We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Hamilton Court
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed at the Hamilton Court at least five times over the last twenty years or so and I can honestly say that I love the place .We have had rooms over the shop and over the mini golf and have never been bothered by any noise after 11pm.You are on holiday in a family friendly resort after all so for goodness sake let the kids have their enjoyment.The apartments are a few metres away from the best beach on Menorca but it's not a calm area so respect the sea and the beach flags.The only downside for me is the mad reps from the Lord Nelson apartments who insist on terrorising their guests on the beach thus spoiling the atmosphere for everyone.
Hamilton Court staff are friendly and the gardens are well kept and really lovely. The resort is lacking in good places to eat but the snack Helardos bar is our favourite one. The place is what you make it, just enjoy the stars or the blue sky!

Room Tip: Dont buy a package holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marionb899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in September 2013, we booked with Thompson, BEWARE - the only apartments allocated to them are over a noisy area of the all inclusive place over the road, they have loud music every night until late and tons of people eating 3 meals a day there, so its VERY noisy and busy!. The apartment itself was HORRENDOUS, last updated in probably 1970, everything falling to bits, we even had to go out and buy a showerhead, the one in was scummed up and didn't work. I can't stress enough how bad this place was, we obviousely asked to be moved but they basically told us no chance - Thompsons clients only got those rooms on that side of the complex. I wouldn't stay there again FREE, it needs knocking down and starting again, rat hole.

Room Tip: Would not recommend staying in this dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hyacinth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just returned from our first one week visit to Hamilton Court Apartments in Santo Tomas. There was five of us, aged 18 to 19 who wanted a chilled but fun holiday and we loved it! We had a two bedroom apartment which was ideal for us and well equipped besides the fact you have to pay for a TV (you won't need one). Our balcony overlooked the mini golf, outdoor bar and kids area where there was entertainment and shows at night which stayed on until 10.30pm. The pool was fabulous and clean and the bar/restaurant service was excellent. It is a 1 minute walk to the beach which we all found amazing because of how beautiful it was. In the evening we tried Halley Bar and Malibu Bar which were both okay for a standard dinner and then we would dance and drink the night away at the complex next door called the Lord Nelson's VICTORY PUB. It was a small nightclub which opened at 11pm until 2am on Tues,Weds,Thurs and Fri only. We made friends with the Lord Nelson reps who were italian. The minute we walked in the were dancing with us and were super polite and friendly! While aboard, it was my 19th birthday so on the saturday night we went to Cova D'en Xoroi (45 mins away) which was breathtaking because of the view and the fact it is a nightclub in the caves. Our Thomson rep sorted everything for us. We left at apartments at 11pm and got a free drink on entry and then got back at 7am, a night we will never forget!
It was €2 a day for wifi which works in your room, the pool bar and reception. Across the road there was a supermarket, cigarette shop and gift shops which were very handy!

Before we went on holiday we talked about places like Ibiza and Ayia Napa because we wanted a mix of relaxing and partying. After reading reviews on this place we were not sure what we were in for but we were amazingly surprised. This place was ideal for any kind of holiday. Everything is on your doorstep. Santo Tomas is quiet but not to the extent of which some people say.

After returning home, we still have holiday blues and miss the reps we made friends with but we will most definitely be returning next summer!

Unforgettable.

Room Tip: If you don't like music and kids cheering then stay away from the mini golf side where the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lissyyy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just returned from a week in Hamilton Court, Santo Tomas. We love Menorca and have been several times before but this was our first time staying in Santo Tomas. The complex next door to the Hamilton Court apartments is the All Inclusive facility for a different set of apartments which are situated across the road. It homes their Restaurant, Bar, a play area and their evening entertainment which is loud, awful and full of kids and I can only imagine its a hundred times worse in the high summer season. All of the apartments in Hamilton Court on the right hand side of the building (as you face the sea) are overlooking this complex and will most definitely be effected by the noise, as we were. It seems so unfair that this is so imposing on guests staying at Hamilton Court as the guests this entertainment is laid on for are housed across the road and away from the noise!!!!
The Hamilton Court complex itself is beautiful and our apartment was huge comprising 2bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen (needed modernising) and lounge/diner area plus a lovely balcony which would have been more desirable without the previously mentioned entertainment complex next door. We asked to move apartments upon our arrival but was told it wasn't possible under any circumstances yet they didn't even seem to try! Not all the staff are friendly and helpful!!!!
The Lady Hamilton restaurant is nice but we waited ages for our food each time and they tried to overcharge us so be careful.
The pool area is lovely but gets very messy and untidy as the day goes on as the staff don't seem to tidy the pool area until each evening.
It seems all of the apartments are privately owned and are not all to the same high standard in terms of decor and layout which is not made clear when you book so seems unfair when the price would be the same but you may end up in one that isn't as nice!!! Hence why it is tricky to give an accurate review of these apartments. The management should list each apartment and enable guests to book a specific one.
Santo Tomas itself is beautiful but lacking restaurants which makes the restaurants that are there very expensive as they can get away with it as there's little competition.
WIFI is available for €2 per day and although they tell you it will work all over the complex it does not and once you leave your apartment you lose connection, it's not at all worth paying for!
The shop on the complex is tiny and very expensive but there are other supermarkets near by.
I would go back to Santo Tomas and I would stay here again but I would need to know I had a pool or sea view to avoid the 'Butlins' experience every night and I'd be more aware of the negative aspects so wouldn't be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Freya484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just spent our fourth visit to Hamilton Court. We needed a one bedroom apartment but were given a two bedroom one. It was very comfortable and had everything that we needed. We overlooked the entertainment area for children. There was, obviously, some noise but not overwhelming by any means and it closed at a reasonable time in the evening. There is a restaurant on site which serves tasty meals, there is a small shop which has the basic needs but there are several well stocked supermarkets nearby. The pool is very clean and the terrace around it has plenty of loungers and parasols.
The only problem we had was with our neighbours above who seemed to need to move all the furniture around twice a day. Not the apartments fault!
The staff throughout the complex were all very friendly and helpful. Look out for Ana's ABBA show. She is a star!!

Room Tip: Sea view, top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrieWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We returned to Santo Tomas to stay at the Hamilton Court apartments, where we had stayed about 10 years ago and enjoyed a peaceful holiday with access to one of the best beaches on the island. Hamilton Court Apartments are now surrounded by noise. Immediately next door to the west is the Las Dunas entertainment centre. This used to be contained within a large wood and marquee type building, but it has moved outside onto one of the two tennis courts, so if you have the misfortune to be allocated an apartment on that side of the property, be prepared for a nightly blasting of high decibel cabaret type entertainment until about 11.00pm. The Lord Nelson hotel to the east of the apartments has become the home of the Italian group "Veraclub" which caters for young people and people with young families. At different times in the day the peace and quiet of Hamilton Court pool terrace, is rudely disrupted by "Happy Camper" type entertainers blasting instructions and music over their very powerful sound system. As if that wasn't enough, the Italians take over what is left of Santo Tomas beach for organised games, aerobic sessions and volley ball. I say what is left of the beach, as the vast majority of the beach is now allocated to franchises of permanently sighted straw beach sunshades mounted on fixed poles, each with the mandatory 2 sunbeds for hire at great expense. Actual free beach space is now extremely limited. To complement the noise levels there is the Victoria Playa Hotel, again periodically playing loud music through the day and hotel entertainers encouraging the residents to be happy!!!!
Finally, across the road from the apartment is the BUCCA bar, which established a whole new meaning to the phrase "loud music".
Hamilton Court Apartments has moved with the times and installed WiFi, but charges 2 Euros per day, which considering most good hotels and many villas are now providing WiFi free of charge, indicates that similar to Spanish car rental companies, they really are determined to wring every last Euro they can from their guests/customers via hidden or additional charges.
On a positive note the Lady Hamilton restaurant, within the apartment complex, provides a good menu of freshly cooked to order food, which whilst not cheap, for the most part is fairly reasonably priced. Service provided by Maria and Sarah is excellent, they really cannot do enough to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a seaview/pool facing room, or else be prepared for very noisy evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a seven day stay at Hamilton Court apartments which we last visited 32 years ago when our three sons were small. One of our sons suggested a return visit with his wife and two small boys. We were very surprised to see that it looked the same! We were greeted on arrival by very helpful pleasant young receptionists and were allocated apt 103, a large spacious three bed two bathroom apartment. It was spotlessly clean and had a lovely view to the sea looking over the board walk.

We had some fairly small complaints about this apartment:-
. The kitchen needed a complete overhaul as it was very dated and a bit tatty.
. There were no coffee mugs - only very small cups and saucers, nor were there any wine glasses other than ancient champagne glasses.
. The shower cubicle in one bathroom needed the doors replacing.

Apartment 103 is also situated immediately over the bar/restaurant. At this time of year it was pretty quiet, and the bar closes at 11.00 so no problem for us. I would imagine it would be hell in the peak season though.

The whole complex is very well maintained and very attractive. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The situation is excellent, and Santo Tomas is a lovely, peaceful ,spotless resort with a good selection of supermarkets, though everything is rather pricey.

It is a lovely place to take a young family though not for teenagers as it has nothing for them.

Would we return? Yes particularly whilst the grandchildren are young.
Would we choose Hamilton Court? Yes, definitely. It is only two key rated and is fairly basic, but we rated it far higher and had a super holiday there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the bar/restaurant. This can be very noisy in high season, though they do cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1432lba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tomas
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,362 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
4.9 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
10.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Hamilton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Hamilton Court

Address: Playa de Santo Tomas | Es Migjorn Gran, 07749 Santo Tomas, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Santo Tomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santo Tomas
Price Range: £35 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Hamilton Court 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Hamilton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Hamilton Court Hotel Santo Tomas
Apartamentos Hamilton Court Santo Tomas, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing