We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate for a short stay”
Review of TRYP Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Tenerife
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I booked a six night stay in the second week of January in order to get some winter sunshine and to celebrate my birthday. I had originally intended to use the 111 bus from the airport, which drops off in Los Cristianos within sight of the hotel, but there was a large queue of travellers at the bus stop. I was aware of the reports on TripAdvisor about slow check-in at the hotel and knowing that there was a Thomson flight (Thomsons use the Sol Princessa Dacil) about to land I took the decision to take a taxi. The cost is no more than 25 Euros, a lot more expensive than the bus but as it turned out it did mean that we didn’t have to wait to check in. It’s worth having some small denominations of Euros as my taxi driver pulled the “no change” excuse and was about to drive off with my 30 Euros for a 22.40 Euro fare. Miraculously she found a 5 Euro note from somewhere. Check in is slow but it seems that this is due to the sluggish computer system and not the staff. We also paid 20 Euros for the room safe. The safe itself is key operated, remember this is a 1972 built hotel, so no small metal box with an electronic key pad device here. The safe is set into the concrete inside a wardrobe and sufficiently large for your valuables. You will get 5 Euros refunded when the key is handed back in when checking out. By the time we had checked in there were a few more arriving guests seated on the couches behind us. Reception is also the place to pay for the mattresses for the sun beds for which a receipt is printed which you hand to the pool attendant. This will also lead to delays at certain times of the day.
Our room was on the thirteenth floor and faced the harbour. A nice view but it is on the side where you will get no sun until late afternoon. The room was clean and comfortable with two single beds, a large bathroom and small settee. We couldn’t get the fridge to work and phoned down to reception. By the time we got back from dinner just over an hour later a hotel employee had called and the fridge was working. There are four lifts and we never experienced any significant delays when they were requested.
We had booked half board and like a few other reviewers found there always to be enough choice to satisfy our hunger. Take time when selecting your table to ensure you are not on an obvious traffic route as people will be passing to and from the food area all the time which gets annoying. Drinks can be purchased from a small bar area and it was not uncommon to see guests taking a half drunk bottle of wine to and from the dining area each evening. We paid 5 Euro for a half carafe of house wine on a couple of evening which was OK. The automatic hot drinks dispenser at breakfast is a bit hit or miss. The hot water for tea is not hot enough and if you like a coffee you can taste then go for the espresso. Press the button twice to fill the cup, it won’t overflow. The main bar area just before the restaurant was quite expensive and got quite busy in the evening. To be fair the majority of guests at this time of year are quite elderly and tend to stay in the hotel in the evening rather than venturing into Los Cristianos so the bar will get busy. The animation team (Jordi and Ola) took time to include people from different countries using their language. Ola in particular knew people by first name and guests were joining in the daytime activities by choice rather than being cajoled.
A nice surprise occurred on my birthday as the hotel left a chilling bottle of Cava in our room. They obviously check birthdates from the scan they take of your passport. I called in to thank the duty manager in her office by the lifts and she was pleased to have added to the occasion and asked us about our stay.
Overall I was more than happy with my stay. Yes, it is an older design of hotel which has been brought up to date but it is clean and comfortable with hard working staff and offers a good product. I would hope that they include a decent free wifi in future as I would choose a free wifi enabled hotel over a payable wifi. As more people of all ages are buying tablet PC’s this may give the hotel an advantage over other hotels in the area when it comes to making a decision about where to stay. We waited until we were in Los Cristianos and were able to use the free wifi in bars. A dedicated smoking area would be nice to see rather than guests having to pass through the smokers congregated under the canopy leading to the main lobby.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view if you want sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aeroguy757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 3,465 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was our second stay and our last in this hotel. We stayed there in January 2014 and our comments areas follows: our bedroom was on the second floor at back of hotel at corner of hotel where it was blowing a gale and patio door did not close properly. The sliding door of the wardrobe would not slide. The room was very small. The TV was old and reception very poor. You had to pay to rent a hairdryer (in a hotel?)

The dining room is like a Butlin's holiday camp and the food was not good. They recycle the food. There is no finesse whatsoever with everyone walking around with trays and you had to wait ages for your toast that you actually had to toast yourself! I would suggest getting some new toasters.
On the plus side the entertainment was very good.

Room Tip: Pool facing Rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Mollie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 30th November 14th December at the Sol Dacil Princessa on an all inclusive basis.

We have good and bad points.

Arriving and checking in a Breeze! Even given a glass of champage as we were checking in.

The weather was a bit hit and miss - we even had a Hurricane ! - but

although we couldnt get out of the hotel for a few days we must give a BIG THANK YOU to the Entertainment staff - namely Ola, and Elo. They were very friendly, the best we have ever come across - they kept us entertained all the time - We know Elo left but hope that you keep Ola on She is a real bonus to your hotel. She certainly made our holiday.

We would also like to mention Jack in the Bar - who was also a very nice person.

Our room was 1102 on the 11th Floor . Fantastic view.

We told reception that our mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable - They gave us a brand new mattress within the hour - Thank you.

However, here are the negative points.

There are no hairdryers in the rooms !!!
There was no electric socket in the bedroom. There were 2 in the lounge area.

All Inclusive Option. A bit Hit and Miss

The snacks that were supposed to be available - i e hot dogs, pizzas, burgers , sandwiches. We saw no evidence of these. Only the odd cake or biscuits. You had to pay for everything else.

The pool closed down for maintenance work on the 12th Dec. We were told when we were leaving that the hotel had actually taken some guests to The Paradise Hotel to use their facilities. We were not told about this.

The food was good and hot on the first 2 days of our stay. Then it took a disaster course. Food not cooked properly. Meat half raw. Food almost cold. (Clearly new staff or cut backs !)

The same food was served lunchtime and evening- It seemed it was served until it was eaten or had to be thrown out or made into soup !.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday - shame about the food - which let it down.

Room Tip: We liked our room 1102 which had a great sea and mountain view. Although it did lack power points...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

this is our third holiday in this hotel will sure to come back

the staff are very kind and the hotel is situated in the correct place for my family and friends we are already looking at our next visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
4  Thank Pamela Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscoperez, Director General at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We are satisfied if we could fulfill your all expectations during your holiday. Thank you to consider our staff because they always try to do their best as the other departments as well to satisfy the customers' needs.

Thank you again for your comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the close future.

Kind regards,

Francisco Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Staff lovely good food could do with updating would go there again enjoyed entertainment people with me loved it there but please up date the hotel patio area and bar inside also new beds mattresses to hard

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscoperez, Director General at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Dee B,

Thank you for writing this review about our hotel.

We are glad to know that our staff and food could fulfill your expectations. Furthermore, we take note of all your comments.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Francisco Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

As regular users of Sol Melia hotels we were dismayed to be taken to our Superior room only to discover scruffy decor, rust coming through the bath enamel, a small plastic fridge placed on the floor with a broken handle and a balcony just large enough to get 2 cheap plastic chairs on ! Reception then offered us an alternative room which was just as bad , but with an old TV instead of a more modern one!
We cancelled our booking and went elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank brummie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscoperez, Director General at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Dear client,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for having taken some of your valuable time to let us know about your experience with us. Moreover, I also must tell you how disappointing are for us to know that we have not been able to fulfill your expectations and needs. Your satisfaction is our main priority. I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies if you got this bad impression of our hotel.

I do hope that this bad experience does not deter you from choosing our company in the future and you continue having trust in Melia Hotels International.

Yours sincerely,

Francisco Pérez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we go to the sol princesa dacil every xmas and stay for a month meet old friends every year,we love this hotel,all the staff work very hard,the animation team of gordie,maria and ola work very hard and the enterainment they put on is very good,we like the food selection we alway find enough to choose from,it suits us,the quality manager ainara always takes time to have a chat with us, also the manager mr perez makes us feel welcome,we will be going back again in may cant wait

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscoperez, Director General at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Jim and Barbara,

Thank you for your sharing your experience in our hotel through this website.

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy your Christmas holidays once again with us! We are very glad that you consider our staff because we always give our best to the guests.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Francisco Perez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
14.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,085 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Tenerife

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I, 25 | Playa de los Cristianos, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range: £36 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. TRYP Tenerife lies 200 m from the beach of Los Cristianos in Tenerife. It features a large outdoor pool with sun loungers and rooms with balconies, most with sea views. Children can enjoy activities such as climbing and the superjumper. Meanwhile parents can enjoy a session in the gym or simply sunbathing on the sun terrace. At the end of the day the family can come together to share a meal in the buffet restaurant before enjoying the nightly entertainment. There is also a pool bar and a sports bar. Tenerife South Airport is less than 20 minutes' drive from TRYP Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Melia, Expedia, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Princesa Dacil Hotel Los Cristianos
Sol Melia Arona
Sol Princesa Dacil Arona
TRYP Tenerife Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing