We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going back to this lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Beach House Menorca
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Sorry I'm a bit late with this review but having just read the previous one I felt I really should give my opinion.I will start by saying that this Hotel is one of the most friendly and excellently run I have had the pleasure of staying in.So the furnishing /shutters etc. may be showing there age but are quite functional and serve their purpose very well,and this all lends itself to the charm of this traditional looking Spanish Hotel.The dining room is not over large with wonderfull views whilst eating,the tables not too close together,clean and with an adequate place setting of cutlery and glassware.As for the gardens,I for one can live without flowers in preference for a lovely manicured lawn with not a scrap of litter or rubbish.i will just finish by repeating that the entire staff at the Sol Menorca work very had to make your stay there very enjoyable,roll on June 2012.

Room Tip: Rooms in east or west side are good,with early or late sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pippa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel enjoys a wonderful position overlooking the sea and should be a fantastic place to stay. It is very quiet and peaceful and Santo Tomas is a lovely resort with fine sandy beaches and clear turquoise sea. We have stayed in Menorca several times before and like it very much.
However private areas of the hotel are quite shabby and are in need of a serious updating.
All the rooms have very old window shutters with rusting hinges and flaking paint. Although the beds were comfortable, the furniture is cheap chipboard and painted a lurid shade of green.
Our bath/shower had plastic shower curtains, I can't remember the last time I saw this in a hotel! The bathroom towels were often worn out, sometimes with holes, off white in colour.
Disappointingly the gardens around the pool area, although green and cared for, did not possess any flowers whatsoever so are very lacking in colour. The swimming pool had chipped and missing mosaic tiles around the edges.
The buffet style food was mediocre and badly cooked. Coffee was good but the fruit juices at breakfast were so watered down you could see through them! The wine list was also very poor value, with wine averaging 15 to 20 euros for unremarkable bottles of plonk.
The dining room resembled a noisy works canteen with nasty plasticy tables. no tablecloths or decent glasses and with the hard pressed staff rushed off their feet clearing tables. Fine dining it was not!
The continued success of this hotel undoubtedly relies on its prime postion and repeat business from their mostly elderly clientel. The Melia/Sol Hotel Group should be ashamed of the way they have allowed this hotel to become so run down. We have travelled extensively in Spain including in little visited and non-touristy areas and this hotel is nowhere near the standard we have found in many other 4 star Spanish owned hotels. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Jasmine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great service by friendly reception staff; clean and comfortable room with balcony and lovely view over Sant Tomas beach. Brilliant location with floorlit timber decked walkway along the beach front - lovely for evening walks. Bus stop right outside the hotel serving Mahon and Ciutadella and other places en route. Walk to Son Bou along the beach (5.4km) - walk a bit further (10km) to Cala Galdana, if you don't mind scrambling along the rocky cliffs, and you'll find hidden beaches and caves accessible only by foot or by boat.

Buffet food could have been a bit hotter and there was no coffee to follow dinner. Tea making facilities in the room would have been nice as would a few english TV channels.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool and enjoy the party from your balcony; choose outer rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We love it that's why we come back year after year! The hotel is the complete package, great staff, great surrounding and great food. An excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vicki19458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Sol Menorca, Santo Tomas, Menorca
2o11, August 19th to 29th. Half Board
Hotel
Standard Mediterranean four star hotel (only a fool would confuse with a UK four star), same as any other 4* hotels up and down the Med. Clean and well maintained, close to the beach.
Age range for this “adult only” hotel may be 16 to 80, but half the guests are crones in the 55 plus club, the other 50% are mainly 40 to 55’s, then 30 something’s and maybe 10% late teens and twenties.
Bedrooms were functional and comfortable with a bathroom with over bath shower, bidet and bog.
Plenty of sunbeds and room around a large deep swimming pool.
Staff
Very friendly and always with a smile, the staff IMO make this a better than average hotel.
Food
Good quality grub with a good choice, next day the same choice, the next day the same choice, the food very repetitious. Just the odd dish changed each day, except breakfast which never changed.
Entertainment, umm naff springs to mind.
Resort
A lot of holiday villa’s and maybe another four hotels, three or four eateries and drinking holes. Quiet resort.

Arrived Friday August 19th around noon to some cracking weather in the low 30’s, along with another couple of similar age to us. Check in quick, easy and questions answered and off to our room. Quick change of clothes and we opt for a Jane Fonda around.
Out the hotel towards the beach and we chose to go right. Small beach maybe 250-300 yards of fine sand with rocky outcrops either end, beach very busy. We walk along the beach and around the headland and there was another beach. First a naked fella, then another nude bloke and we realised we had stumbled on a naturist beach. The wife decided she had enough of walking and stripped off to sunbathe, thankfully, as it was day one of the holiday, she was nice tidy and “clean”. I left her to it and continued to the end of that beach, where thereafter was a rugged coast line. I snorkelled the waters for a while and experienced some of the clearest sea’s I have ever seen.
Hour or so later I collected the wife on the way back, from what turned out to be her favourite part of the holiday.
In the evening after some nose bag, as it had been a long day with the flight etc, we decided check out the hotel entertained. We didn’t expect anything great and nor were we disappointed, typical naff hotel entertainment. We met the couple who had been dropped off at the same time as us earlier and had a drink with them. The wife, said how she had spent her afternoon and agreed to meet the fella after breakfast the next morning to go back and top up her “all over” suntan. He had not done the nudie thing before and said it took 10 minutes for him to feel comfortable in the buff.
Day 2, I leave the wife in the capable hands of our new found friend (Mogsie) and they went to the nudist beach. His wife stayed at the Sol Menorca, whilst I set of with a 1.5L bottle of water to walk the 6km’s to Son Bou. The path ends after a 1km and changes to a rough coastal path over the cliffs. This provided some fantastic views and landscapes over various terrains until you get to Son Bou. Under the ferocious Menorcan sun, my water had soon been polished off. In Son Bou, I saw a hotel where the guests had the tell tale wrists bands of an AI hotel. I take my chance and nip in and collect two 500ml bottles of water and a cheeky lager to see me through. Son Bou is home to some large sand dunes and lagoon, so in itself if worth the walk to take a look.
Anyhow, as I have alluded, Santo Tomas is a quite resort with not a lot to do. I did manage to drag the good lady away for a day and we took the bus to Mahon, the islands capital. Three Euro’s bus fare for a 25km trip was good value and the bus was comfortable with air con, spent half a day in Mahon (Tuesday & Saturday are market days) and took a trip around the largest natural harbour in the med and around the “tourist” market, which was full of all the usual tatt you would expect to find.

Overall experience was a good 8 out of 10, could not fault the hotel and the staff were excellent. The first time oh she who must be obeyed had tried naturism and is now planning next year’s holiday. Food was good, plentiful only just virtually the same everyday with little variation.
Recommendation.
Party animals stay well clear, for relaxation give it a go.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lazybones_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Positives: Very nice hotel with good facilities. Food lovely. Decent size swimming pool. Plenty of shady terrace when it gets really warm.
10m from a very small stretch of sandy beach but only 100m from 2 other nice beaches. Nice views. Gym on site. Very handy for acces to 'cycle' path which is great for walks/ runs but only suitable for v experienced mountain bikers; very rough and stretches of sand. Take your snorkel to see loads of fish close in to shore.
Negatives: One or two of the reception staff were a bit brusque and disinterested. Guests 'booked' the sunbeds very early in the morning by putting their towels on them and then disappearing for hours though to be fair this is not of the hotel's doing.

Room Tip: Good soundproofing in rooms - couldn't hear any noise from bar. All rooms had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GEPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have just got back from our holiday staying at Sol Menorca and wanted to say how fantastic it was. The holiday was very clean and welcoming. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Food at the hotel was brilliant and there was a large choice which varied every evening. The entertainment was better than we had expected, particularly the musical show 'One night only'. There was a beach literally on your doorstep with crystal clear waters and sandy beaches. The swimming pool was also excellent and was never too busy. Sun loungers were available around the pool and in the beautiful gardens around the hotel. There was a handy shop literally 2 minutes away which was a great convenience. There wasn't a huge amount to do in Santo Tomas but this suited us as we just wanted a relaxed holiday. However we did venture out on two of the days to Mahon and Cuitadella. Both places offered fantastic boat trips which we would highly recommend. My only negative would be that the hotel could not provide a great deal of information about other places to vist outside the hotel apart from providing us with a bus timetable. In hindsight we would have researched neighbouring towns and sights before we came. Overall this was a perfect holiday and we would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s_martin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
10.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,361 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,563 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Menorca

Address: Playa de Santo Tomas S/N, 07749 Santo Tomas, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Price Range: £72 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents Sol Beach House Menorca 4* exclusive adults only (over 16 years old). The elegant Sol Beach House Menorca overlooks the idyllic Santo Tomas beach and is next to San Adeodato Beach. Sol Beach House is ideal for couple or friends… a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sun, sea and beach. We propose you enjoy an incomparable sunset, you can see from the terraces or Bali beds… drinking a cocktail and music … it will be unforgettable! Come to Sol Beach House Menorca and enjoy the unexpected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Beach House Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Santo Tomas
Sol Menorca Santo Tomas
Sol Beach House Menorca Santo Tomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing