We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mestral & Llebeig Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived home last Friday after spending a week at the Mestral & Llebeig apartments. We wished we had stayed longer! The kids (aged 7 & 4) had a brilliant time and believe it was all down to the facilities, activities and amazing Thomson staff!
The kids enjoyed Kids.Club which is all professionally managed with strict booking and signing in/out procedure, so parents can be reassured and relax in the couple of hours you have off!!
Considering it is peak time during Summer holidays we were surprised at how quiet the resort was.

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment which was very spacious and extremely clean and well equipped. We were All inclusive and were impressed with the selection of food for both adults and kids.

This place is very family orientated, and the Thomson Entertainment team, Rachael and Scott were brilliant at involving the whole family in activities and games. We are still singing the Superhero song and Chocco latte!!!
This was our first family holiday abroad, and have already booked for next year, for 2 weeks!
Can't wait...!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mum33WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from here in June after two fabulous weeks with three adults and one three year old. We couldn't fault the accommodation , we were in a three bed apartment in the Mestral side near the splash pool and the rooms and balcony were massive, we had flat screen TV in the lounge and in one of the double bedrooms of which we had three doubles and an en suite and separate bathroom . The kitchen was stocked with fresh new crockery, microwave, fridge freezer, full cooked with oven and four hob plates , iron and board and also thee was a proper hair dryer in the ensuite , all very clean and the hot water was always hot, the power showers were excellent. We found the beds very comfortable which is unusual for me as I'm quite fussy .

Although we did the all inclusive for six days when we got there we also self catered for the second week and ate out and found more than three places to eat which contradicts what I have read on here. All the hotels have restaurants you can use and although the food in Menorca isn't anything special we annoyed what we had. We also got ordered a cooked chicken one night from the Hally Internet Bar and got some salad etc from the supermarket and had a lazy night on our massive balcony.
The all inclusive was really good with plenty choice so salads, meat or fish and the kids entertainment was really good for the little ones. The reps were brilliant and our grand daughter went to the kids club a couple of times and the pool areas were clean. The splash pool was brilliant for tiny children as it was shallow all over and there were two other pools, now with daytime entertainment or a quiet one. The beach was beautiful with silky sand and calm blue waters and lifeguards, there was a couple of choppy days and the flags indicated the safety of the water and the life guards told you where it was unsafe to swim so very reassuring.
Re wifi you can pay15 euros for a week of wifi which was a fairly good signal or 5 euros for one day and there are a few restaurants and the Halley Bar that you can get free wifi.
We took the bus to Ciutadella which was certainly worth a visit. , very pretty with lots of eating places along the harbour although we wished we had gone towards evening as they were just setting up the market stalls on the steps and we went during siesta

There aren't a lot sf shops but if you want a quiet peaceful holiday with children I would recommend it

Room Tip: Three bedroom apartments are very spacious and large balcony with family sized table with chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank cagsy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Firstly I apologise for the late review! We stayed here from 19th May 2014 for 2 weeks incorporating the half term. This is a long one!

We booked with Thomson and it was a real bargain at around 900 for 2 weeks SC for 2 adults and 2 children 5 and 9 yrs old.

AI or SC? - This was a package holiday and we chose not to go AI as one of our children is an extremely picky eater! We got offered to upgrade to AI on check- in and were tempted as it was so much cheaper than Thomson offer. However although we had heard very good things about the restaurant "las Dunas" we are still glad we didn't. We had a road facing balcony on the Llebeig side which partially overlooked las Dunas and we watched with amusement as the hoards trundled over and queued for their meals while we were able to eat WHEN we liked, WHAT we liked WHERE we liked. AND at very little cost thanks to the ALDI at Cuitadella - we ate like kings!
We had meals out at 2 very lovely restaurants in Santo Tomas (both owned by SETHOTELS who also own the apartments) One was by the Victoria Playa at the far end of the resort and was called Es Pins and is in a beautiful setting! The other was along the beach promenade at the other end and called Malibu bar - again lovely setting especially in the early evening with the sunset.

CAR HIRE - We hired a car but not from the local owners cars office. We had heard bad things about this company and although I believe this local branch to be OK we didn't agree with their fuel policy (they bill you an extortionate rate for a full tank and return it empty with no refunds).
We rented our car from AMBER CARS. This was a recommendation from Poppy Cars who are also a very reputable firm.
We could not have been more happy with the experience and will most definitely rent from this firm again. Pancho the owner was a delight and he delivered and collected our car personally. He had the “like for like” fuel policy and we much preferred that as you only pay for what you actually use.

GETTING ABOUT - The island itself is well worth a look around and if you are SC you will need a car because the local mini markets (they are too small to be supermarkets) are unbelievably expensive!

THE APARTMENTS - We had a 1 Bedroom apartment on the top (1st) floor. The apartment was generally clean on first glance and well equipped, although on our first day we felt that the apartment hadn't been thoroughly cleaned and I swept up a whole load of dirt, fluff, bits of crisps etc. HOWEVER the maids that visited throughout our stay were much more thorough so can only imagine this was an oversight. The maid service was sporadic and we had less visits once it was half term week. You can always ask reception for anything you need though so if its just towels or sheets they can help you out. After a couple of nights we gave the kids the bedroom and stayed on the Sofa bed ourselves as it was easier for bedtimes and if we wanted to have a drink on the balcony of an evening. The sofa bed is the best I have seen - very sturdy and quite comfortable for 2 weeks use.
We would recommend using the room SAFE for peace of mind - you leave a deposit and they give you a barrel with key - you just have to return it for your deposit to be refunded.
The aircon worked well and it meant you could sleep with the doors and windows closed to minimise noise.
If you eat on the balcony beware the seagulls! They steal food!! As we were a minority in SC we were a regular target for the birds and seagulls who would scout out what we had at meal times and then take it if we turned our backs!

As others have said MESTRAL is LIVELY - LLEBEIG is QUIET

CHILDREN - The apartments have great facilities for children but it would be nice if some parents actually kept an eye on their children rather than letting them annoy other holiday makers!
In a place like this you expect a fair amount of kids and a lot were well behaved BUT there were some right brats who's parents seemed to adopt the approach of "as long as they are not bothering me"! This was especially bad at the kids splash pool (see pools further down).
My kids are no angels but I do not let them do whatever they like at the expense of everyone else! Also in the years since Madeleine Mccan was taken I was in utter disbelief that a boy of 5 years old was in one of the more secluded play areas in the quieter Llebeig side, close to the edge of the apartments (near to a back road) completely alone and with no one watching him for at least 20 mins at a time!
My kids liked the park on the livelier Mestral side the most and were there most evenings with my husband. They loved the inflatables in las dunes 6 Euros for all evening which we allowed them to do on our last night as could get very expensive otherwise! kids club seemed good but our 2 didn't want to use it.

ENTERTAINMENT - We didn't spend any time at the pool bar on the Mestral side as we were in the kids splash pool instead but this is where the day entertainment is held. The evening entertainment that is put on by the apartments was very good! 2 times a week they lay on an outside cabaret act. We didn't bother with the rep entertainment - we heard it and didn't fancy it. The stage area was a bit makeshift and was over the road at las Dunas. The stage was built on an old tennis court with ripped flooring and plastic chairs and tables. Kids were playing football behind the audience which was a bit distracting and rude to the acts performing there but no one else seemed bothered by this and it wasn't my kids.

While we were there we saw a very good lady singer, Bubble clown (A MUST SEE), puppet show which the kids loved and a Michael Jackson tribute who looked very much like him in "thriller" days. If you closed your eyes and heard him you would believe it was MJ himself. Again people were not giving him the attention he deserved - Rude.

STAFF - The staff at the apartments were all very helpful and friendly. We couldn't fault anyone there. Our son wet the bed and they gave us new bedding straight away with no fuss. They have (good quality) waterproof protectors on the beds so no problems.


REPS - We didn't have to use the reps for anything but they seemed nice and appeared to be working hard.

POOLS - The kids splash pool is very good! Your children will LOVE this pool. Children are supposed to be supervised in this pool NOT JUST glanced at occasionally from your room balcony!!
There are lots of sun beds (probably more than fit comfortably) but there is a distinct lack of PARASOLS which is really needed around this pool as there is next to no shade and lots of young children needed it. Instead of rushing down to the pool to get a sun bed I found myself rushing to get a parasol! It was that bad that some people had bought one at the shop! There are about 3 bases to 1 parasol which makes me think there used to me more. AS A SUGGESTION TO MANAGEMENT I would say, get a different colour for the kiddy pool so it is apparent where they belong. You need at least double what you currently have in there. The old mis match of blue ones can go around the other 2 pools.
The 2 big pools are identical to each other but true to form the MESTRAL side is busier and lively.
They both have a tiny kids section built in but are cold.


BEACHES - The beach at Santo Tomas is very lovely but we loved Cala Galdana beach the most and as we had a car we went there often. We went to Arenal de castel but it was very windy and a much busier resort.

Would we return to Santo Tomas? YES! Would we return to these apartments? YES! BUT maybe only for a couple of more years as the kids will have outgrown it. Would we return to these apartments without the kids? NO way on earth!!! Its just too family orientated for couples or singles to really enjoy. SETHOTELS also run a lovely looking hotel up the road called HOTEL SANTO TOMAS.

Room Tip: MESTRAL lively LLEBEIG quiet Pool facing get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank noodle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Got back last week from our one week holiday and we all had a great time. 2 of us travelling with our 4 yr old and 6 yr old
We arrived on a Monday morning after a very early start from the UK, journey from Mahon airport was only 30-40 mins as our coach only went to Santo Tomas stopping at 3 hotels there.
Checking in at the hotel was very smooth and we paid to upgrade to all inclusive on arrival which cost €33 per adult first child free and 2nd one half price! This worked out at around £480 which was a good saving on booking all inclusive in UK with Thomson!
We stayed in Mestral F3 which was a one bedroom apartment with our balcony looking over the pool, it proved to be an excellent location!
The apartments are really clean and modern and have air conditioning (you'll need to close the door for this to work) There was a full kitchen with microwave, cooker, fridge freezer etc. We only used the fridge, but its all there should you need it. there's also an iron & ironing board and a hairdryer, though my wife tells me that the hairdryer doesn't really get very hot to dry hair. Our bathroom was also very clean and the shower was really powerful with plenty of hot water.
The large balcony had table and chairs and a large drying rack which proved very useful with all the wet swimming gear to dry every night!
Our 2 kids had the bedroom whilst we slept on the pull out sofa bed in the living room which was very easy to set up.
The TV in the living room was a modern LG LCD with a couple of English channels as well as the spanish ones. TIP ---> I took an ipad with films on for my kids but wish I had just put the films on a USB stick as the TV has a USB socket in the side too!
The entertainment during the day was round the pool and was led by Scott and Rachel who did a fantastic job of getting everyone in the pool doing aerobics, party dances and games like water polo, skittles, pool and quizzes as well as the popular Pool jumping contests, with prizes/certificates awarded in the evening.
The apartments are split into Mestral side and the quieter Lleibeig side which we didn't really visit apart from a brief trip to the kids playground in the far corner.
Each side has its own pool with a smaller kids pool right next to it. The large pool gets quite deep towards the middle for smaller children, my 6 yr old could not stand up here, so as well to ensure your kids know and stick to their capabilities!!
We ate at Las Dunas which is part of the hotel though over a road and down a few steps. The food here was always good and plenty of choice even for children who had their own section at evening meal. Our 2 enjoyed helping themselves to drinks and food.
The evening entertainment was down at the side of Las Dunas on one of 2 tennis courts with a small stage at one end with tables and chairs set out. You were able to get a drink from Las Dunas whilst it remained open and take it down to your table. otherwise there was a bar near the trampolines and bouncy castles that you could purchase drinks from.
The evening started off with "Lets get loud" party dances etc and giving out prizes from daytime competitions. There was entertainment provided by Scott, Rachel and the rest of the reps as well as outside acts, including a singing duo, parrot show and puppet show. The parrot show and puppet show were enjoyed by our 2 kids.
Our 6 yr old boy also enjoyed running round playing football at the back of the tennis court with all the other boys whilst the evening entertainment went on.
The beach is reached by walking down the right hand side of Las Dunas onto a walkway, just a few yards and you are there. We only went once and for a short time as it was very hot. The beach is very clean and had lifeguards on duty, with a flag system to warn when its not safe to swim. The water was very clear and you could paddle out quite a few yards before it became deep. You can hire sunbeds and parasols on the beach, other reviews will have commented on price, we didn't use them.
Santo Tomas is a quiet place with just a few restaurants/bars and shops. The hotel staff are all really great and helpful, I requested an extra pillow, it arrived at the room before I got back!
All in all we had a brilliant holiday and would definitely come here again. Families with young children will find this a great place to stay! Only wish we had stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank GrahamCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went 2 years ago with our daughter, husband and 2 little boys now aged 7 and 4. We thought it was good then and hoped it was still on our return at the end of July. In fact the apartments had been refurbished and were even better. The facilities and location are excellent with the splash pool and wonderful beach being the highlights. The food is good with plenty of choice. The staff are all lovely both the hotel's and Thomson's. Would highly recommend it to anyone with young children to keep busy.
Any criticisms, a bit noisy at times, not enough sun umbrellas round the pool and the inevitable towels on sunbeds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handbLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year and it was just as good this year as last I traveled with my partner and three young children one of them being only 6 months old. The whole of the complex is very well maintained the rooms are very clean we had a two bedroom apartment right across from the bar area on the mestrel side by eleven o'clock it was quiet. in whole a very welcome break I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KevinandBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Me and my family spent a week there and really wasn't long enough,we loved every minute and will be returning next year.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was really lovely, very modern and ever so clean, the entertainment was great, my son really enjoyed the kids club while my older girls enjoyed the other entertainment,there was things going on throughout the day so was never bored , the pools and splash pool was lovely and a big bonus of having the beach across the road as well as the resturant as we went all inclusive, the food was nice , always something we liked .I cant find any faults, we all had a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherylea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
412 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,379 reviews
11 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
1.4 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mestral & Llebeig Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mestral & Llebeig Apartments

Address: C/ Playa Santo Tomas, 07749 Santo Tomas, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Santo Tomas
Price Range: £44 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mestral & Llebeig Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mestral & Llebeig Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mestral & Llebeig Apartments Hotel Santo Tomas
Mestral And Llebeig Apartments
Mestral & Llebeig Apartments Santo Tomas, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing