We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartamentos Aguamar
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The only redeeming feature of this hotel it the staff they are always pleasant and ready to help! The hotel itself is terrible. It is old and tired no air-conditioning! The rooms are cramped and boiling hot! We only had breakfast included luckily. For the English breakfast it was streaky bacon which was like fried fat no meat the eggs looked like they had been thrown on the floor and were raw and slimy on top, the coffee tasted like the machine never got cleaned. I would never stop in this hotel again I can't advise against it enough

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Kimmy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentosaguamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Apartamentos Aguamar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Kimmy9999,

Thank you for taking time to write your honest opinion about Aguamar Apartments. We are very sorry to hear that you was not satisfied with us and want to apologize for the things you did not like. You have to know that we really appreciate your critic, which helps us to improve these things. But we are happy that you was content with our staff. They work everyday very hard for our guests. We hope to get another chance to welcome you again and to show you our improvements.

Best regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here with my friend for a week in August. All the staff were helpful and pleasant at all times. The apartment was clean and comfortable with everything you would need. Air conditioning would have been a bonus in August as it was extremely warm but we managed without. The pool is smallish but there was enough room for plenty of sun beds. Most of the sun beds were taken by 9am though as people reserved them. The hotel is very much a family hotel and was quiet by 11pm. Food from the bar was tasty and reasonably priced. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentosaguamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Apartamentos Aguamar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Lizdent,

Thank you very much for your nice comment such a great feedback. We are more than happy to hear that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay at Aguamar Apartments. Thank you for your nice compliments regarding the staff and our rooms. We really appreciate to have guests like you and hope to be able to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived in the early evening for a 15 night stay, and was allocated a room on the 1st floor. Check in was relatively smooth, receptionist was helpful. The room is very basic with minimal facilities but it was clean, the only good thing about the hotel is that the maid staff do a very good job, but the whole complex could really do with an update. There is no safe in the room, you can hire a key to a deposit box which is in a room near reception for about 2.50 euro per day with a 20 euro deposit (not cheap). In the room is a welcome pack with a big list of terms and conditions to which none appeared to be enforced.

The bedroom was very small, what was rather amusing is that you can't close the bedroom door without moving the bed out of the way and that the lock was not in the bedroom side but in the hallway, very odd! A major downside of the bedroom is that backs onto a main road, we were kept awake each night by traffic and by people stumbling very loudly out of the local bars. The beds are very hard and uncomfortable, though you can ask for a softer mattress topper. There is no air con in the room which made for very uncomfortable nights sleep, you can rent a fan for 17 euros per week but I don't think that would have made much difference. No hairdryer in the room so make sure to bring your own.

We used the self service laundry once during our stay - 9 euro to wash and dry clothes - very expensive!

Wifi is very expensive and poor, 30 euro for 14 nights on 1 device for a very slow connection and intermittent service.

What really lets the place down is the clientele, Brit chav abroad comes to mind. The place is noisy from morning to late at night. Kids running wild around the pool at night, screaming their heads off, on several nights kids were still in the pool at 10 in the evening. The daily 9am (fight) for the sunbeds was a joke to see despite the hotel having a no sunbed reservation policy. The pool area is very cramped noisy and anything but relaxing, why anyone would want to spend all day there is beyond me. The pool itself is small and too deep for young children, but there is a small splash pool they can use.

There is minimal entertainment apart from a parrot show on Thursday evenings, which my youngest son enjoyed. The pool bar is expensive but that is to be expected, the local bars are cheaper and generally nicer. Los Cristianos beach is a 10 - 15 min walk from the hotel.

We won't be returning to this hotel

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boothebirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentosaguamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Apartamentos Aguamar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear boothebirdy,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that your expectations during your stay at Aguamar Apartments have not been met. We dearly want to apologize for all the circumstances. We want to offer our guests wonderful surroundings for their holidays and continously want to improve. We take your incentives very serious and hope to welcome you back one day and show you our improvements.

Best regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Myself, my husband and 2 boys aged 9 and 14 stayed at the Aguamar 29th July - 12th August 2014. We had a fantastic time! We arrived at the hotel at about 2am and were checked in very quickly. (Which is what you need that time in the morning.) We were given room 315 which was on the 3rd floor facing the pool. Yes the rooms are a little dated but I have never stayed in such a clean apartment. The rooms were cleaned, beds made and towels changed 5 times a week. We were in a 1 bed apartment, our children shared the bedroom and my husband and I had the sofabed, I didn't find it uncomfortable at all. Yes air con would be nice at night but you can hire a fan, we didn't bother. We found the 9am sunbed dash quite comical to watch from our balcony. We only joined in twice, we went down at 8.50 and got 4 beds both times so if you want them you can get them. We preferred to use pool area in the afternoon and always found available sunbeds. Our front door overlooked the so called noisy bars but we didn't hear any noise from them throughout our stay, only traffic noise. I cannot comment on hotel food as we didn't eat there. We did use bar and yes drinks were a little expensive, 3 euro a pint. Did notice lots of other guests leave hotel and get drinks from supermarket, the hotel is so relaxed it didn't seem to mind. Pool bar do ice cream milk shakes with cream for 2.10 euros which my boys loved!! Pool area very clean, although small pool too shallow for my 9yr old and big pool a little too deep. This didn't seem to bother them as they loved the pool. Table tennis 3.60 euros for an hour. Didn't use mini golf or play area. (Great mini golf course at Park Santiago 5, playa de las Americas.) Aguamar is in a great location for lots of bars and restaurants, and beach/harbour is only a 15 min walk away. I would recommend Margaritas for a great night out, (bbq food and live entertainment) Locanda Italian, Angus steak house (just behind hotel), and The New Yorker for a special meal. We didn't book trips through hotel we used a friendly English lady (Jesus excursions) near the beach. Siam Park very good but very busy, my children preferred the smaller waterpark Aqualand, less queuing and a dolphin show! Super Dino supermarket behind hotel very cheap. Taxi to/from hotel 25 euro each way. Overall we all had a fab holiday in Los Cristianos and will definitely return soon! Adios. x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rachel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentosaguamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Apartamentos Aguamar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Rachel1975,

Thank you very much for writing your comment about Aguamar Apartments. We are happy to hear that you had a nice holiday in our Aguamar Apartments and we appreciate your words about the cleaning service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future!

Best regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

On booking our family holiday I checked previous trip advisor reviews, overall the Aguamar sounded a perfect holiday for our family, unfortunately it was not what we expected.

On arrival at 8.30pm there was a error with our booking, we had booked two rooms but their booking system showed just one room reservation. Consequently, after being advised from a not so helpful gentleman, we were temporarily given room 101, please anyone who is given room 101 please do not accept it, we think the room originally was a store cupboard, the room was over looked by a public path which prevented you from having the curtains open, on the small balcony it was surrounded by rolled barbed wire to prevent I presume attempted thefts. The room is not acceptable for a family with children. Thankfully on the following day a very helpful young lady at reception found another room for us.

The rooms are dated, quite small but very clean the maids work very hard daily keeping the apartments and pool area clean.
Cooking untensils good you are provided with a kettle
Beds are very hard but you can request a softer mattress.
No AC very hot at night we could not have the windows open very noisy from bars & karaoke opposite the apartments. You could hire a fan for (17euros per week)

No area for entertainment, families were sitting at the bar in the pool area at night resulting in children playing football and noise until the early hours.

Sunbeds what a nightmare if you were not down at the pool area by 8.15am you would not have a sunbed, even though apartment policy advises do not reserve sunbeds. On a couple of occasions the lifeguard removed towels that were being reserved. Pool area is nice very cramped with sunbeds, quite small pool busy at times.

No need to book late check out shower room provided is good.

It cost us 50 euros for 10 days for wifi on 2 devices which is very expensive.

You also need to pay for a safe deposit box if you require one.

We booked the apartments thinking it was a 4 star, in fact the official rating is 3, realistically a good 2 star.



I

Room Tip: Corner rooms are small and over looked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just returned from a week at The Aguamar where we had an amazing holiday . The apartment style rooms are perfect as a base as they have a small kitchen with kettle and microwave We were half board and the food was very good with lots of variety . The swimming pool is great and there is also a rooftop terrace . Great to sunbathe. The staff were very nice It was my daughters 21st birthday and they left us a bottle of sparkling wine in an ice bucket with glasses . The hotel is not far from the beach and overall a nice place to stay

Room Tip: Our room was at the back which was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Real rating in this country would be a good 2 star. Desperately hot at night without AC, and pool area unsupervised at night giving kids a free reign to make lots of noise!

Very clean however, and staff certainly polite and friendly - building is a bit of a throwback to 1970s, will do ok if you want a cheap base to stay near Los Cristianos.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentosaguamar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Apartamentos Aguamar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Dale M,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your opinion about Agumar Apartments. It is nice to hear that you had a good time with us and that you was content with our clean service and our staff. We will take note of your critics and hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#11 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suites at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Aguamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Aguamar

Address: Calle Albani, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range: £73 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Aguamar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Aguamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Aguamar Hotel Los Cristianos
Aguamar Tenerife
Apartamentos Aguamar Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing