We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy at night but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Noisy at night but nice”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have recently returned from a weeks holiday (19th-26th April) at Cristian Sur. Having read many reviews, I decided to contact the Customer Services desk to ask for a pool facing apartment as other reviewees had previously said these would be quieter with a young family. Unfortunately the management team would not commit to my request and upon arrival placed us in an outward facing apartment directly facing the loud karaoke bar 'Margaritas' which along with others, allowed singing until 12 midnight every night.
The apartment was a duplex with a spiral staircase linking the 2 accommodation areas - no stair gates were provided so we were constantly on child watch to ensure there weren't any accidents.
The apartment was very basic with need of updating. I am lead to believe those rented privately are modern and many on the site are privately owned. There were basic pots and pans plus a table cloth and tea towels. The fridge seemed to freeze everything despite being on the correct setting.
We were pleased that on 6 of the 7 days the apartment was attended by a cleaner and she replenished the towels as necessary and made the beds plus swept the floor. The balcony door lock broke whilst we were there and the maintenance team fixed it immediately.
We had paid in advance to have breakfast by the poolside every morning and this was one of the highlights of the holiday - super staff, attentive and polite. Great coffee (as many as you wanted) and freshly squeezed orange juice plus a wide choice of breakfast snacks. The bar served ice creams and drinks all day which was very handy.
The pool had a lovely shallow baby pool which my daughter was able to paddle in and sunbeds were always available for no fee.
The location of the apartments was very handy for the town centre and eating out on an evening.
Overall we did enjoy our break in Tenerife, we just wish our request for a quieter apartment had been granted.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Char029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    148
    104
    29
    36
See reviews for
191
120
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Cristian Sur Apartments, travelling with Thomas Cook. After reading previous reviews was a little concerned but once there this soon disappeared.
Yes they are budget apartments but are well stocked for self catering, good friendly staff and nice pool area. For what you pay they are a good standard and clean.
As they say you get what you pay for and for the money these are good apartments. There is some noise in the morning as the staff go about their duties but that's what you get from concrete buildings
Overall good holiday

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been staying at the Cristian Sur apartments for about the last five or six years.
The apartments are in a great location and it is only a short walk to the bus station or down to the local shops and restaurants.
Our most recent apartment had a balcony that overlooked the pool, the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was excellent and we had an oven, hob and microwave and so we were able to cook a variety of lovely meals made from ingredients bought from nearby supermarkets and shops. We also had a safe which gave peace of mind! I do agree with the person who mentioned about people banging doors too hard, but generally we did have a good nights sleep but decided to give in regarding naps during the late afternoon!. The people who owned the apartment were really lovely and very helpful and ensured that we had a lovely stay.
The gardens around the apartments were absolutely beautiful and well tended. One of the swimming pools was having a "face lift" whilst we were there and everyone on site was polite and friendly to us.
We spent one cloudy morning going on the bus to the Mercadona supermarket in Playa de Americas, the choice of fish and meat was really impressive and their strawberries were also delicious.
When we went out to dine in the evening we loved the San Luis restaurant and also the Fu Xin Chinese restaurant was also really good.
My only complaint during our three weeks stay was that the swimming pool did tend to get really busy (even before the Easter holidays) and on a couple of occasions there were just too many sun loungers in the pool and also several people bouncing a hard ball with some force down across the water. Health and Safety seemed at risk especially when there were small children also in the pool with arm bands on and we saw one little girl who was quite distressed after she had been accidently banged in the pool. This was unusual as on recent visits lots of attention has always been given to ensure that everyone is safe and also having fun.
We will be returning to the apartments later this year as we do find the surrounding so relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan1953528791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in the Cristians Sur apts for two months.Managed by Tenerife Sth apts Calle PARIS
We had several minor problems namely with the TVand no signal We went and voiced our lack of reception each time to be met with an agresive attitude.When we were offered help we were told to make renumeration accordingly to whoever was helping us!!! The most upsetting experience was when the TV failed completely and we were told it was all our fault and we were responsible for all that was wrong!! And so for the last week of our stay we had no TV help or cooperation Onlly a threat of agrestion !! Do not book thro these thuggish people

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jimnewton456jamesnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Cristianos hotels

Marlow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hopefully this will be the first and last bad review I'll have to write. In short, we stayed in room 25, second day (8th April) left the room at 11am to go to the pool, returned at 3pm to a clean room. Great, we thought until I soon realised that two brand new jumpers were missing from the back of the chair. Of course we turned over the room several times but to no avail. Informed reception who rang housekeeping- no joy, no apology. Tried again the next day, still nothing and the next. It doesn't take rocket scientist to work out what had happened. Shouldn't hotels have a record of who cleans each room? Not impressed in the slightest, you shouldn't have to worry about leaving possessions such as clothes in a room. For anyone visiting keep a close eye on your things.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlowbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E LONDON
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hi all, just come back from a week at the Cristian Sur (3/14) and was overall happy with our stay. The rooms where big and spacious a little dated but clean and functional and the balcony which over looked the main road was nice and big. The T.v had channels, bbc 1, 2, Itv, channel 4, Sky Sports 1 and a few others well worth the 20 euros for the week. The bedrooms are situated at the front end of the apartment so at first glance you would think they would be nice and quiet?? Wrong, every morning with out fail at least two or more of the close apartments or even the neighbouring one would slam full power their front door waking us up. If not this then stand right outside talking for ages this would also happen when trying to have a hours nap 5-6 in the afternoon. I think the people who where mostly doing this are residents of the block, don't get me wrong we ourselves are up and about by at least 9. Well anyhow I would now like to recommend some places local to the apartments which you may like or benefit from knowing...

1: Playa las vistas, best beach by far.

2: Dino supermarket ( 5min walk ) big, cheap and lots of choice. Having said that the small shop next to reception was just as cheap on most things.

3: The Sunday market is quite good for something different or a day off from the beach.

4. Restaurants, Mongolian BBQ is a nice change from the norm and very good prices and selection of food (5mins walk). The other good restaurants are up near the main square (church) round the old cobbled side streets. The House is a nice one but our favourite is El Romantico sea food and Little Italy which are opposite each other and are the same restaurant. One other to mention is Angus Steak house which is the other end near the dino supermarket tucked away at the end of a small row of bars, this place was surprisingly good value.

5. Bars, all depends what you go for really, but try and have a night in Margaritas music bar it's a good crack with singers taking off people such as Rod Stewart etc, etc this is only two mins for apartments.

So summing up, I would on the whole recommend these apartments for a week away.

Hope this has been of some help to you, if so please tick yes below. Many thanks Dan

Room Tip: High up is always best, even over the main road if high enough. I would probably go for if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank DanDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontefract west yorks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Myself and my husband stayed with my in-laws last week at The Christen Sur.
The apartment we stayed in was rented out privately from Tenerife south management services toward the back of the building.

The apartment was a two bed roomed with 2 floors and worked well for both couples regarding privacy with 2 balcony's, bedrooms and bathroom area. The location of the apartments were in a good place 10 mins from the beach and front area with a good number of bars and restaurants near by including 2 small super markets.

The lower part of the apartments was large with a good kitchen, bathroom with bath, bedroom and longue area including a large balcony. The upper part of the room was a lot smaller and access to this was made by a small spiral staircase in the middle of the room. These could be very dangerous to climb if one of you were un steady on your feet or had maybe had a drink or five :)

My advise would be not to rent these 2 bed roomed apartments for Tenerife south management services!! We were advised before arriving that we had a safe in the room but upon arrival the safe was not working. We advised the office of this and were informed that it does not works and to hide our passports and money in the room somewhere!!!......
We were then told that evening by bar staff that the complex next door was a target for brake-ins!
We also found that the 2 balcony doors to this apartment were locked by slotting a bolt and nut in to a hole screwed into the door.
No locks were on the balconies and the bolt was the only measure to secure the doors! The front door was locked and a security gate over it also to make this entrance safe.

Al in all these apartments were dated and not up to standards with the maintaice at all!! The shower upstairs only trickled (due to this we had to use the downstairs bathroom) and the drains smelt bad with constant gurgling noise all night.
The handles were hangling off the baconly door upstairs and the tiles in the bathroom upstairs were very grubby! The room was not cleaned and only new towels passed over and bedding on the downstairs room.

My advise would be to book with the brochure and stay away from private rented accommodation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faye Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Cristianos hotels
0.1 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#9 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.2 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#13 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Aguamar
Apartamentos Aguamar
#3 of 28 in Los Cristianos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur

Property: Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur
Address: Avenida de Amsterdam, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Hg Cristian Sur Hotel Los Cristianos
Cristian Sur Tenerife
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing