We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TRYP Tenerife
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just got back from a weeks stay and I have to say that we were slightly disappointed. The first let-down was the fact that there was NO AIR CONDITIONING or even fans in the rooms. The only means of getting any form of air circulation was to open the patio doors, but even then, if there was no breeze blowing, it became very hot and muggy in the room. Fans can be hired (at additional cost - obviously), but when you pay for all-inclusive, then the least you expect is air-con.
The second gripe was with the food and drink. On first arrival, we wondered how anyone could complain as there appeared to be plenty of choice/variety, but after a couple of days, it became apparent that there was very little variety from one day to the next, with the only change being the chef's meat choice and possibly one or two other items. By the end of the week we decided to go out to the nearby seafront restaurants for our evening meal. The drinks were not all included either. Yes, there were free soft drinks for the kids and free draught local beer, but you are only allowed two free cocktails from a selection of 6 on the list, and after that you have to pay. (We have stayed at other hotels where there were unlimited free drinks off the list).
We found the evening entertainment to be way too loud. Our rooms were on the "quiet" side of the hotel, i.e. on the opposite side to the pool, but even so, after arriving at the hotel following a long day's travelling, all we wanted to do was sleep, but due to having to keep the patio door open (see above), we felt as though we were in the middle of the stage as the music was that loud !!. God knows how the people staying on the pool side coped, especially those with young children.
To balance it up though, the rooms were kept spotless by the maids on a daily basis, the pool area was okay (provided you had reserved your sunbeds by 8am), and we found the hotel staff to be very polite and helpful.
Overall ..3/5.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the car park side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
4 Thank WildcatPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    1,076
    686
    275
    222
See reviews for
803
1,381
182
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for 10 nights with our teenage daughter, The hotel is very clean, towels changed everyday, beds changed once. The food is mostly lukewarm, we ate mainly salads and any food with a bit of steam coming from it! The staff are friendly but not in your face. Wifi can only be used in reception which is a pain as at night our daughter had to keep leaving us to connect. We paid for 10 dayus wifi which was a lot cheaper than paying daily. We also upgraded to all inclusive when we got there, which is worth it, if not only for the drinks! It is a pain queing for drinks, but you get used to it. The entertainment begins at 10.30 in the morning by the pool and continues at intervals throuhout the day.Great water polo every day! Evening entertainment was ok too. Nearby to the right of the hotel are shops, bars ,seafront and other places close by. We enjoyed our stay, feel refreshed and satisfied we got our moneys worth!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just arrived back from the hotel after staying for a week. Was very disappointed with the food selection and the way the food was cooked, e.g ''Saw chef re-cooking fried eggs, also most of the food was cold and left lying around, but if you like rabbit stew or really dry chicken then you are in for a treat. The hotel only has one bar for all the guests which means queuing for a drink and not being able to sit anywhere, due to lack of seats, a lot of people sitting on sunbeds in the evening because there was no where else to sit. Cannot fault the cleaners though, the room was spotless and most of the staff are very friendly. Also when we arrived back in the UK we have all suffered bouts of diorrea, so please think about going to this Hotel very carefully if you have small children.

Room Tip: Does not matter if you choose front or back of hotel as they are both very noisy in the day and nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

14 of us went for 7 nights in July. Hotel was ok . Customer service very slow the reception is big enough to put a few more desks in it. Didn't like the way the hotel was was ran , it was a cashless hotel we had to open a tab. Food wasn't nice after the second day we went down the strip for food for the rest of the week. Also not enough loungers by the pool and people taking up beds with there towels and not even been there to use the beds. I also got my daughters picture taken with an owl from a reptile show and paid €10 , they walk around the pool area and take pictures with the animals,and I never received the picture and I've emailed them twice since ive been home and got no reply from them!!!
The one good thing about the hotel is the entertainment for the kids during the day at the pool was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orlamarie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 17 nights and booked my holiday quite early so was very excited to get to Tenerife from new Zealand in one go so was very tired and when I got to the hotel needed a faultless check in and got it and I zoomed up to the 11 floor facing the pool.wow what a view .I was on an allinclusve plan and man the food was amazing all meals have endless selection and resturaunt and crew are faultless and can't do enough for you .I spent a lot of time at pool and there is lots of time giving to children here .this hotel gets my personnel recommendation .well done team .yours in vacations.Robin Cummins .nz

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscoperez, Director General at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Robin C,

Greetings from Sol Princesa Dacil! First of all, I thank you very much for having taken some of your valuable time to share your experience in our hotel with other possible travelers. I am very pleased to know that we have fulfilled your needs mostly and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Also that you consider our hotel as Best hotel on Earth!!

I hope you are able to come back in the near future and have the opportunity to offer you my best personal attention.

Yours sincerely,

Francisco Pérez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALTON, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at Princesa Dacil over 25 years ago and re-visited in July this year. Was pleased to see that it was not at all run-down or shabby! The Flintstones theme is fantastic with larger than life character costumes (beautifully kept) of Dino & Fred who came out to the pool every day to greet the guests at 10.30pm to the intro of YABBADABBADOO . Fantastic Entertainment was provided throughout the day and night by Jordie and his team, Maria, Kevin, Anna, Roberto for children and adults. First hotel I have been to where the bingo is FREE! We were not on a "see the sights" holiday, just wanted to laze around the pool. We met lots of lovely people by joining in all the activities, darts, ping pong, tennis, water polo, football, shuffleboard (loved the game so much my son has made me one for my parties at home). All Inclusive is really all inclusive and the food and drink is non-stop. Pool could be bigger but all the sunbeds and sunshades were in good repair - no tatty ones in sight. Would recommend upgrading to a Superior Room if you need air conditioning. I was in Room 1323 with a pool & seaview. Everything worked and everywhere was clean. Stair edges a little worn but am sure these will be dealt with as a matter of course. Lifts very busy but there are enough, just need to be a bit patient. Selection of drinks very good, with self service soft drinks so no queuing there. Perhaps the Sangria should be self service too, as this is very popular with the ladies and would shorten the Spirits & coffee queue. The coffee is wonderful with or without the whipped cream. If I had to be critical it would be 1) the reception area needs more than 3 stations and needs re-designing - it is difficult to form an orderly queue 2) an extra station for issuing ping pong/tennis racquets etc. 3) An extra person on the bar in the evening 4) Better Wi-Fi service - only available in reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank Penelope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

It was the second time we stayed with Melia hotel. It is always great and 3 star hotels seem to be 4. This hotel is surrounded mostly by homes of native people than hotels. People say that Las Americas is a party place but when we were 'getting to know' the area it turned out that Los Christianos coast line is more fun than Las Americas. You can find restaurants, bars, Irish pubs, cafes with live music and flamenco dancers.
Room service is good, but the floor was always dirty. We stayed at superior room and the view was overwhelming, you could see volcano, ocean, the whole Los Christianos IF you have a not pool view room. We have a hairdryer, mini bar, air condition however stand art rooms didn't and it was hard for them to stay in a hot room.
Food is nice, big choice but breakfastwas always the same. Good choice of food and drinks at pool bar, almist all free for all inclusive. The pool and the number of sunbeds were very small. I had to get up at 8 a.m. to 'reserve' two sunbeds because at half past nine they all taken.
Entertainment is just amazing. Every evening various programs, guests. Special thanks to Maria, Jordi, Kevin and Alberto. They are very professional. We didn't see a lot of Anna and Etienne so I can't say something about then.
I would return there and would recommend you to stay if you are looking for a well entertained hotel, location for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gracelandq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscoperez, Director General at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Gracelandq,

First of all, I thank you very much for having taken some of your valuable time to share your experience in Sol Princesa Dacil hotel with other possible travelers. I am very pleased to know that we have fulfilled your needs mostly and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Furthermore, I must let you know that we do take in consideration your review and we are analyzing all the points you mention on it. Consequently, we will take the pertinent corrective measures in order to improve our Quality Service. I do appreciate your opinion.

Finally, I hope you are able to come back in the near future and have the opportunity to offer you my best personal attention.

Kind regards,

Francisco Pérez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
14.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
40.5 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#26 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Tenerife

Property: TRYP Tenerife
Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I, 25 | Playa de los Cristianos, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. TRYP Tenerife lies 200 m from the beach of Los Cristianos in Tenerife. It features a large outdoor pool with sun loungers and rooms with balconies, most with sea views. Children can enjoy activities such as climbing and the superjumper. Meanwhile parents can enjoy a game of tennis, a session in the gym or simply sunbathing on the sun terrace. At the end of the day the family can come together to share a meal in the buffet restaurant before enjoying the nightly entertainment. There is also a pool bar and a sports bar. Tenerife South Airport is less than 20 minutes' drive from TRYP Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Melia and Priceline so you can book your TRYP Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Princesa Dacil Hotel Los Cristianos
Sol Melia Arona
Sol Princesa Dacil Arona
TRYP Tenerife Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing