We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location but?”
Review of Hotel H10 Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Seascale
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and location but?”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Big Sur over Xmas and New year. We had an enjoyable stay and found the staff excellent and a couple of problems in our room were sorted quickly. We had a room on the second floor which had not been refurbished but the room was still good, clean and comfortable and we had a large balcony with sun beds and great sea views. The hotel is situated at the quieter end of Los Cristianos so you don't get disturbed at night.

I would have given a 5/5 review but a few points let it it down. Firstly why oh why did we have to pay 3.20 euros a day for the use of a fridge in the room. Come on H10. The Big Sur is a four star hotel. These should be provided as part of the room and not at an extra charge. Speaking with a couple in one of the refurbished rooms they said they had a mini bar and had to buy 6 drinks at 2.20 euros each before they could use it as a fridge!!!!! Again this should have been provided free as part of the room. I have been to a number of hotels across Europe in the past years and this was a first!!!! Aren't you making enough money from guests without this extra charge?

Secondly we did find on a couple of occasions that the food served for the evening meal was luke warm. A number of other guests we spoke to had the same compliant.

Thirdly each room comes equipped with a "nespresso" machine. But if all you want to do is make your own tea and coffee I suggest you take a travel kettle. These machines at best heat the water to 70 degrees.

Finally, and I suppose this is a standard for hotels, but the price of drinks in the hotel bar was extortionate. On one night I bought a single whiskey on the rocks and my wife had a single Baileys. The price? 13.60 euros!!!! I could buy a 1L bottle of whiskey from the supermarket for 11.55 euros!!!!

So overall a nice hotel, great location but a few things let it down from being an exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms on the 2nd floor have large balconies and sun beds. Unfortunately these rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monster1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    594
    178
    43
    16
See reviews for
170
1,426
88
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel was newly renovated, 2011 i think, but not all floors.
so of course i ended up in the floor that was not renovated, 1st floor. We had an extra bed in that room so it went very little space left. And the beds, well you can say a lot but it was to hard for me.
The pool and reception areas was very nice, entertainment every night, and the hotel was for adults, in fact that means that there was most adults from 60+, and they had returned on this hotel for several years, nothing wrong with that, we met some wonderful people that we danced with and had a lot of fun.

Room Tip: make sure what floor your room is when you book the sea view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uffe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just returned from a really enjoyable New Year break at H10 Big Sur and would highly recommend the hotel. Our sea view room was excellent - so relaxing listening to the waves and watching ferries coming and going from the harbour. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel - our room and balcony, like the rest of the hotel, were spotlessly clean. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. The lobby and pool area are very attractive and great places to relax. The food was really good with a good buffet selection - the New Year Gala Dinner was wonderful! We didn't really care for the evening entertainment - we would'v preferred some more modern music. But that was a minor issue - although the hotel itself is in a quiet area, there are plenty of bars with different entertainment close by. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at in Teneriffe, and the most relaxing. Loved the place.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent. Those on the second floor may not get a full sea view due to palm tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al_Dunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

smart, fresh and clean hotel .
Mainly over 50's customers .
Helpful friendly staff .
situated in a relatively quiet area .
Good food, always plenty available .
Nice pool , great rooftop chill-out area .

Room Tip: high floor , sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel may suit many, but it's not my favourite. As the dining room can seat 260 guests, that doesn't qualify for boutique status for me. Yes, it's very smart, with an impressive reception area, but it could be anywhere in the world. My room (overlooking the arrival area in front of the hotel) was fine, but the bed was too firm, and the toilet seat was broken - that is irritating. Why are these things not inspected and rectified? Registration, I felt, was unnecessarily clunky, with a credit card being demanded as a guarantee of not leaving without paying the bill, and with a group took far too long.. Similarly, a card had to be shown on entry to the dining room, and a blank bill is provided to be completed by the waiter. This results in queues. In most hotels the cost is merely charged to one's room, and possibly signed for. The fact that it is child free is good, but expect a fairly senior clientele, who will mainly stay on or near the premises all day, with entertainment to match. If that's what you want, you may find it ideal, but I prefer somewhere with a little character (even if the buffet meals are really good!).

Room Tip: Noisy over the bar - the front is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flugelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The name was slightly off putting but after reading reviews on Tripadvisor went ahead. we were not disappointed everything was wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was wonderful and Xmas meal was superb. Plenty of choice and the freshly baked bread in morning was great. Nice on a Sunday to get fresh bread not something left over from day before. Now all I need is a good diet to help get rid of pounds in weight I put on. Prices for snacks and drinks were comparable with outside, and you knew hygiene was being taken very seriously. Will definitely be back. Excellent location

Room Tip: get a room with a sea view worth the extra rooms on 2nd floor have large balconies with sun loungers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank warnerayr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley Kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at Big Sur in November and chose the hotel as it is small, I don't want to be surrounded by hundreds of people on holiday, plus it being an adults only hotel - much as I like children I can do without them on holiday! The reception area is very smart as others say and the staff all very helpful. We paid considerably more to have a sea view room but the balcony being solid with a rail at the top meant that you don't get a sea view if you are sitting down! The balconies need to be refurbished as well, with a glass wall as on the roof-top chill out zone which is a lovely area for relaxing.

The position of the hotel is great as the door on the perimeter garden wall opens out onto the pedestrianised walkway which follows the coast line along to the nearby beach and to further resorts. It was much quieter than I dared to hope for as we had not visited Tenerife before and I was concerned it would be busy & loud, perhaps we were there at a good time of year.

Housekeeping was brilliant, everywhere very clean. Our refurbished room was good, very comfortable bed and the A/C was lovely & quiet but a shame there was only Sky News, CNN or BBC World channels on the TV. They need to upgrade this if they want the 4 star rating we understand the management are aiming for. Also the locked fridge, you had to pay to use this, plus a high charge to use the safe was not a 4 star feature - in fact it made you feel cheated/unwelcome. For 4 star we would expect these to be included.

Food was good with a fair selection, you do get a better selection at a bigger hotel, we have found,so you have to take your choice! The stir fry cooked for you is very tasty. We did feel sorry for the one chef on duty at breakfast. He/she had to toast croissants, make omelettes and cook eggs and bacon all at the same time!
The tea/coffee machine at breakfast is a no-no - too much like a holiday camp! Having to queue up for ages to press a button for hot water 3 times before it filled a cup is not on. I would expect a waiter to bring tea or coffee to the table as we had at a large 3star hotel in Lanzarote. Also the waiters were so keen to clear away the breakfast things as people left the dining room in order to lay up for the next meal, that they didn't clear away used plates etc from people still using the tables. We often had to move used crockery to an empty table. Minor stuff I know but it all adds up to the overall feeling that things could be done that little bit better. The desserts at dinner were disappointing, those rows of little cakes looked lovely but mostly tasted of nothing. More variety here would be good.

The chairs in the restaurant need changing, small wooden and very uncomfortable, they are not 4 star. Maybe they are to make you leave quickly?

We didn't watch the evening entertainment as we preferred to stroll to the nearby bars for an after-dinner drink.

We did use the small gym which is attached to the hotel but I am not sure who - if anyone - runs it. We were lucky that when we first called in there was a member of the hotel staff who showed us what we could use, all free of charge which was very good. After that there was no-one there and whilst we were using the machines on several occasions people walked in but left as there was no-one there to help them. They were certainly losing business with this casual approach. I booked a reflexology session and was not impressed that the girl left me on three occasions to answer her mobile phone! This could be a really useful adjunct to the hotel but it is not managed at all.

So I have tried to give the good and not so good points about this hotel which is what I look for when reading reviews from others. I would certainly return to H10 Big Sur but hope they pick up on some of the improvments which would make a big difference to the overall experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Floor 4 or above with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VivBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,270 reviews
3.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel H10 Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H10 Big Sur

Property: Hotel H10 Big Sur
Address: Avda. Juan Carlos I 28 | Los Cristianos, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#1 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H10 Big Sur 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea in the area of Los Cristianos, the H10 Big Sur (formerly H10 Oasis Moreque) is a new boutique hotel specialised in holidays for adults with an elegant and modern interior design with a very Mediterranean and cosy vintage touch. Discover all its services: Blue Bay Restaurant, Cactus Bar, new outdoor swimming pool area, chill-out terrace with sea views and Despacio Beauty Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, H10 Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel H10 Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel H10 Big Sur Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing