We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace at Last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Beach House Menorca
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the minute you walk through the door you feel yourself beginning to relax and when you arrive in your sea view superior room; you know you have chosen well. The views are wonderful and particularly spectacular during sunset. The staff are attentive and the evening entertainment is very good. The buffet food is excellent and meals can be taken outside on the terrace. The sunbathing and pool areas are lovely and well maintained. Overall this hotel is of a very high standard and all the staff from the lifeguard to the room maids should be congratulated on their efforts. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior room, you will not be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Its a risk sometimes to return to a previous venue in case comparisons introduce disappointments. However, this did not happen and we found the holiday at this hotel as peaceful, and as relaxing as before.
The staff, some of whom worked at the hotel during the previous year, were as friendly, and as helpful as before.
We were appointed a west facing room overlooking the pool and the outlook was so wonderful.
This year we booked with Thomas Cook as Thomsons had declined a rep last year and also this year. Without the Thomas Cook rep we would have missed out going on the Coast to Coast trip which was worth every penny as the tour includes Fornells, Mount Toro, Cala Galdana and the black stallions stables and arena at Son Martorellet.
The choice of food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and plentiful. The evening entertainment was musical and vocal and started at 10.00 pm, normally lasting for an hour to an hour and a half.
We spent time both on the garden sunloungers and also on the beach sjust a short stroll away.
Not much else to say except that more than likely we will return next year to the bolthole in Menorca.

Room Tip: For a lovely sunset, a west facing room over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamJohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just back from a weeks break at this hotel. Couldn't fault the staff and the hotel was very well presented and rooms cleaned every day by lovely staff. We had bed and breakfast and the buffet was good and varied. We enjoyed a couple of evenings in the bar with entertainment. Just a few niggles, we had problems with the wifi and the hotel should try and sort this out as no access in our room. Only discovered by chance that we could hire a kettle for our room at 10 euro for the week the information wasn't readily available surely they could leave one as standard in all rooms The beach was fabulous and so relaxing and if you want a very quiet break this is the place

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The “Sol Menorca” is one of four large hotels in the small seaside resort of Santo Tomás on the south coast of Menorca, located midway between Santa Galdana and Son Bou. The resort also offers rental villas, apartments as well as four supermarkets, car rental and souvenir shops along its ½ mile length. The main advantage of this hotel is that it is ‘Adults only’, meaning that children under 15 are not admitted, with the bulk of the clientele (of all nationalities) seeming to be over 60 years old.
The 4* hotel is located, along with its neighbour the Hotel Santo Tomás, on a rocky promontory which splits the resort into two sandy beaches. For those of an active persuasion, there are cliff walks both east and west to neighbouring resorts (Cala Galdana is 2½ - 3 hours walk) and Son Bou (2 hours walk), with the tour companies offering coach trips around the island. Menorca's bus company ‘TMSA’ have two routes servicing Santo Tomas, #71 from Mahon and #72 from Ciutadella, with both services departing every 2-3 hours (timetables and fares are listed on the Internet). The hotel also offers a limited daytime activity programme.
The hotel is built on 3 sides of a square, with one side open to the sea The hotels website indicates that there are 188 rooms, which are located each side of the three arms with approximately half facing the gardens and swimming pool that feature at the centre of the complex. Their website also indicates that the rooms come in 5 grades, from the basic "economy" rooms through to their top grade “Superior Double Room Frontal sea view with a Bali bed”. Our booking agent, Thomas Cook only offered one grade of room with no upgrades, and this ended up being the standard ‘sea view’ room. Whether we were unlucky or not, we ended up with an outside facing room with views over the hotels side car park, the neighbouring Vistamar apartments and the main coast road. There was a ‘sea view’ with a ‘Fawlty Towers’ aspect but the rooms were clean, reasonable in size and well-appointed with a bidet and shower and two power sockets. The towels were changed daily, with the bed sheets changed every other day. English speaking television in the rooms consisted of four news channels only; CNBC, CNN, Sky news and BBC news international. The restaurant food was adequate, but not exceptional, and on occasions, the ‘show cooking’ food was generally warm (not hot) and sometimes undercooked. The buffet food seemed a better prospect, although the selection was limited.
As expected, everything extra had a price at the hotel, with WiFi Internet (€30 for a week); room upgrades; towels (€10 deposit and €1 change fee); kettles (€10); the Bali beds (€25 a day); car parking and even the weighing machine for your luggage having a slot. The pool was cool, being unheated with the sea being warmer. Despite notifying residents that sunbed reservations were not allowed, this practice usually started at dawn with towels being placed - a practice the hotel is unwilling or powerless to stop. There was evening entertainment each night, which started at 10pm.
Overall, the Sol Menorca is a good standard hotel offering everything required for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: An inward facing room, towards the gardens seems preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our first stay at the Sol Menorca was very enjoyable. We could not fault our stay finding all staff friendly and attentive. Good selection of food, room regularly cleaned to a high standard. If it was my hotel and I wanted to make improvements I would be looking at tea and coffee facilities in the room, cheaper drinks at the bar, and stopping people putting their towels out on the sun beds. Hoping to book again next year my wife and I had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menorca1tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just back from 2 weeks holiday with my husband at this hotel. Positive points are the staff are so so welcoming and polite, infact the sincerity of these people are over welming puts us brits to shame may I add. Food was very good and varied,however felt it got very continental and repetative on our second week.Plates were always cold I have to say as it was a buffet anything that you got hot was nearly cold by the time you got back to your table, it depended on what time you went. Evening Meal was fantastic every nite you just sat and watched the sun set so so lovely.The hotel is lovely and clean and christina our maid was a gem such a lovely girl.Unfortunately i now have the negatives.If you go to a standard room the rooms are paper thin, i would say the bathroom was worse, it got very embarrasing at times,the hotel REALLY have to do something about this as it has definately put me off coming back.The sun loungers should be washed everyday, when picking up the loungers there were bird dirt on most of them.The hotel is really quiet no music what so ever nothing but the sound of the birds.It would have been nice even if the bar staff came round and asked if we needed anything considering it was a 4 star hotel.I agree there is no atmosphere in this hotel,but I did have a good time with most of the staff trying to learn my spanish.I have to say though Ihave never seen so bad mannered people BRITISH to be exact, why get up in the morning and bagg a sun lounger and have the adasity to go away for a walk until mid day, this we cant blame the hotel only those people who are selfish, and may I add they were over 60 so cant blame the young ones.In the evening my husband and I would have loved to been able to sit a small bar within the hotel and have a drink,the drinks were very expensive, maybe if the hotel cut the prices in the bar more people would stay in at nite and perhaps this would add an atmosphere to the hotel.All in all we had a fab time but would only stay a week next time as there is not enought to do in santo thomas for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: room 145 good view of the sea but down side walls are very thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just back from 11 nights ,the hotel is in a great location near the beach and a small supermarket we were in one of the new refurb rooms , very good walk in shower etc ,food is well presented if a bit dull frozen veg etc but you never went Hungary, the drinks in bar. a bit pricey nearly 12 euros for 2 gin& tonics there was never anybody in there before dinner the whole place Is very very quiet staff very good but the whole place has no atmosphere it's like you thank a vow of silence when you check i!! There is nothing to do at night just a couple of bars and yes the whole place is favoured by the over sixties

Room Tip: Try and get one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blogbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
10.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
412 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Artiem Carlos - Adults Only
1.6 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,573 reviews
4.5 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Menorca

Address: Playa de Santo Tomas S/N, 07749 Santo Tomas, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Price Range: £74 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents Sol Beach House Menorca 4* exclusive adults only (over 16 years old). The elegant Sol Beach House Menorca overlooks the idyllic Santo Tomas beach and is next to San Adeodato Beach. Sol Beach House is ideal for couple or friends… a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sun, sea and beach. We propose you enjoy an incomparable sunset, you can see from the terraces or Bali beds… drinking a cocktail and music … it will be unforgettable! Come to Sol Beach House Menorca and enjoy the unexpected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Beach House Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Santo Tomas
Sol Menorca Santo Tomas
Sol Beach House Menorca Santo Tomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing