach with other expectations of a 4 star rating lacking.

Room Tip: There are cheaper garden rooms and expensive upper floor beach view rooms. You pay for the view. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muzzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    139
    30
    9
    11
See reviews for
91
195
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 7 nights in Acrogiali Hotel, in 1st.floor garden room, lovely, clean, quiet and very comfortable. Very good AC, safe and TV. The location of the hotel is great, on the beach, the restaurant where the breakfast is served has the terrace on the sand, very pleasant. The beds&umbrellas are free for the hotel guests, as well as the beach towels - you have to ask for them in the reception.. The beach boy, who serves you with everything from the restaurant, named Pandelis is very very efficient and kind , we named him Speedy Gonzales because he was so fast, kind and friendly to everyone, never tired or bored, doing his best to please the guests. Also Vinka and her collegue , the receptionists, were very kind to us, ready to solve all our problems. Atlantida restaurant is the best of the area, and I dare to say also of the island,
with very good greek specialities. Near the hotel is the bus station for Mykonos toown - 15 minutes to town. Very good and smooth entrance in the sea, without rocks, or stones, the water very clear. We will go back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st foor, on the west side, with balcony are better. Do not choose private transfer(by tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, British Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent three nights at the Acrogiali Hotel. We booked a room with a balcony overlooking the water and we were so happy we did this. It was amazing to walk into our room and see the ocean just outside. It was also so relaxing to sit in the comfy chairs on the deck and watch the ocean and all the boats! The room was fairly large as was the bathroom and everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and it was great because you ate on the patio overlooking the beach and ocean. The man who looked after the sun beds was very friendly and provided great service to bring out drinks. Platys Gialos is a wonderful place to stay. There are lots of restaurants in the little harbour and enough people around to be interesting, but not super crowded. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DekaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Location is fantastic, just steps to the beach and a sheltered cove. We opted for the garden room, to avoid the noise of the beach view rooms, and were very pleased. The garden and the patios are incredibly beautiful. The AC works great, the bathrooms and large, and the rooms very clean. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff gave five star service - as good as an Four Seasons I have stayed at. They transported us to the port for free. A little warning for families - lots of topless on the beach. My 11 year old son had a very educational experience. But from what I saw, this beach was more tame than the alternatives. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTA0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you want a luxury hotel give the Acrogiali a swerve. However, we wanted a comfortable laid-back beach hotel and our expectations were exceeded. Garden rooms are in 2 storey blocks behind the main building, we had a 1st floor room with balcony whereas the ground floor have a patio area. Most importantly the room had very comfortable beds, super air conditioning unit, large bathroom, new fridge and was very clean, yes the bathroom fittings were dated and the furniture not luxurious but what the hell!
Breakfast, which was more than adequate, was taken on the patio 2 steps above the beach, where the hotel provided excellent sunbeds and fixed brollies. The Beach Boy (man) provided waiter service throughout the day with some people taking lunch on the beach. The restaurant is run independently, residents get a 10% discount making a glass of wine £2-25 or pizzas and salads starting at under £6-00 (sharing a main course was enough for us at lunchtime).
Not sure if a positive, the hotel provides free wifi (I got in trouble with my wife for looking at my work emails whilst on the beach!)
The hotel collected and returned us to the airport at no extra cost which was an unanticipated bonus.
Apart from location, the best thing about the Acrogiali was the staff, especially the 2 young ladies on reception.
The last block of rooms (I think 218-223) overlook a car park, so we were pleased not to have one of those rooms.
Upon re-reading this review, I don't think I have sufficiently reflected how much we enjoyed our stay and how refreshed we felt after our week's holiday, we definitely intend to return.

Room Tip: Request not to be in the last block (see review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamAshton0350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garbagnate Milanese, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

It is a nice hotel, fresh, the people is very kind and services are like 5 star hotels. I will definetly come back next year
The Beach of platis gialos is beautiful and clean, and Mykonos Town is very nice it worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purkersdorf, Österreich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

One week from june 9th till 16th 2014 in this lovely location-directly on the beach and all the great impressions we know so very well from the cyclades Islands. A very warm welcome from the nice ladies at the reception who were always friendly and helpful for any request. The way from parkinglot to reception is breathtaking through a beautiful garden where the rooms without seaview are located. The advantages of this rooms - quieter, not so bright and hot (for those who love the exiting nightlife in Mykonos).But we enjoyed our balcony with seaview (amazing!) watching the little boats stopping almost in front of the hotel to bring the tourists to the other lovely beaches, or the bus around the Corner for Mykonos town! So convenient! And the restaurant in the Hotel ist excellent and the other restaurants provide music and dancing if someone does not want to go to Mykonos town or Cavo paradise for nightlife. The beachservice is great - special thanks to Pantelis! It was only a bit crowded (beds to narrow to each other) and I don`t like this tourists reserving sunbeds (inclusive for hotelguests, for visitors 12,-- for 2 beds and umbrella) and leaving! You are sure to provide a sunbed for every guest at highseason?To drive in mykonos is a little bit hard as the streets are narrow and steep and the taxidrivers dont`care too much (probably there are not enough of them especially during high season). All together it was a really great vacation, everybody so friendly, thanks to all!!! Try to come again next year! Alice

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliceberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platys Gialos hotels
0.1 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#3 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petinos Beach Hotel
Petinos Beach Hotel
#6 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Mykonos
The George Mykonos
#8 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mykonos Palace Beach Hotel
Mykonos Palace Beach Hotel
#12 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acrogiali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acrogiali Hotel

Property: Acrogiali Hotel
Address: mykonos | PO Box 610, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#8 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acrogiali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acrogiali is a 4-star beach hotel, situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of Mykonos, Platy Gialos.All rooms feature air conditioning, satellite TV, and a balcony with sea or garden view. Free Wi-Fi is available at the Acrogiali Hotel.Acrogiali's restaurant offers both Greek and Italian cuisine at the beachfront terrace.The town of Mykonos is a 10-minute bus ride from Platis Yialos beach. Other local beaches can be reached by boat.A free airport shuttle service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acrogiali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acrogiali Platys Gialos
Acrogiali Hotel Platys Gialos
Acrogiali Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing