We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so glad found it”
Review of The Raven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Raven Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“so glad found it”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Can't praise enough, stunning rooms,friendly people,just sorry we went on a night when there was no dining. Would be a super base for travelling around Wales. Will return as must try the food if the standards of everything else are anything to go by it will be amazing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GBlover17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    21
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night , room was excellent , clean with a view of the church from the window , had cracking fish and chips in the bar . Just a cracking pub with excellent accommodation , with brilliant walking on your doorstep Will definitely be returning to support this community run pub .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Last Sunday I was invited to a 'birthday' lunch at the Raven. I was really looking forward to it as I've been to this fabulous pub on a number of occasions. It was a party of 19, no mean feat for a chef to accommodate. Well the meal was wonderful, you would not get a better Sunday lunch anywhere. We were given our own room and the service was excellent. The atmosphere is great as all the staff (mostly volunteers) are always so friendly and helpful. If you want to go out for Sunday Lunch (or an evening meal) you would not be disappointed. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WelshSue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The minute you walk in this lovely pub you are greeted with warm, welcoming smiles and an atmosphere of friendship and community.
This pub is run by the local community and prides itself on it's great local produce and fantastic selection of locally brewed ales.
Sunday lunch today with the family at this venue was fantastic!
3 generations enjoyed a great selection of roasts (vegetarian alternatives were noted) and at exceptional value.
Lamb, Beef or Pork followed by delicious deserts - all fresh tasty and home cooked.
The local brew was also much enjoyed - A super lunch and such good service.
Thanks so much to the Raven for making our day feel so special.
I wish all Pub's could be like this!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was excited by the sound of the 'comunity run' Pub/hotel and in no way were we dissappointed! An extreemly warm welcome was followed by a pub dinner downstairs that surpassed any expectations. All homemade and wholesome. The room was pretty, clean and well equipped with a lovely view of the church. We popped to the shop to buy breakfast which was only a few metres away and sold lots of lovely things :) We also got a picninc from here for our day out. I was blown away by The Raven and will definitely be sending family/friends here again and hope to be back ourselves soon. Thanks again to all at the raven for a brilliant night in the pub a heavenly nights sleep and some fantastic memories. A real gem this one!

Room Tip: Make sure that you bring food to cook in the self catering kitchen in your room or arrive on a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

stayed here last week and found the accommodation to be excellent along with the volunteers. This is first class accommodation with more than adequate facilities we would stay here again when next in the area. Ideal location and allowed us to bring our dogs which was fantastic.

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw we excellent and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanarmon-yn-Ial, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We are in the process of buying property in the area, so called in for what was meant to be a swift half and ended up having an early meal as there was a special St David's Day menu available.

The beers are frequently changed, so always the chance to try something new. We were told that someone from the village is to start supplying locally brewed ale, in April, so something to look forward to!

We have eaten here several times and the meals have always been home cooked and excellent. The volunteers and locals are always very friendly and we are able to take our dog into the pub with us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanarmonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon-yn-Ial
4.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.2 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
251 reviews
4.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
760 reviews
7.0 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
17.9 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Inn

Property: The Raven Inn
Address: Ffordd Rhiw Ial, Llanarmon-yn-Ial CH7 4QE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raven Inn is a traditional community-orientated free house situated in the heart of the picturesque north Wales village of Llanarmon-yn-Ial, Denbighshire. The Raven Inn has been run by the community since August of 2009. A traditional country pub, you can be assured of a warm welcome. We offer mouth watering, locally sourced food and the best real ales north Wales has to offer. We regularly bring in the best of local musical talent fitting to a traditional country pub. We have three well appointed and recently refurbished self catering rooms to let. All have great views of the village church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Raven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Inn Llanarmon-Yn-Ial, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing