We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay In H10 Big Sur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Myself and partner (Andy) stayed in the above hotel from the 15thJan to 22ndJan.
Journey was excellent, no delays this time with Thomas Cook. Greeting on arrival at hotel was warm but i did ask if we good have an iron which was declined and was told the hotel offered a washing,drying cleaning and ironing service which was extremely pricey. We did find out later from the rep that you could hire a iron and ironing board for 15euros for the week which we did.
Hotel, I must admit is for OLD OLD people. We are in our 50's and were the youngest there, hence the entertainment was for an older age. Hotel was filled with wheel chairs, and simmer frames where ever you went. But thank god there was loads of bars just outside the hotel that had lots of tribute acts on every night. (not sure if we would have survived without this option though)
The young girl who did the day time activties at the hotel was EXECELLENT. She had a very hard hard job to do. I didnt get involved but partner Andy did. I watched closely and felt she gave it her all with many English complaining- some even complained that the activities were geared for OLD PEOPLE-, thats all that was there, so i am not sure what they expected. Every activity was covered, from excerise classes to bowls , snooker the lot. I felt very sorry for her.
Please note management staff- she tried her best.
We decided to go half board - which was okay- breakfast was a bit bland though.
No problems with sunbeds and the Chill out zone on the roof is well worth a visit.
I do hope to go back to los Cristianos in September- not sure if we will stay at H10 though.
Would be nice to find a Thomas Cook Adults Only holiday - that caters for a younger age. between a 40 to 60 age group would be great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.com.
We regret to learn that your stay has not turned out to your entire satisfaction. Please be assured that we constantly work on improving our services in order to enable a pleasant stay to our customers. Whilst I'm disappointed that you were not entirely happy, I appreciate that you took the time to point out the positives as well as the negative impressions.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your opinions and comments, as constructive criticism is the only way to know the reality and to improve quality, services as well as facilities, to avoid future complaints for the same reason like yours.
We will forward your congratulation to Misha, our Wellness&Sports-Entertainer, she is really doing a good job, all clients are pleased with her!
This hotel is an “Adults only” what means that young couples with children are not booking our installations and specially during the winter season, older = retired people are travelling, as well as this hotel dispose of 2 accessible rooms for disabled guests, what means that it is easy to see a disabled person in our hotel – but clients change from Easter Week onwards, younger couple are travelling!

Thank you again for having chosen our hotel, we sincerely hope you consider to give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too far future to H10 Big Sur!
Kind regards
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

We chose this hotel primarily because it was adults only, but also because you stepped outside the gardens onto the promenade, so no hills.
Upgraded to a sea view on the 4th floor to get views of the harbour. Paid extra to get a fridge and coffee maker. They only provided 4 capsules and no milk, and you paid 1 euro for each additional capsule.
We found the restaurant very disappointing. Most of the food on the buffet was not warm, although you could get your bacon as well as eggs cooked to order, but this meant queueing. There were long queues at the coffee machines in the morning.
To get warm food we tended to have the meat or fish cooked that was to order in the evening. They would also stir fry vegetables which was Ok if not drowned in a sauce. The fish always looked of the same type, except when they had sardines, who wants sardines in the evening. The meat was nearly always pork or chicken, didn't see beef or lamb the whole week.
They did a roast one evening. Felt they were only using cheap food and being very careful. The spanish ham was shredded into thin strips on starters served in little pots, and similarly with prawns.
If you arrived in the middle of the evening there was no cheese left. I asked for some, and after some time they brought out thin slices of the tasteless cheese they served in the mornings.
There are restaurants close by which we ended up using after checking out what was being served that evening.
Would only recommend the hotel on a room only basis.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website. I sincerely hope that you enjoyed your first visit to the H10 Big Sur. All comments are always well received and used for improving, as the guest feedback helps us detecting certain areas which might require improvement.
We are very sorry that our food was not to your liking. Food is clearly subjective. You know that we daily offer a hot and cold buffet, for breakfast and dinner, with plenty of choice, and the selection of food is amazing, there is a change in selection at the buffet every night, in case that something is not warm enough for your taste, we also have a microwave in the dining area next to the Show Cooking, where our Chef´s prepair for you whatever you want and how you want it – without any doubt, if you prefer the fresh prepared dishes you have to wait for them!
Since this January, we provide to all our guests daily the Nespresso Coffee Machine with 2 free capsules of coffee and milk if you need more you, you can buy them at Reception.

We truly appreciate your comments towards our establishment and sincerely hope that you will consider a return visit to the H10 Big Sur. I would be really pleased to have a talk with you!
Please receive my kindest regards,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We really liked the hotel, as it was nice and quietly. Tryed to eat there at two evenings at the buffet, and it was surely okay

Breakfast is fantastastic, and they are serving champagne at wednesdays and sundays.

The pool area is not so big, and it is a little bit difficult to get a chair in the sun at the afternoon.

There are a few cats around very sweet.

The staff are very servicemindes and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room to the sea, and you can also see the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miamuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Tenerife, and also for your kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor. Reading this makes us feel very happy, all the H10 Big Sur-Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay between us!.
We hope to get the opportunity to see you again in the not too far future!
Meanwhile, kind regards and thank you for your time!

Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Had a week here in January, this hotel is absolutely spotless. The rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day and if youre up early you'll see the little army of cleaners in the reception/foyer and pool going about their jobs.
It really is a lovely hotel, not too big, and recently refurbished, although you can still sense the hotels age.
Breakfast and dinner buffet is very good, lots of choice and good service.
The location is excellent, in the quiet part but bars and eateries within yards. The town is 10/15 min walk and Americas a little further around the coast, a lovely walk any time of day.
Taxi from airport was 22Euro and thesame back for a 15 min ride.
The hotel is not full of oldies, we are in our 40's and there were plenty our age, although you had to switch off when the bingo started in the bar !!!!
The only negative was one night the bar service was that slow we gave up after 30 mins, but other nights no problem.
All in all a wonderfull place to stay, with excellent all round staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YorkshireJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear guests,
thank you for having taken the time to post a review about your recent stay at the H10 Big Sur!
Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere and all our team is working to make your stay a successful one, we are very happy to know that overall we met your expectations.
However, we appreciate receiving your feedback with the points in need of our attention which certainly help us to continue working and to put even more effort in trying to meet the needs of all our guests. We know that small things make the difference and will look after the Bar Service at night time!
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Tenerife!
Sincerely yours,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This hotel was awesome, our first time staying there, we strayed into it for a show last time and we were very impressed. Spotless clean and I mean spotless. Nobody under 18 allowed to stay there which was a big plus for us. Only 60 rooms, Right on the seafront and in the middle of everything but quiet. The staff were awesome, could not do enough for us. We went for one of their 4 junior suites, well worth the extra few euros, we got a room that went from the front to the back of the hotel with two balcony's and a huge dressing /bathing area, massive bed, and a sitting room. Breakfast and dinner were a buffet with a chef to cook your meat to order affair and the food was wonderful and plenty of it. There is a "chill out" lounge on the roof (8th floor) that has views out over the sea and a great place to relax on the most comfortable sunbeds I ever saw. Ricardo who was in charge of the entertainment did a great job, he seemed to know everybody there by name and greeted us like we were old friends. We are so glad we stayed there and will be back there for sure.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view, the sunsets are just wonderful. The front rooms have a good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vonny-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Guests,
We want to thank you for choosing our hotel H10 Big Sur Hotel Boutique for your stay in Tenerife, as well as we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.
is a pleasure to receive comments like yours that confirms that our company policy is the right one, recognizing our customers as the foundation of our daily work.
We love our job, and reading reviews like yours makes us feel incredible happy.
We hope that in the not too far future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again between us!
Yours sincerely
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here from 22nd Dec'12-5th Jan'13 and enjoyed every minute of this adults only hotel.

The hotel staff made us very welcome and we had booked a seaview room which was refurbished on 7th floor with wooden floors throughout including the balcony. If you don't book a sea view room you will get rooms looking out over the main entrance to the hotel which has an apartment block looking sideways into it (see picture attached). Also the balconies at this side didn't get the sun whereas we got it most of the day.

The room had 2 large single beds pushed together which were firm and very comfortable with soft & firm pillows. There were 2 bedside tables which had no drawer space and the lighting was low key. There was a Samsung flat screen TV on the wall which had BBC / Sky news channels only (no soap channels). There was a large table under the TV with one upright chair and one lounge chair in the corner. There was a full length mirror and wardrobe space with drawers. There were several plugs throughout the room. There were net & heavy curtains and 2 sliding doors onto the balcony, one that locked.

The balcony had 2 wicker style chairs with cushions and one very small table which was more the size of a stool. There was a dryer attached to the wall to hang washing
There was a fridge (pay) / safe (pay) / facility for making tea & coffee.

The bathroom was standard type with a hairdryer and a shower within the bath with a good shower head. Towels changed daily if required and bedding changed twice a week.

Reception was lovely and nice to sit in if you just wanted to read, it had a beautiful smell.
Pool area was well kept and had a life guard on duty all day. There were 2 people who organised daily entertainment who were very good. There were sunbeds on the 8th floor called the Chill Out area which had great views across the bay.

The food was very good. There was buffet and also a cooking station where you could have your breakfast cooked fresh for you or meat/fish cooked in the evening. The buffet Christmas meal was excellent along with the New Year Gala - the hotel went out of their way to please. They also have the best dessert table I have ever seen!

You can exit the hotel by the main door or the door at the pool area which leads directly onto the seafront walkway.

I would return to this hotel and would recommend it, it's in a great position

Room Tip: If you like to sit on the balcony book a sea view room on a higher floor as the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PickiePool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel. I was pleased to learn that you found the furnishings of our hotel tasteful, and most of our rooms are recently refurbished with a modern design with a vintage touch so that your stay with us is convenient and comfortable in all aspects.
All our team is dedicated to ensure you have everything you need to make you feel at home, it is therefore very encouraging to know that you found the service to be personal and uniformly excellent. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 2 great weeks at the end Nov/early December at this excellent hotel. The staff throughout were the best we have ever experienced - nothing was too much trouble and they were always happy to assist in any way. The hotel decor was beautiful - a real boutique hotel and the rooms, public areas, the pool and grounds were scrupulously maintained. Our room on the 6th floor was excellent with great views. There is a fantastic "chill-out" sun terrace on the roof with an amazing choice of sunbeds. The hotel's position is very good - away from the busier/noisier end of Los Cristianos but with everything you could possibly want within easy walking distance. The food was excellent, with a choice of eating inside or outside, and there was a huge variety at every meal. There was good daily entertainment, sometimes during the day and every evening. We were able to do some interesting walks from the hotel and also hired the hotel bikes. It is also well situated for buses to go further afield. Another bonus is the fact that it is an adult only hotel. Whilst we love children, it was nice to enjoy a very peaceful 2 weeks in a lovely hotel without youngsters running around. If I had one negative comment, it would probably be to criticise the charges for the use of the fridge and also the safe in the room. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for the fantastic review, your encouraging comments certainly put a big smile on all of our staff faces, and will never fade away. At the H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, our proposal is all our guests to feel at home away from home and I was delighted to know that our team was able to make you feel welcome!
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too far distance!
Kind regards.
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,534 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 13 in Los Cristianos
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,042 reviews
13.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel

Address: Avda. Juan Carlos I 28, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range: £113 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea in the area of Los Cristianos, the H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel is a new boutique hotel specialised in holidays for adults with an elegant and modern interior design with a very Mediterranean and cosy vintage touch. Discover all its services: Blue Bay Restaurant, Cactus Bar, new outdoor swimming pool area, chill-out terrace with sea views and Despacio Beauty Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, H10 Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing