We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ona Los Claveles(Los Cristianos)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

LABRANDA Reveron Plaza(Los Cristianos)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ska Olivina Apartments(Los Cristianos)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Arona Tenerife(Los Cristianos)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Aguamar(Los Cristianos)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 55% below average rates

The price you found is 55% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Apartamentos Oasis Mango(Los Cristianos)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Spring Arona Gran Hotel(Los Cristianos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
390
426
162
69
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
426
162
69
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubthomson staffsiam parkself cateringgreat holidaymin walkfamily resortquieter poolhotel supermarketevening entertainmentbaby poolmain poolroof terraceplay parkentertainment teamkitchen areashop on site
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We (my wife, 17 month son & I) stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of Sept - we paid peanuts for the 2 weeks due to the end of holiday season.
The apartments are huge and comfortable. The Villa Mandi Golf Hotel is situated at the far end of Los Christianos and (obviously) borders the huge golf course, adjacent to the 5 star Las Madrigeuras Golf hotel.
It is a good 15 min walk into either Los Christianos/Playa de Las Americas - the front of the hotel overlooks a large area laid to rubble (possibly due to failed building projects) however if you head right out of the hotel along the well lit paths, passing the Compostella Golf & the Marylanza Hotel you will end up (via a small lido and kiddies play park) at the large Oasis shopping centre - it's all about knowing where you are on the map - don't just follow your nose out of the hotel down past the rubble towards the often
mentioned bridge/walkway.
The hotel staff were excellent and the children's entertainment was good for under 10's.
We can't comment on the hotel food but as expected it was dearer than in the resort centres.
There are 2 large, cheap supermarkets less than 10 mins walk - the Simon is the nearest, opposite and across the road from this supermarket is the hyperdino.
As with all tripadvisor reviews - people only post if really good or really bad, this review is neither - make sure you do your research, don't be afraid to venture out and explore as you may find lovely short cuts, bars and restaurants like we did.
This hotel is slightly too far out for us to return but we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CheekyRedImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The reality of this complex is that it is in the middle of nowhere really. It is just a 20 minute walk to literally anywhere but like the previous review says the walk is along a building site full of rubble. Not a pleasant walk at all.

We went self catering as our view was the villa mandi was far too expensive for food. Especially when the food isnt that great. Other couples commented that the food was expensive and rubbish too. However, we booked a couple of excursions and, because of timings of them, it would have been convenient to have a snack before heading out. Our reps advised us that snacks would be available from the pool bar all day. This was not the case having asked for snack menus 3 times unsuccessfully in one week! Apparently the hotel had told staff to go home and as such they could not offer food services outside of the buffet hours. Had I paid for all inclusive I would have been fuming. The nearest restaurant (not counting the cheap cafés which are a 20 minute rubble filled walk away) are in los christianos by taxi. I would highly recommend this as los christianos is fabulous. You can find some really lovely tapas bars there. A beer in villa mandi is 3 euros and in los christianos just 1 euro a pint!! No brainer really. lol

The other extremely irritating issue with villa mandi is it's 4 star rating. We expect certain things as standard in a 4* hotel. We certainly did not expect to have to pay extra for...wifi (which was slow and not available in our apartment either), television, and to use the apartment safe!! Is it really too much to ask for use of the safe. That doesnt even cost them anything. Don't forget this is claiming to be a 4* hotel. This is basic stuff villa mandi!

The reception staff during the day were fantastic and helpful. Unfortunately on our arrival the non english speaking security guard was our only welcome and we struggled to get any food at all that night after a long flight. Could do with bit more guidance on arrival.

We expected our rooms to be cleaned more thoroughly than they were. If u don't place every single towel and sheet in the tiny laundry basket they arent changed for you. We would also have expected them to wash the few dishes we had used (2 cups n saucers) as they provided no washing up liquid etc.

However, if you go to villa mandi expecting a nice apartment and nothing else then it will not let you down. We loved our two story accommodation for just the two of us as well as the balconies and hot tub style bath in the 2nd bathroom. V romantic :)

We loved our holiday despite a few frustrating moments with the strange hotel policies. Thomson need to sort them out and stand up to them as it is really putting them both in a bad light.

We would recommend whale watching, loro parque and visiting the forgotten masca village with wine tasting. We had so much fun. I would recommend booking excursions independently in advance of your holiday. There is lots to do in tenerife if you research it beforehand in particular.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We are a family of 3, mum dad and daughter of 14 . We travelled 25th August for 1 week our fisrt time in Tenerife.
About the apartments we stayed in room 113 which was on the ground floor and right next to the pool and play ground. The room had a musty smell which we noticed as soon as we walked in, the apartments are spacious but could do with decorating and a good mop (if you walk bare foot your feet get all bits on and are black. Spacious patio area with table and 4 chairs and lots of ants. I dont think the kitchen area has enough cooking equipment for 4 people ( we made toast one day and with a 2 slot toaster and only one side working we decided to give up)
Tv was in the master bedroom and you pay to watch the channels which we never bothered. The save was 13 euros for the week. On the second night are air con started leaking water out all over the tiled floor we reported it straight away but took 4 days to resolve the problem. So with a dirty floor and our own paddling pool it was great!!!!!!
Aparments were cleaned 6 days a week apart from Saturday with fresh towels everyday.
There was 2 pools and a toddler pool for the size of the complex we didnt think the pools were big enough. Both bigger pools were always busy so you couldnt just have 5 mins relax with out being bombared with one thing and another. Towels can only be put on beds at 9am and if you put the towels on and beds are not used for an hour the towels will be removed. We never had a problem at getting a bed ant time of the day. We did the crazy golf which in my opion should be removed very poor and it was 5 euros each with a depoist of 15 euros for the clubs.
Outside Villa mandi the walk takes about 20 mins to bars, resturants, shops etc. Not a pleasant or scenic walk more like a rubble site and lots of graffeti so after 3 to 4 days the walk was boring . Taxie is between 3.50 and 5 euros but we did experiance a couple of drivers trying to tell us its 7 euros but we told them no and only paid them 5 euros.
Food and drink are varied the cheapest pint of beer was 1.50 and a main meal about 7 euros. We did a fishing trip which cost us 120 euros out at sea for 4 hours and we saw lots of whales which was fab. Hubbie caught a few fish they also tell you unlimited drinks and food is provided, well a ham sandwich and 2 cans each.
Siam park is a must fab day we booked our tickets with the reps 87 euros. Food and drink is expensive in the park. You can buy a return ticket to be used in 14 days for 16 euros well worth it also they do not check your bags so we took our own sandwiches on the 2nd visit. The longest we waited for the slides was about 20 mins tops. Taxi to Siam park is 7 euros.
We would not return to Tenerife did not find it pretty and not a lot of things to do. We have travelled to alot of places and could not wait to go home.
If you would like any help or advise please dont heistate to contact me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SHELLNICDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Returned to the Villa Mandi after having a good holiday here in 2012. Unfortunately it was nowhere near as good as last year. The apartments are lovely and a big improvement on last year but it seems they have put up the food prices to pay for this and they are ridiculous. Pool as lovely as ever but the big let down for us this year were the Reps. The reps were only interested in speaking to those who made themselves known to the reps and the holiday was dominated by 3 or 4 families that wanted to get involved in everything.We were there for 2 weeks, 1 of the entertainment team (crazy katie) did not speak to us at all, Shanice only spoke to hand out quiz papers, and Mario spoke about 4 sentences to us. Last year there was a real presence of the entertainment team and holiday advisors, they were always about doing something or other, but this year you hardly ever saw any of them.It was down to a guest that they even did a 3pm activity for a few days (water polo). I know their job is hard but they are there to ensure we all have a good holiday and there was just no effort there. The entertainment was awful, its never great but was particularly awful this year. All in all a lovely hotel but the Thomson staff and the food prices ruined it for us this year. The hotel is a 20-25 min walk to the resort centres but it is a lovely stroll. The cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel is excellent. Would never stay here half or full board as the quality of the food especially for the price is not worth it and there are plenty of bars and restaurants to eat at. Although Wi-fi is sold in "days" it is actually hours, we bought 3 days and it lasted all holiday.Last year did not have to pay for TV, now you do, another rip off. Bring back Rocking Rachel, Zip Zap Zoey and Crazy Kayla!

Room Tip: Room 335 is a lovely room for a 2 bed apartment and has a massive roof terrace
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a lovely, relaxing week at the Villa Mandi with my husband and 17 month old daughter. We had a one bedroom "select" apartment, which was very spacious for the three of us, with comfortable beds, plenty of room inside for our daughter to play, a large balcony where we sat out every morning to eat breakfast with a view of the pool and neighbouring golf course, and a huge roof terrace with sunloungers and umbrella. Our air con worked a treat and we even had to turn it off at night most nights because it cooled the room down too much! We had no issues with ants nor any other room problems during our stay, apart from one day that the maid took away our dirty towels and didn't replace them with clean ones, but a quick mention to reception and she brought them up with apologies. Suffice to say, the service from everyone at the Villa Mandi was quick and friendly. Only gripe with the room was that the floors were very dirty and we were forever cleaning our black feet - need to invest in some mops Villa Mandi!

The on site shop holds a good selection of items for breakfast and light lunches. Freshly baked baguettes and croissants of a morning were very much enjoyed! Prices are quite reasonable, and for most things compared reasonably favourably with the bigger supermarkets - just drinks (wine, water, sangria) all seemed to be double the price of the supermarkets, apart from beer, which seemed to be about the same. However I didn't mind paying twice the price of the supermarkets for the 5L bottles of water so we didn't have to lug them all the way from town!

We did the walk into town and back every evening for dinner, which was fine, although my hubby was a bit fed up of it by the end of the week. It took 10 minutes to get across the wasteland to the main road at the start of the resort and then you could reach the first few restaurants within another 5 minutes. Taxis were available and apparently very reasonable, but after a big evening meal down in the resort, we enjoyed the walk back to work it off! However, if you had elderly family members or children that are too old to go in a pushchair but get tired with a mile's walk, then best to factor in around 10 euro a day for the taxis. Free shuttle bus down to the beach at 10.30 and 11.30 is a good service and they pick you up again at 5.30pm.

As we were there the week after the end of the school holidays, the hotel was very quiet compared to what it had apparently been during them, however we always went down whatever time of day to the pool and could get loungers with an umbrella. The pools were clean and warm enough, and our little one loved splashing around in the children's pool. What was lovely, was that there were loads of balls and inflatables that were just piled up in the corner of the pool area that everyone could share. There are also two "swap shop" areas where people had left buckets and spades, inflatables, sun cream, swim nappies, etc. so you could just use what you wanted and put back after you'd used them (if appropriate!). We also liked the indoor soft play area, and the two outside play areas.

The on site restaurant we only used a couple of times for lunch, both times opting to share a pizza between the three of us, which for about 8 euro was very tasty and we thought reasonably priced for the quality. Hubby had a beer both times, 3 euro for a pint, which yes when compared to 1.5 euro in the local restaurants is more expensive, but for one drink by the pool at lunch is perfectly reasonable.

Restaurant recommendations in town... Casa del Mar by the ferry port was great for fresh fish. We also had lovely tapas for 20 Euro for three of us at a quaint little restaurant near Swash Bucklers bar, just back from the seafront of Los Cristianos. For a pricey but delicious meal, try Little Italy, down the side road from the white church. Lastly for huge portions at very reasonable prices (3 courses for 9.50 Euro), taking the last left fork off the main street down to Los Cristinios beach, a lovely little restaurant on the left opposite the handbag shop.

Overall, the Villa Mandi was a family friendly, attractive resort that was a perfect place for a relaxing family holiday, excellent staff both of the hotel and from Thomson. And as long as you don't mind a 15-20 minute walk into the resort or a cheap taxi fare, the location means you have quiet at night and views over the only bit of green (the golf course) for miles around! Los Cristianos is also very family friendly, with nice beaches, plenty of choice for dinners out and friendly locals. I'm sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a select apartment - free wifi, lovely roof terrace and fruit, bubbly, robes and slippers were extras you get that made the small supplement well worth it. We had room 325, right near reception and with great views over the pool and the golf course.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews