We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“renovation work”
Review of Hotel Mar y Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Cristianos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mar y Sol
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
blackpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“renovation work”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

we stayed in victorla court 1 and our apt was a few yards from mar-y-sol. we stayed for 3 weeks in may 2013. our holiday was ruined by the noise of renovation work coming from the mar-y-sol complex. work went on from 9-00 til 17-00 six days a week -- the builders took sunday off. there is hammering, drilling and the awful scream of the tile-cutting machine all day long. these renovations seem to be going on all round the complex. the noise is mentioned in the guest book from august 2011 so it seems like an ongoing long-term project, running for months or even years. if you are considering staying at mar-y-sol it may be prudent to check you are not near any of this work as you would not want to go through the racket we had to endure.

Room Tip: avoid renovation work
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
7 Thank thommoblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    21
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
26
29
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights back in April. 4/5 days were great, handy location & the pool is top range, however on our last day the assistant manager was very rude to myself and my partner when I inquired (subtly) about finding something unpleasant in our room. Her attitude was highly defensive. I've traveled the world with my partner and have never encountered such hostility towards a customer. Whilst the location of the hotel is great, for those who use manual wheelchairs the hill it is situated on is fairly steep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leo27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokia, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I visited this hotel with my mother, who uses a manual wheelchair and is able to walk short distances. We were absolutely amazed by how well accessibility has been considered at this hotel, not to mention elsewhere in Los Cristianos! All walkways have ramps and there is a free transportation from Mar y Sol to an accessible beach, Las Vistas.

Right next to Mar y Sol, there is an equipment rental agency LeRo, from which we rented e.g. an electric wheelchair and other equipment to complement our holiday. LeRo also handles the accessible transportations from and to the Tenerife South airport.

Mar y Sol provides all sorts of activities. The heated pool was great for doing physio exercises and the gym hall provided a chance to play boccia, for example. In the evenings, there was always program at the restaurant (karaoke, quizzes, live music). The buffet was wonderful both for breakfast and dinner: there was always a large selection of food to taste. The staff was friendly and very easy-going.

The only downsides I can think of are the uphill location of the hotel and some glitches with internet connections. Pushing a manual wheelchair from the beach avenue up to the hotel was hard - consider renting an electric wheelchair from LeRo or taking a taxi, which is cheap. With internet, the connections were rather slow at times. Note that there is a free wi-fi available and two PCs (with a fee of few euros).

All in all, we will definitely visit Mar y Sol again in the future for easy vacationing that caters for special needs!

Room Tip: Already when making your reservations, you can ask for a shower chair to be delivered to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naanamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We've just been again to Hotel Mary Sol in Los Christianos. It's still the very best wheelchair accessible hotel on Tenerife (and elsewhere too I must say). Will keep going back again and again ... :)) The heated pool is definately an asset which we enjoy very much. Not many heated pools on Tenerife! The food is very good, great choice. Lovely waiters and staff always ready to help. Very close to the accessible beaches and really, the whole area is accessible.
Would highly recommend to everyone looking for and accessible hotel and area.

Room Tip: We have been fully satisfied with all ot the rooms we have yet stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pippa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A great hotel, with extremely good staff who always consider the needs of the guests, as a priority. My girlfriend and myself, both have a disability, we found it very easy to access, with great facilities. We availed of physio while in the Mar Y Sol Hotel, a good service and very reasonably priced. The food was excellent, it was great that we could eat different cuisines. The rooms were very generous in size and very well maintained. Le Ro provided a shuttle service to collect you from the airport and take you their, a great service, they also provide transport for trips around Tenerife. We will be returning in the very near future, very satisfied guests!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OLIVER PATRICK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Myself and fellow support workers supported two young ladies to this fantastic hotel on the 12 June 2012. On arrival the staff were very helpful and the rooms were very accessible and spacious. The hire of aids from Leroy were first class. Pool area was very clean as well as the pool. The lifeguard was very friendly and helpful in assisting the clients in and out of the pool. The dining area was also very clean and wheelchair friendly. The food was varied every night and there was always something to your taste. We met lots of very nice people while staying here and had a great time. It didn't in any way feel like a hospital, it was for physically disabled people after all and the best hotel that we have ever been to. The only downside to the hotel was that it was uphill and would recommend to hire a powered wheelchair from Leroy which was excellent to get around. Overall it was a first class fantastic holiday and we will most definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Myself and a fellow support worker supported a young lad who has cerebral palsy and uses an electric wheel chair on holiday for the first time without his parents. What an amazing time we had at this hotel, he met lots of people round his age with similar disabilities. It was lovely to see how happy he was and how much he enjoyed himself. We will definitely be returning next year and we are all looking forward to it.

As for people saying this hotel is like a hospital obviously they are unfamiliar with people with disabilities and dont understand about having an inclusive hotel. I am able bodied and enjoyed speaking to every person at the hotel as at the end of the day they are human beings too!!!!!!!

Would just have one complaint about the hotel.......the moody bar man who didn't smile but obviously had other things going on in his life so we can forgive him.

Excellent food, drinks,service.

Thank you for such an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladygaga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Cristianos hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#9 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#13 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar y Sol

Property: Hotel Mar y Sol
Address: Avenida Amsterdam 8, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar y Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar y Sol Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing