We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY FREINDLY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Hamilton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Hamilton Court
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“VERY FREINDLY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

stayed here 30th sept to 7th oct this year
normally going to florida every 2 years our grand daughter was born last year so was looking at a quiet resort to take her away for the first time as she would have been to young for florida,so we started to look towards menorca having been here a couple of years ago at cala n forcat,and after reading peoples reviews for this hotel we decided to book(9 altogether)and could not of picked a better hotel.
the staff were so helpful and the complex so clean it was lovely
the room we had been given was 105 ground floor and was well equipped for our stay the room had a patio and garden for our grand daughter to run about and she loved it.
the resort has 3 supermarkets and a english type bar across the road which did bugdet meals for a large family,but we did have a family meal at the Restaurante Es Pins at the end of the beach and i must admit the food was fantastic would highly recomend.
anybody looking at getting away i would highly recomend this hotel and will be returning again in the near future without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronblake3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    65
    23
    8
    12
See reviews for
93
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Hamilton Court in Santo Tomas Menorca.

We booked our holiday with Monarch (£200.00 cheaper than Thomson )

Good flight times from Manchester.

We arrived at Hamilton Court on Friday 04/10/13 .

We wanted a total chill out week and we were surprised that we had been upgraded to a two bedroom apartment at no extra cost.

Apartment was fantastic with everything you need for a self catering holiday, but be aware that you will have to pay a supplement for Wi-Fi (2.0 euro/day) and if there is no T.V, In your apartment it will cost 23 euro / wk to hire.

Santo Tomas is lovely and we are going back next year and will hire a car, as you need one if you want to get about.

The staff @ Hamilton Court are brill especially Ana on reception.

One downside is that the apartments are next door to Los Dunas, a complex that provides entertainment via Thomson entertainment staff from a complex over the road. The good side is that at 2.30 in the morning you won,t have to complain because somebody will do it for you.

All in all a relaxing holiday, which is what we wanted.

Thanks to the guy who complained to the gobby Thomson rep.

Thanks to Ana & the staff @ Hamilton Court

Ali & Pete

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking Los Dunas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETALI-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at the Hamilton Court Apartments.
When my wife and i arrived we were upgraded to a two bed apartment (we didnt ask for this).
The apartment (307) was great - loads of space, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, well equipped kitchen with serving hatch to large living area, large balcony with table and chairs...and the front door to the apartment was opposite the lift.
If you want a tv you must rent from reception.
The resort is very quiet - which suited us but not a place for teenagers!
You must walk up across the rocks to the resort of Son Bou which takes about an hour. Warning - you will be walking through a nudist Beach! But well worth the walk to a busier resort with plenty of bars and restaurants.
Would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Menorca is generally a quieter place for a holiday, but that doesn't mean you can't have a great time. We stayed in the Hamilton Court apartments in July 2013 and we're very impressed with what you get for your money. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. It was dated but it was clean. The restaurant area wasn't fantastic as it was small and more like a cafe area. This is fine for breakfast, but the meals at dinner were small and the setting was not that great. If you're ok with walking then head out of the apartments and a 10 min walk will get you to a sister apartment where you can use the restaurant there instead. This restaurant is called Don Tomas which is much better than the Hamilton court apartments option as it has a great view of the sea and is much more restaurant-like. The food portions were bigger and everything on the menu was delicious. These meals will only cost if you pick something as a whole meal (as in 2/3 courses) that totals more than €18.50. If you have just a main meal (it will be a sufficient portion) you will not be charged any differently to if you ate at the Hamilton court restaurant as it is a sister apartment block. The pool area is small for the size of the apartments, but the beach is literally 1 min walk from the pool so it's not much of a problem. The hotel is a great choice for a cheap holiday in the sun, book it!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiliasF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Merseyside
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hamilton Court Apartments. The apartments were perfectly situated, literally 2 mins walk from the beach, and the beach is gorgeous. Ideal for young families as the beach gently shelves, the sand is soft, it is very clean, lifeguards are on duty and the water is crystal clear. Santo Tomas as a resort is tiny. If you aren't looking for a quiet resort then don't read any further and book somewhere else! The beach is probably about 1km long but the promenade walk is beautiful, very natural, gorgeous flowers and spotlessly clean. If you are up to it you can walk to the next resorts (4.5 hours to Cala Galdana and 2.5 hours to Son Bou). We didn't do this, but I would imagine it would be very nice.

The apartment itself was ideal - we had a 2 bedroom on the 4th floor (410) which overlooked the pool and beach and got the sun in the evening. We had no issues with noise and had no difficulty in getting to sleep. All of the apartments are privately owned and we overheard a couple of people saying that this was their 35th, 30th, 17th year returning, which kind of speaks for itself. The apartment was clean and well equiped, although there was no kettle, which was a bit strange, but it did have a dishwasher and even a washing machine. Our balcony was a great size and we had the sun in the afternoon / evening which was lovely. We had fans in the living room and bedroom and a number of English TV channels (all at no additional cost - unlike some other reviews have mentioned). There was a safe, which cost 10 euros for the week.

We had cleaning twice during the week where we had towel and linen changes. The pool was a good size and there was never any difficulty getting a bed or umbrella and there is a separate childrens pool. There is also a small supermarket (a larger one across the road) and an onsite restaurant which did good pizzas and toasties for lunches.

The downside to the complex was the lack of activities / entertainment, which meant that entertaining a 3 year old was left to mum and dad! To be fair we didn't expect anything as it was self catering, however, there weren't many children about during the day and there was no music or entertainment (even games at the pool) on offer. I think this is down to us as a family getting the balance right between activities on offer at resorts and self catering accommodation but is something that we struggled a little with. There was a bouncy castle, indoor play centre, mini-golf and trampolines about 2 mins walk away and this is where we spent a large proportion of our holiday!

There are only a few restaurants to choose from, but they are all good and there are no issues getting a table as most of the hotels are all inclusive or half board. The only downside would be that the prices are a little bit more expensive (14 euros for paella, chicken dishes), (10 euros for pizza), (18 euros for steak and fish), however, I think that this is down to lack of competition. The best restaurant we went to was C'an Berto where we went a couple of nights and although a bit more expensive was well worth it.

All in all, a good family holiday. I don't think I would have wanted to go for more than a week and for children older than 7-8 unless you were staying at one of the all inclusive resorts, then I think you would struggle to find things to entertain them. Santo Tomas is a beautiful resort in a lovely part of Menorca and we would probably return, although I think we would hire a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulietteSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The area of Santa Tomas is beautiful, great beach, tidy, colourful and very pretty. Hamilton Court was a great place to stay but I think we struck lucky with our appt. 102. It had just been refurbished with air con in every room, leather sofas, flat screen t.v. and two walk in showers. The pool was basic but very nice with a more than adequate shop/supermarket on site. 2 minutes walk away is a fantastic restaurant Es Pins with great food, friendly service and an even better view of the coast. Overall fantastic holiday for the six of us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluebeard2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Some of the apartments are a lot better than others – you could have a quiet, cool room, with a balcony overlooking the pool / beach, or even your own garden leading to the pool – very nice for some. Or, like us, in Room 208, you could have a stuffy room, next door to noisy entertainment until 11pm every night, and right next to the car park, and just above reception (also noisy at times)., with a rubbish view. Before you go, contact them and make sure you have a room that is south facing – i.e. with the balcony facing the pool! If it is one of the west facing rooms, which overlooks the entertainment next door, you are going to be disappointed!

The apartments themselves are quite spacious and clean, and have everything that you need apart from air conditioning. It was so hot in our room it was ridiculous. Our ceiling fans were on permanently – which was a bit annoying at night, but turning them off was certainly not an option – you couldn’t sleep without them (we stayed during the August heatwave, so perhaps in October it’s fine). The bathroom was like a sauna, and it was not possible to cool it down at all. It was far hotter in our apartment than it was outside. After the first night I asked if we could change rooms, or to have air conditioning. I said I would be happy to pay extra for air conditioning, but was told there was nothing else available. I asked again later in the day and was told the same. Then I raised it with the Tomson rep, and she said she’s look into it, but I heard nothing further. It did annoy me when, on our last day, I saw some air conditioning units being wheeled in! I asked the person where they had come from and apparently you can hire them for 80 Euro per week – if someone had told us, we would have definitely done this ourselves – why didn’t anyone suggest this to us?

I was surprised that there was no TV in the room. It’s 20Euros to rent for the week, which is well worth it, as to is the security safe in the room – just do it!

The resort is nice, but small, and there is very little to do. The long and sandy beach is very nice, so if you are happy messing around on the beach, as we are, then it’s fine. The beach is shallow and you have to walk out about 100 metres before being out of your depth.

The pool in the complex is nice, and there are lots of signs saying that you cannot reserve loungers with towels, and that no ball games or inflatables are allowed in the pool – all of which are ignored by most people. This is because there is nobody around to enforce the rules – there are no staff about anywhere apart from one person in reception (who was a very pleasant lady called Anna), one person in the restaurant, and one person in the shop. We never came across a manager – was there one? We went down to the pool at 08:00 one morning, to see 75% of loungers had towels on them – yet we were the only people actually there! Part of me would like to gather all the towels up and throw them in the pool – but I guess I’ll never do that. To be honest it’s far nicer to leave the cramped, noisy and chaotic atmosphere of the pool with the people who sit there all daylong, and go to the beach. It’s a two minute walk and well worth it.

There are a few mini-supermarkets to buy the basic stuff and fresh cakes, but don’t expect a bargain, it’s not cheap. There are also some good places to eat, the best is called EsPins – along the beach walk east, just before the cliff – their food is lovely. You can also reserve tables at the front, as it does get busy. Other receommended places are the Malibu beach cafe, and Halley’s bar (good food and drinks, quick and pleasant, and good priced, with air conditioning too!).

The walk across the cliffs to Son Bou is nice, but beware, it is about 3 miles in all, which can take around 2 hours at a leisurely stroll to get there and back – take water! Not ideal for young children unless you like complaints.

There are some very nice hotels in the resort, and I was left feeling a bit like the poor relative, we had nothing going on in our complex, even the kids club was not in operation, and yet all of the other hotels had lots of things happening. I wish we had stayed in one of the other places, like the Playa for example. We would certainly not come back again, the main reason being the lack of air conditioning – it really did spoil our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room - you will be pleased that you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#2 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
2.2 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Hamilton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Hamilton Court

Property: Apartamentos Hamilton Court
Address: Playa de Santo Tomas | Es Migjorn Gran, 07749 Santo Tomas, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Hamilton Court 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamentos Hamilton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Hamilton Court Hotel Santo Tomas
Apartamentos Hamilton Court Santo Tomas, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing