We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning after 32 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Hamilton Court
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a seven day stay at Hamilton Court apartments which we last visited 32 years ago when our three sons were small. One of our sons suggested a return visit with his wife and two small boys. We were very surprised to see that it looked the same! We were greeted on arrival by very helpful pleasant young receptionists and were allocated apt 103, a large spacious three bed two bathroom apartment. It was spotlessly clean and had a lovely view to the sea looking over the board walk.

We had some fairly small complaints about this apartment:-
. The kitchen needed a complete overhaul as it was very dated and a bit tatty.
. There were no coffee mugs - only very small cups and saucers, nor were there any wine glasses other than ancient champagne glasses.
. The shower cubicle in one bathroom needed the doors replacing.

Apartment 103 is also situated immediately over the bar/restaurant. At this time of year it was pretty quiet, and the bar closes at 11.00 so no problem for us. I would imagine it would be hell in the peak season though.

The whole complex is very well maintained and very attractive. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The situation is excellent, and Santo Tomas is a lovely, peaceful ,spotless resort with a good selection of supermarkets, though everything is rather pricey.

It is a lovely place to take a young family though not for teenagers as it has nothing for them.

Would we return? Yes particularly whilst the grandchildren are young.
Would we choose Hamilton Court? Yes, definitely. It is only two key rated and is fairly basic, but we rated it far higher and had a super holiday there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the bar/restaurant. This can be very noisy in high season, though they do cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1432lba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

we have just come from the Hamilton staying 3.5.2014 - 10,52014 we had booked a one bed apartment however on arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bed which was very nice and very roomy with all amenities needed although there was no tv this you had to hire but we didn't need a tv on hol . the appartments are situated close to the very beautiful beach , the whole area being very clean . if u are a party animal this holiday is not for you as there is not much to do on the resort however it is very beautiful and clean , we ate out in a few places but found the Hamilton to be the best place to eat very nice food and very friendly staff < sarah and maria :-) > , this is the perfect place to go if you are looking for a relaxing chill out holiday . one downfall with the Hamilton only one towel change and apt clean in a week apart from that perfect :-) .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A much needed family long weekend (Friday - Monday) in beautiful Menorca, an island we go to regularly is what we were all looking forward to......
Santo Tomas is small and perfectly formed, large, clean, family friendly beach and boardwalk down the seafront, lovely restaurants and hotels. Ideal for a get-away from it all. Hamilton Court was perfectly positioned with rooms overlooking the sea and pool area, close to a small parade of shops and bar.

First imprssions were good, clean communal areas friendly greeting, immaculate pool area and restaurant - the food was ok - but not great, but again the service was friendly and welcoming.

We booked 1 2 bed apartment and 2 1 bed apartments. The 2 bed apartment had obviously been recently modernised, it was clean and fresh with all the facilities you'd expect - brilliant! The 1 bedroom apartments however were another story.
Both extremely dated and in desperate need of some TLC, wardropbe doors couldn't be opened if the bedroom door was open, the drawers in the wardrobes were shall we say tempremental, the 2 single beds at opposite ends of the room (attached to the wall) were very very comfortable - it has to be said sleep was not an issue!
The bathroom in 1 of the apartments was dirty, smelly and the shower was in shocking condition. If the shower was turned on the shower head flipped up and over, and the whole bathroom got a full soaking - leaving a very dangerousl slippy floor. The shower stunk of drains and the plug every now and then gurggled up what ever was being put down.

We asked about the cleaning and towel change only to be told there is no maid service for our stay, and no towel change! When we complained about the smell of drains we were told you get that - but a maid was sent in anyhow. (I'd expect it in peak season when full at certain times of the day but not in a half empty complex at the begining of the season).

This is obviously a complex of privately owned apartments, some of which are then rented out via the tour operators - this is not made clear at any point when looking into or booking the holiday.

Will we go to Santo Tomas again? - Yes and the walk to Son bou is a definate - Would we stay at Hamilton Court again? - No!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazzapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

apartment was wonderful, sea view was amazing , all very clean , very quiet and peaceful for a relaxing holiday , beach is like paradise just a few yards from the apartments. we found eating out to be expensive so next time would hire a car as i heard there was a local aldi or lidl .we hope to return one day .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

stayed for 7 nights and wasn't enough! Took 3 young kids and was a little worried reading earlier reports. However everyone was very friendly and plenty of kids playing in the pool, nobody seemed unhappy about this (suppose it depends on how your children at taught to behave!). Beach is really close to the apartments with nice paths to walk along the coast. Have to say great family holiday and will be returning next summer.

Some nice restaurants along the path and worth checking them out, beach is clean and great for small kids as shallow for some way out.

If you are looking for an alcohol fuelled holiday then not for you, thank goodness!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday then this is the place.Very quiet not a lot to do but chill out in these comfortable apts with the beach just a few metres away.You should hire a car to get around the island and find some of the most fantastic little beaches with crystal clear waters that I have ever seen.

Room Tip: hire a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K_TEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent October half term (18th to 25th) at Hamilton Court apartments in the lovely, quiet resort of Santo Tomas, with my son and his family which included a five year old and a two year old. We booked a three bedroomed apartment for 6 of us, and had 2 bathrooms, a huge lounge and an extremely well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher. It was spotlessly clean, although the cleaners visited only once during the week. The children loved the pool and spent many hours in the play area where there is a sand pit. Hamilton Court is only about a minute across the boardwalk to a beautiful beach.

As it was the end of the season, several of the nearby complexes were closed, the second supermarket closed on the Sunday after we arrived and so did Es Pins restaurant. We ate a couple of times at Las Dunas, a buffet restaurant where the meal including drinks cost 16.50 euros (18.50 on Sunday), representing good value for money. The children enjoyed the bouncy castle there. We hired a car for one day to go to Cuitadella to a big supermarket, calling in at Cala Gladana and Cala Blanca which were also very quiet. The weather was better than we expected, probably 26-28 degrees, with one cloudy day, when we went walking over the dunes to Son Bou. The staff were friendly and helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. Had a great time and we will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,362 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
4.9 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
10.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Hamilton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Hamilton Court

Address: Playa de Santo Tomas | Es Migjorn Gran, 07749 Santo Tomas, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Price Range: £35 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Hamilton Court 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Hamilton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Hamilton Court Hotel Santo Tomas
Apartamentos Hamilton Court Santo Tomas, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing