We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great choice”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

just come back from a week at the arona gran ,staff very helpful, hotel spotless, rooms spotless, swimming pools very clean,food was exellent no complaints

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fenywfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,888
    1,030
    346
    106
    64
See reviews for
489
2,455
62
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week and returned home on 24 April. One of the reviews has mentioned being full of older people 70-80. We were 60 and there were a lot our age and younger. They were all very refined and relaxed and very active. I would go again at this time - I have not been on such a relaxing holiday for a long time. It was nice not to have lots and lots of children running round. There were children there but they were very well behaved. This hotel is something else. It is spotless, spectacular when you walk in, the whole place is full of settess and suites - there is always somewhere to relax. You do get the early morning people putting the towels out, there are notices saying this is not allowed and after 1/2 an hour a notice is put on your bed. The food was lovely and the waiters and waitresses work hard and are always obliging - if you ask them nicely and treat them with respect. There was no shortage of champagne and the entertainment was really good. The pianist in the bar area had a full audience each night - he was a bit of a comedian. I don't think anyone can be disappointed with this hotel and yes we are going back next year at the same time. No negatives from us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea and pool view - it really does not matter what floor you are on. They all ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anntimlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellshill
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

from the private pick up at the airport, to being dropped off on return, 1st class service all the way, staff were very friendly, rooms immaculate and well appointed. Food choices were superb, far too much to choose from, all fresh and warm. Pools heated and spotless. Hope to be back for christmas. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: sea/pool view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our second visit and wish we were still there! What can I say? Everything you ask for gets attended to. The food usually is good but you do get the odd evening where it could be better. The staff are very pleasent and the rooms kept clean. The position of the hotel gives you a great view and it's not far from the airport.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 6blondie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Have just spent 10 days at this hotel and would definitely go again. Very impressive lobby area, rooms a decent size, most comfortable beds i have very had in a hotel. Amenities are excellent, activities during the day and live entertainment ( not always to our taste) every evening. Restaurant can be a bit daunting the first time you go down, as it's self service for all meals, and seems a bit chaotic, but if you go at a less popular time, its fine. All in all, with the amenities of Los Cristianos close by, a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: If you're worried by heights, ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor, open internal walkways fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

First off, you need to be aware that 90% of the guests at this hotel are pensioners, so the atmosphere is rather relaxed and quiet. This actually ended up being a plus.

It is a 10 minutes taxi ride from the hotel / about 25 Euros.

The hotel itself is located on the far corner of Los Cristianios, furthest from playa las americas. The area is generally quiet and it only takes a short 5 to 10 minute walk alon the promenade until you are in the middle of los Cristianion bay.
There is a supermarket across the street which ended up being very convenient to stock up on water and such (the hotel posts signs that guests are prohibited from bringing products from the supermarket inito the hotel and the fridge also has a sign saying products from outside the hotel cannot be placed in it...).

The promenade begins in front of the hotel and can be walked northwards for many kilometers and is a really good walk, covered in shops, restaurants, hotels, bars, and beaches.

The hotel is huge and covered in plants. The rooms and bathroom were a good size and the terrace was great. I would recommend paying extra for a balcony facing the pool area as this will give the best overall view of the bay (great views of the ferries).
Didn’t try the restaurant, other than the breakfast buffet in the morning; the buffet was huge, and there was plenty to choose from.

There really isn’t any beach in front of the hotel, but it is a short walk along the promenade to find one. Didn’t really use the pool area, but it looked well kept and the two pools were heated. There was a nice area to have lunch / get some cocktails.
There is no Wifi in the rooms – only in the lobby – perhaps to bring people down to the lobby to make the place seem active. There is plenty of sitting space via couches in the lobby area, and the signal seemed good.
The staff was very accomodating and I experienced very good service and help when needed.

There are a row of taxis further down the street to the left of the hotel which was convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrambler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

April 27 2012 - just returned from stay at Arona Gran, Have stayed at other Spring hotels numerous times over the years:

The headlines:

Location: commanding position overlooking harbour at Los Cristianos, located in a very quiet area 10 mins walk from the harbour along promenade. 15 mins from airport (25 euro). Sits between market site on one side and campsite on the other.

Hotel/Amenities: large hotel kept in very good condition. Room serviceable and clean - but very tired-have flat screen tv with UK channels but hotel generally trapped in the 70s - rooms and public areas need refreshing.

Typical guest: probably suits older generation- average age would be 70/80 and will have stayed at the hotel more than 10 times and will never stay anywhere else regardless.

Pool: very nice pool area- but need to be up early for a bed in the sun.

Service: I found it generally poor-there seems a definite lack of staff.

Restaurant: we were on half board - food is just ok with some highlights but not of the standard I found at other Spring hotels in the past. Plenty of choice. Dining room a bit crammed and disorganised - a bit of a feeding frenzy and service here is particularly absent. You do not get shown to a table- just left to your own devices.

Overall: probably living on its past reputation a bit and relying on repeat custom. Overall this is a good hotel and represents reasonable value.........but standards aren't what they were.

Room Tip: Pay for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerlinso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
2,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,954 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing