We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menorcan magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prinsotel La Caleta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Santandria
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Menorcan magic”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here for a week in May, thanks to a great Lastminute.com deal. Had never been to Menorca before, and aside from the weather which was rather too spring-like, the holiday was excellent. If you pay 'basic' prices, than you normally expect 'basic' hotel standards. However, the hotel was very clean and comfortable with very friendly staff. The room was spacious, with the added bonus of a kitchen and dining room table/chairs. The food was more than adequate - buffet style dinner - but nothing fancy. When you consider the price that we paid, you can't really complain.

The hotel is located a few minute's walk from a bus stop. Compared to other European countries I have been to, their bus service is cheap, reliable and frequent. There is a bus to Ciutadella (although we walked it most days in less than half an hour) which is a charming little town from where you can travel to other parts of the island including Mahon.

Take your walking shoes and walk the Cami de Cavalls (Google it) armed with a copy of the Rough Guide guidebook, and you won't be short of things to do.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latnahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    419
    86
    14
    10
See reviews for
423
517
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We booked self-catering and decided to upgrade to the ‘select rooms’ and were so pleased we had. From reading other reviews all the rooms sound much the same. We had a separate bedroom, large lounge with dining table and 4 chairs and two sofas, a well equipped kitchen. The bathroom was a very good size with lots of complimentary toiletries. It was all very clean and a there was a daily maid service, unusual for self-catering.
However, the select rooms were on the ground floor and we had our own little garden leading off a terrace area. There were 2 sun loungers as well as a table and chairs on the terrace area. There was also a welcome pack of drinks provided. There were also dressing gown and slippers, 2 TVs (not that we every stopped in to watch). All this was well worth the extra cost.

The hotel has 2 pools, open to all the residents. The one by our apartment was a little smaller, but it was also a lot quieter. As we were leaving a bar was opening up by this pool so there should now be 2 bars serving drinks. The bar in the main part serves food in the afternoon but not evenings. On sight there is a restaurant, but this is buffet style and we never used it so couldn’t comment on what the food was like.

The location is very good, but we did hire a car for 4 days of the 7 we were there for. We used the car hire shop opposite the hotel and found this good value for the vehicle we got. There is also a fairly well stocked Spar opposite should you need. We go self-catering but tend to eat out every day. We used the Ocean Park restaurant a couple of times and would recommend a visit. The food is good, but the staff are great. We had a good laugh with Santi, he is a lovely man and passionate about Menorca. He is also good for advising places to visit, thanks to Santi we found a good few places to go and made the most of the use of the car.

I would recommend the Jeep Safari, which the hotel will reserve for you, Fornells Tower, Lithica (which is a quarry turned into a nature reserve – there is a lot of walking and not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties – also take plenty of water on a hot day!) Go to Mahon and take a boat ride – the yellow catamaran is good value for money. And Cova d’en Xoroi. Disco by night but tourist place by day. (lots and lots of steps down, but worth it)

Room Tip: If you can choose the Select rooms. a bit extra but nice to have a private garden and the little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leesa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We've just returned from a 1 week self catering in this hotel and, of it's type, it's the best that we have ever stayed in. The accommodation was absolutely first class. The apartment consisted of:

Main living/dining room with a large well-equipped kitchen. Dining table, 2 sofas which could be used as beds, satellite TV with English language channels (no charge).

Large bathroom with shower over bath, loads of complimentary bits and bobs.

Small but adequate balcony overlooking the garden.

The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. There are 2 good pools with quality loungers and lifeguard on duty. There is a full entertainment program which, when we sampled it, was excellent.

Large bedroom with ample storage space, safe, 2 large single beds made up as double, telephone.

The whole place was air conditioned and it really worked properly (as not all do!)

We took dinner once. It's the usual buffet style. Not bad but not thrilling either. With all of the restaurants nearby and in city centre Ciutadella you're better off eating out.

There are bus stops right next to the hotel to take you into Ciutadella or down to Cala Blanca or Cala'n Bosch. The service is frequent and cheap (€1.45 single to Ciutadella) and reception provide a timetable.

Overall a brilliant place and we'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank port-nou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We (a family of three including a 2 year old child) have just returned from the Prinsotel La Caleta and would certainly consider a further stay in the future. We stayed in an apartment on a s/c basis. Based on reviews posted on Trip Advisor we booked this hotel and were not disappointed. All the staff (reception, bar, domestic, etc) were very pleasant and helpful. We requested an apartment change (due only to the fact we preferred a pool view as opposed to a garden view) and this was arranged for us the next day. The room itself was clean and spacious and had everything we required. The bathroom was also very spacious and included a bath (ideal for a small child) in addition to a shower. Toiletries were also provided which was a nice touch. The pool areas were lovely as were the surrounding gardens which were diligently maintained by the grounds staff. The entertainment team (Sol and Lucas) were wonderful and went out of their way to ensure the children enjoyed their holiday. The highlight of each evening was the 'mini disco' when Sol and Lucas got all the children dancing and jumping around which they loved! They were very popular with the adults also! Generally the evening entertainment is low key but relaxing and enjoyable. The resort itself is very quiet but this is the reason we chose this location. Cuitadella (by day and night) is definitely worth a visit. We also ventured to Cala'n Bosch but did not enjoy the experience as many of the restaurants were only too ready to hassle anybody passing by. In contrast, a stone's throw from the Prinsotel was Sa Nacra which offered a beautiful view and good, simple, inexpensive food. In summary, a lovely location, great hotel/apartment, family friendly environment and a quiet, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here on a last minute week's break last August and came with high expectations, having stayed at the nearby Blanc Palace many years ago not long after it opened.
We were't disappointed. The hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of local restaurants and by a scenic cove which has some scenic seaside walks and ends in a clean sandy beach at Cala Santandria. The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms were clean and the grounds well kept. Our balcony faced the hotel grounds, away from the busy pool which provided the perfect setting for a quiet pre and post meal evening drink. We stayed on a B&B basis - the hotel has a large dining room and offers an extensive buffet breakfast menu with great, fresh bean to cup coffee. There was no queuing and no shortage of seats, except if you prefer to have breakfast on the balcony outside. The other guests were mainly Spanish and Italian with a few Brits, which gave a relaxing continental family atmosphere, (and no lager louts) despite it being peak season. Unobtrusive childrens activities were available during the day with low key family entertainment in the early evening. We enjoyed the local restaurants and would recommend Sa Nacra (opposite) next to the sea where you drink at the upstairs bar or eat in a sea cave or feed the fish from the cliff-face terrace. The Hotel Bahia (booking recommended) offers more upmarket dining with a magnificent view out to sea where you can watch the boats come and the picturesque sunsets. The hotel has a small shop and there is a small supermarket opposite. At the top of the road, if you don't fancy the walk, there is a regular, modern bus service into Cuitadella for about 1 euro which we used several times rather than driving as parking can be limited. The old capital is well worth a visit to explore the narrow streets, old cathedral, shops housed in various old palaces and numerous restaurants. For something different, try a visit to Lithica, just off the ring road a couple of miles from Sa Caleta, where old limestone quarries are being developed into a nature and wildlife reserve, and outdoor concerts are occasionally held. Great for exploring and a walk in some shade.
We will certainly go back to Minorca and to this hotel, and just hope it does not change.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the opposite side of the hotel from the pool. The apartment rooms are in a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JCBShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

From the very start the organisation at the front desk is spot on. We have come back for a second year running to this lovely 3* hotel and apartments,after been in the hotel up the road (Blanc Palace which is supposed to be a 4*), this i can assure you is far superior;
The rooms are spotless and cleaned every day, even on sundays; Friut and water is left in your room twice a week and entertainment is every night;
The hotel guests are mainly Spanish and German whith few British thrown in for good measure; (we are a family of 4 from England); Yes they do speak in their own language (although every effort is made to speak to us in Englaish), and rightly so, it is their country, if you want english only go and holiday in England;
The food and drink are comparably priced with all the restaurants in the area of which there are about 5. It is a beautiful quiet area and not noisey at all, (exept children enjoying one of the 2 well designed swimming pools);
We eat a lot at Bar Sanacra which is 4 yards from the hotel, and no better place for location will you ever find, the seats overlook the sea, it even has a gang plank for the kids (or your better half if they missbehave) to jump off into the sea below; My 6 year old daughter likened it to swimming in an aquairium of her very own; The food is simple and very well priced, ( meal for 4 and drinks is around 50 euros);
The beach is about 50 yards way and has a blue flag and is sandy, with gently slopping waters which make it very safe for kids and non swimmers alike. It is wonderful for snorkeling and you can swim to Bar Sa Nacra and swim with the fishes;
This is a very peaceful holiday with very few football shirt wearing,loud, and rude holiday makers, the only fault is the English (not the Germans) who save the sunbeds from 8 in the morning, this is very selfish and makes us look bad to the Spanish people,(yes i do care what they think); I suppose they could provide a few more beds to account for the selfish amongst the guests;
There is a fantastic waiter called Mamood who is brilliant with the kids and makes everyone feel special with his exentrict behavour, he is a scream;
We tend to walk into Ciutadella (the old Capital city); which is a flat 2 kilometre walk and well worth the effort; The bus service if you require it is outside the hotel and is clean and runs every 20 minutes or so; costing 5.80 euros for the family of 4;
Ciutadella is a very beautiful city with its old quarter (based on the Moorish stlye) been its crowning jewel, the harbour is full of great restaurants with fish been its forte; There are shops for everyone and bars a plenty;
You can hire boats from the harbour wall to tour this majestic island whith its warm and calm seas and golden beaches in tiny coves that are even quiet in summer;
All in all this hliday is a close to perfection as you will find unless you are Richard Branson and have your own Island;

Great Hotel, with staff that care;
Great beach, that is safe and a blue flag;
Great City in Ciutadella, with its very safe enviroment and fine buildings, and resturants for every buget;
Getting about is easy and clean with buses and taxi's been very cheap; %.80 euros on the bus to the city and 5.80 euros in a taxi from the city:
Only 2 hours by plane;
Very quiet island compared to its neighbours Majorca and Ibiza;
Sa Calet area and Ciutadella areas are the quiet (not so touristy areas on the Island) and more upmarket areas;
Only 35 minutes from the airport (50 euros by taxi);
We ahve travelled around most of europe and would say that with a family of 2 children this is pretty much spot on, i highly recommend it, (as long as you do not bring football shirts nor save sunbeds) to Brits everywhere, it is known localy as the pushchair island and long may it stay that way;

Room Tip: Ask via email for a pool view and a 1 bedroomed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank timbo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Only came back yesterday from Prinsotel La Caleta and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We stayed for 6 nights as booked everything separately flights, accommodation, transfers etc. through Travel Republic so made it very flexible. Have never booked in this way before and was a little nervous but everything worked out fine!

Some people have reviewed saying they found the staff rather unfriendly which I can understand where they are coming from however think it was just their manner as they were still helpful if a little straight faced. We had to call reception as soon as we arrived at the room as there was a bolt missing from one of the patio doors and as we were on the ground floor felt this was not secure enough. Within 25 mins someone came to sort however within the hour had to call them back as bolt was tightened too much and the glass cracked, they very promptly taped over and the following morning completely replaced which was reassuring as with a 7 and 3 year old running about, gave peace of mind.

There are many different buildings to the complex which is quite large and we were in the furthest building (5) to reception on the outer perimeter facing the car park and road with bus stop to Cuitadella. I was a little disappointed to start with where we were placed however soon appreciated we were in a 2 storey block with our own garden, 2 sun beds, hammock and it was fairly private as the garden was quite grown up all around, the only slight let down was there were only 2 chairs and a table on the terrace for 4 people. Also it was very shaded so was never that hot in the apartment though there was air conditioning which was a godsend at times. Had we been facing the pool, lovely as that would have been, it would have been a nightmare trying to keep track of the 3 year old when the door was open so where we were was nice and quiet and for us, ideal!

The apartment itself is fairly compact but nicely laid out, bedroom more spacious, beds comfortable and kitchenette has kettle, toaster, microwave, 2 ring hob and fridge, bathroom has hairdryer soap, shower gels, toothbrushes etc. Had a plate of fruit and bottles of water the morning after arrival which was a nice touch, cleaning was everyday and adequate. Curtains are fully lined with blackout blinds which were also a godsend, though it did mean we slept in until 10.30 most days! Have’nt decided whether that was a good or bad thing!!

We were self catering which suited us with 2 young kids could please ourselves when we ate, supermarket right across road from reception very good but quite expensive. The resort is very quiet so not much choice for shops or eating places. We did eat at the hotel twice, very nice buffet plenty of choice for 13 euros per adult and 6.50 for kids but kids free on first night so even better, for all you can eat, drinks extra normally around 10 euros for 4 drinks. Should imagine if you ate there every night it may get a bit the same but I was impressed with the selection and quality. It doesn’t open until 7.30, would have been nice if it had opened a little earlier as the kids were too shattered to eat but I assume because the majority of guests are Spanish or German and they tend to eat later than us Brits, you can’t please everyone! Its good to get down there for 7.30 though if you want to eat on the outdoor terrace as theres limited spaces (100’s of spaces inside too) and the view is lovely and the most stunning sunsets. People queue in the door way to wait for a free table which is a pain as they either block the door to get back in to where the food is and back out again or they are leaning over your shoulder (as we were by the door) watching you eat, could do with a better system for people wanting to wait.

We also ate at Sa Nacra which was nice as right by the sea so lovely views, Kowloon which is a Cantonese up the road out of hotel and turn left at crossroads then its on right, lovely good value food though service a touch slow as the waitress was cooking as well! Childrens corner there with toys to keep kids amused.

Hotel pools are lovely, we stayed around the smaller of the 2 larger pools which was near our apartment as it was easier to keep an eye on the children, they spent all day most days in the pool which tired them out but they loved it. Lifeguards are at the pools which is a good idea. There are toilet/shower blocks near to pools which were useful. All the grounds of the complex are immaculate and there is always someone going round emptying the bins, gardening or maintenance etc. The beach is nearby down a few steps but we only went down a couple of times for an hour or so as very hot and crowded. Ideal for children though as gently slopes into sea and it’s a calm peaceful bay.

You can catch the bus to nearby Ciutadella which is well worth a visit at the top of the road at the back of complex on the opposite side of the road, it only takes 7-8 mins and is apparently walkable in 25-30 mins but we found it too hot to walk. Reception are helpful with maps and bus times.

I can’t comment on evening entertainment as we did’nt see any or the ‘Animation’ team in the day for kids as this was based around the larger pool area. There was plenty of things to do there if you wanted it, kids play areas, bouncy castle, table tennis etc. but I preferred the peace, relaxing and tranquillity of the place where we had a wonderful holiday. Would highly recommend and hope you have found this review helpful if a tad long!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Santandria
3.5 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,104 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,249 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
13.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,452 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Caleta

Property: Prinsotel La Caleta
Address: Calle de Lleo s/n, 07769 Cala Santandria, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Santandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Santandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Caleta 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel and apartments complex is located 150 metres from the beach in Santandria, on Menorca’s west coast. It offers a large outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and a private balcony.The rooms at the Prinsotel La Caleta feature smart décor with soft tones. Each one comes with satellite TV and a private bathroom.The hotel’s buffet restaurant serves international food and offers show cooking and themed nights. Breakfast is served overlooking the sea, and there is also a poolside snack bar.Hotel La Caleta offers a varied entertainment programme for adults and children. You can hire a bicycle from the 24-hour reception, and there are various water sports options on Santandria Beach.Ciutadella is just 5 minutes’ drive from the hotel. You can drive to Mahón Airport in around 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Prinsotel La Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Caleta Hotel Cala Santandria
Prinsotel La Caleta Cala Santandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing