We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas and New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely hotel and wonderful food. Asked for a high room by email since we could see from the brochure that the trees around the pool are high and got room 453 which was OK. We had upgraded through Thomson, not for any particular reason but it always seems like a good idea. This time it really was since if you don't upgrade you get a pool view/sea view balcony that never sees the sun. Because the days are short in December and the sun is low only half of the pool area and sunbeds see the sun. The world of social media makes it no longer acceptable to charge for wifi in hotel rooms. This is a top class hotel and only providing it free in a public room (reception) does not provide privacy. There is a charge for a safe. Outside there is a really good supermarket and a farmacy and quite a few bars. The main thing that keeps people coming back year after year is the food, it is quite spectacular at times.

Room Tip: 4th floor or above and room number above 450, maybe go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanmiguel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Client,Thank you very much for using Tripadviser.We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.Kind regards,Aida De Quick,PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 3,677 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday to Spring Arona Gran and we could not fault it. We had a great time there. Before we went, I read some of the previous reviews on here and some were not great which made me panic. However, after visiting and staying here, I can say that in my opinion those views could not be further from the truth. The hotel itself was amazing. The lobby area was lovely and sofas were very comfy while you are connected to the wifi. The grand chandelier is a lovely extra. The waterfall is amazing and very relaxing when walking around in the evening.

The food was great and a big choice to choose from. The desserts were the best for us and we throughly enjoyed everything that was served. There is definitely something for everyone here.

The room was lovely and spacious for just two and the view from the balcony was amazing. We could not have asked for a better view. The room was cleaned daily with towels changed and beds made. The maids were very polite and always greeted us with a 'hola' or 'buenos dias'.

The staff in general were very polite and we had no problem with anyone being rude towards us. It was lovely to be greeted with champagne on arrival from one of the members of staff.

The pool area was great and the pools were lovely. The extra activities by the pool were enjoyable espicially the aquagym and the waterbike sessions.

We throughly enjoyed staying at the Arona Gran Hotel and we will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Client,Thank you very much for using tripadviser.We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Spring Arona Gran Hotel, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.Aida De Quick,PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was very nervous about staying here after reading some of the reviews but I needn't have worried. We had an amazing view of the sea despite being on the first floor ! The rooms were cleaned daily and the maid was really polite, she always said hola when she saw us.
The reception staff were really helpful and polite, same goes for the restaurant and bar staff too.

As for people complaining about the drinks prices, I thought they were reasonable - only a little more expensive than outside of the hotel. The cocktail prices were not much more - maybe 1 or 2 euros but you definitely got a large drink for your money. The Arona Gran Hotel cocktail is worth a try - but it might take two to finish it!!

My only real complaint was the food. We were full board as it was only a very tiny amount each more. There was a fair amount of choice, some of the dishes included paella, spinach canneloni, lasagne, pizza, chips, various fish dishes, beef, spaghetti bolognese, pork, fruit, cheese/meats, there were langoustines on one day too.

However I became very sick after a couple of days of eating at the hotel and had to avoid fruit, cheese etc. to prevent any further stomach upsets and as I don't eat a lot of meat there was very little choice of dishes for me to eat which was a real shame. If you have a sensitive stomach like myself you might want to consider your food choices wisely, and don't forget to stick to bottled drinks/no ice. I would've liked to see more plain dishes such as plain rice or pasta, most had additional items like seafood in them. Additionally I did find it a little odd that men had to wear trousers but some women were coming into dinner in their swimwear etc. I am a young lady myself and found it slightly disrespectful.

The highlight of our stay was definitely the canarian night, there was a vast amount of dishes on offer including a local drinks menu and it was fab to see all the staff in outfits :) They take a photograph of you and your family as you go in and the photographs are available to purchase the next day.

I have to address people's earlier comments that it's a hotel for old people - I certainly didn't gte this impression at all and there were lots of families / younger couples there. Perhaps it is more adult oriented out of season because the kids are at school? Having said that I don't think it's a suitable hotel for small children, it's definitely aimed at teenagers and above.

Entertainment seemed ok, it was nice being able to chill in the pool area outside on an evening. I definitely preferred to pay a little more for drinks and relax in a quiet environment as some of the bars in Los Cris are quite noisy and busy. Arona Gran definitely has a more relaxed environment and for us it was worth paying extra for.

I also liked that it was a cashless hotel,, it meant that we didn't have to worry about not having cash on us to pay for things. We just kept all our receipts to keep on top of it but reception are happy to print off a statement for you if you ask.

Generally the hotel is in an OK area, the harbour is not far away. However it can get tiring walking to and from the main part of Los Cris and like other people I felt the area could do with a bit of investment. Enjoyed watching the volleyball on las vistas beach! Unsure if there was a tournament or something going on, but it was great. Really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to people, but probably would not return unless Los Cris received investment and had more to offer people, we tended to have to travel out of Los Cris to find something to do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AMR547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Client, Thank you for using Tripadviser.We are happy to hear that you like most of the Spring Arona Gran Hotel facilities ,but that with some services you where not as satisfied but we will have a look in that matter.Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again,Kind regards,Aida De Quick,PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

After reading the review below I couldn't disagree more !! Hands down one of the most amazing holidays. I have jus returned from a week at Arona staying with my family of four. Hotel spotlessly clean, staff so welcoming and lovely and amazing food, includes something for everyone. Would defiantly return in the future !!

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Georgie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,Muchas gracias por poner su opinion en Tripadviser.estamos muy contentos de saber que pasaron una buena estancia en neustro Spring Arona Gran Hotel.Esperamos de poder recibirles en un futuro otravez en neustro Hotel.Aida De Quick,RP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room we had was very dated, dark wood panels that had seen better days, but the hotel cleanliness could not be faulted and I understand that the they are working there way through the rooms updating them. The restaurant is the normal buffet type setup, but we generally found the food to amongst the best we have had in this type of restaurant, we were particularly impressed with breakfast where British style sausages and bacon were available. The hotel is close to the harbor with great views and there are loads of bars shops and restaurants close by. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. here doesn't appear to be any kids clubs or anything like that, the hotel seems to cater more for couples and older guests.I would certainly consider a return visit especially as the airport transfer is so short. T

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Michael, thank you for using Tripadvsior for sharing your holiday experiences with other people. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and we are looking forward to wecloming you soon again. Sunny regards from Tenerife, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a great hotel, you will not be dissapointed.
The food was amaing and the staff were helpfull and friendly the internet was good and useable all over the hotel even at the pool which was great, but at an extra charge.
Make sure you get a room with a pool view, these are by far the best we had one with a sea view which is to the side of the hotel looking over a scruffy graffiti covered area. At the pool they run a no reservation on sunbed policy which is in principal a great idea exept on one occasion we returned to our sunbeds after a 30min meal in the resuarant to find the pool attendant had remove all our belongings into a palstice bag and given our 3 beds to a Spanish couple (was not amused) saying that we had been gone too long.
Our only problem was, we were sold the holiday by Thompson as a hotel with a golden sandy beach within sixty meteres!!! It was twenty minutes walk away :( but that was a travel agent error and not the hotels fault.
The Thompson reps at the hotel were worse than useless.
Did the worst meet and greet when we arrived that I have ever heard. They had no system in place to deal with any problems we had with the hotel and told us if we wanted to move to a hotel with the sandy beach we had been promised we would have to pay extra.

Room Tip: Pool View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Client,Thank you very much for using Tripadviser.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our spring Arona Gran Hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming yoo soon again.Kind Regards,Aida De Quick PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A really wonderful hotel. The glass of champagne on arrival is a really nice touch, and there were occasionally free drinks such as champagne at breakfast or a (albeit small) glass of Sangria as well.

If you can afford it, I would definitely recommend the sea view (you can REALLY see the sea, it can't be more than a 100 or so yards from your room to to the sea). Also, best to go for a top floor for the best view.

The reception staff were incredibly helpful, Juanito (I think that was his name, the youngish man with black hair) especially. Esta in the restaurant was really lovely to us and we always sat were she was. Not to take anything away from the rest of the great staff, these were just the ones that we experienced.

The hotel itself has one of the highest standards of cleanliness I've ever seen. The floors seemed to be cleaned and polished daily, the bins are always empty, etc, etc. The floors and features in the lobby are beautiful and could easily pass for a 5-star hotel. Some of the tiles are cracked and some of the lobby furniture looks a bit tired, but it's barely noticeable.

The pool lifeguards were amazing, they were so enthusiastic and there were always multiple activities on every day (you can't miss them, the lifeguards do go around and let everyone know). The pool towels can be exchanged daily for fresh ones (as are the room towels). Thankfully, the hotel has the guts to enforce a no sunbed reserving policy and there are usually beds available. On a side note, the hotel's facilities seem more than large enough even when it's completely full (e.g. the restaurant can accommodate 850 people, for context there are 391 rooms)

The rooms are pretty good, (N.B. that if the beds are too hard for you, let reception know and they can send up a mattress topper) and spacious enough for 3 easily. The shower is good (very powerful), and a significant number of amenities are provided (e.g. comb, sewing kit, bath gel and shampoo, shower cap, etc.). My only complaint is that they are beginning to look a little dated (the radio especially), but they've still got a good 5-10 years left in them.

We were full board, and the food was very good, with no repetition that I can think of during our week's stay (I strongly recommend trying Mojo Verde sauce), there's usually a huge range of stuff for breakfast (they'll even make you an personalized omelette if you like) and dinner (with different freshly cooked meats every day), with a slightly reduced menu for lunch (but still plenty to choose from).

My only complaint would be that men have to wear long trousers, but women are allowed to wear some very revealing outfits, I have no problem with formal dress requirements, but they should be applied equally to men and women.

I can't speak to for the entertainment, since we never went. But there is a very close beach and somewhere to watch the waves.

We booked with Thomson, and we bought tickets for the Teide half day trip, Siam Park and Loro Park, as well as the Freebird Gold Catamaran. I really can't recommend these trips enough, suffice to say that Loro Park was very rushed with the premium ticket.

This really was the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, I've been to far worse 5-star hotels. There's a reason this is a platinum hotel, and it doesn't disappoint. A clear 10/10

P.S. There is a cheap super market across the road where you can buy most things (i.e. bottles of drinks, water, etc.) and the hotel has a shopping gallery with British (and other nation's) daily newspapers.

Room Tip: High floor and sea view are best for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ghd765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear client, we thank you for your "holiday guide" regarding your recent stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. You mentioned everything and we are very happy to hear that you have been satisfied with all facilities and services. The hotel rooms will be refurbished in 2015, have a look on our website for updated information. Thank you too for using Tripadvisor and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future. Sunny greetings from Los Cristinaos, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#11 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,042 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 13 in Los Cristianos
439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range: £106 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing