We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prinsotel La Caleta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Santandria
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We've just returned from a lovely week at the Prinsotel La Caleta. We stayed in one of the apartments and I couldn't fault anything about it. The apartment and the grounds were absolutely spotless, Rooms were cleaned everyday and the grounds men were out several times a day making sure everything was in order.

There were plenty of sunbeds and two pools. The one at the back of the complex is better suited to those who like peace and quiet, away from the entertainment on offer.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBE1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for your opinion.
We would like to see yo again in Prinsotel. And thanks also to recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    398
    81
    12
    10
See reviews for
398
495
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I am at this hotel with my elderly parents who are in their early 80's but very young at heart. The only criticism is that I had asked for two adjacent rooms, which were allocated BUT my father can not walk far or climb stairs and we were advised by the receptionist that there were no lifts for guests to use. As we had been allocated rooms on the top flood in block 2, this was unsuitable. I asked for a ground floor room which was duly allocated in block 3 and after a night, I was also moved to block 3 third floor. The lack of lifts for guests to use is unacceptable as I had to struggle with my cases up an down the stairs as there is no Bell Hop at the hotel to help.

The hotel is immaculately clean, rooms are quite spacious with lovely views over the pool or gardens. Opt for a garden view if you can as these rooms are quieter - some rooms are opposite the open staircase so there is noise of people coming and going.

The food is plentiful, well prepared and there is a good choice of salads, hot and cold meals. We were half board which worked out for us. The staff are friendly and very obliging and Mohammed the drinks waiter in the outside bar, is a joy and remembers what you like to drink.

The hotel may be a little isolated as its in a residential area so it is quiet. Bus stops are at the top of the road to Cituadella, Cala Blanca etc. Reception will also call taxis.

Plenty of sun loungers round the pool and again this is quiet. The hotel see,s to be occupied mainly by adults with families using the apartments. The are also day beds by the pool and in the gardens.

There is a bar at the back of the hotel which is situated along the estuary to the Santandria cove and this is lovely for an after dinner drink to watch the sun go down. We got taxis to other resorts several evenings as my parents can't walk very far.

Spar supermarket is opposite Reception and there are more shops a five minute walk away.

I have stayed in four and five star hotels in Europe, USA, Hawaii, Bali, Singapore, Mauritius, Barbados and other Caribbean islands and my view is this hotel warrants 4 stars and some aspects are better than some five star hotels that I have stayed in. My parents are enjoying their holiday and can not complain about anything.

Room Tip: Block 3 garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karon1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks a lot for your opinión.
We hope you had nice holidays in Prinsotel and we hope your parents enjoyed also.
Thanks to compare us like a 4.5/5 stars hotel. We try the best for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in the Sa Caleta Apartments in the middle of June and booked the holiday as a last minute get away through Booking.com. We had a fantastic week; Sa Caleta is a very quiet resort which was exactly what we were after - Menorca is a beautiful island which we have visited on several occasions but unfortunately a lot of the resorts have lost their authenticity and now cater too much for British and German tourists. Sa Caleta still retains it's Spanish charm and is a great base for visiting the old capital Cuitadella and some beautiful coves nearby. It's a low key, quiet resort with few hotels and is mostly residential with a selection of privately owned and holiday rental villas. We used the very efficient local bus service to get around (the bus stop is conveniently situated behind the apartments) and buses are very frequent, cheap and punctual. We also spent a fair bit of time exploring the area on foot, visiting the beach at Cala Blanca (20 mins away), and taking the coastal path into Cuitadella ( this took around 50 minutes but there is a more direct route which takes 20 mins to walk). The apartments were pretty spot on for us - we stayed on a self catering basis, though we did try one evening meal and one breakfast at the hotel which we weren't particularly impressed with. We much preferred to eat on our lovely apartment balcony shaded by a beautiful olive tree and also enjoyed evening meals in Cuitadella where there is a fabulous choice of restaurants - the restaurants around the harbour are particularly good for fish dishes. Buses take 10 minutes to get to Cuitadella and the last bus returns to Sa Caleta at 10.30 at night. Taxis are plentiful though it's easy to walk back to the apartments so long as you take a torch as the route gets a little dark in places! There is also a lovely restaurant just opposite the apartments called Sa Nacra - you get to sit right alongside the sea and can watch the fish in the water below. The food is really good with a great choice of meals and the staff very friendly. Local beaches are good - Cala Santandria is the nearest to the apartments, but Sa Caleta Beach is better - To reach it, just turn right at the Spar shop opposite main reception and follow the coast road for 5 or so minutes. Cala Blanca is also a beautiful beach with nice restaurants but is a little bit further to get to though still an easy walk. The apartments themselves were clean and functional with good air conditioning; nothing fancy but exactly what we expected for the money we paid. There are two pool areas though we used the smaller pool next to the apartments the whole time of our stay as it was much quieter ( no noisy entertainment or music and on certain days only a handful of people sitting around or swimming). Both pool areas are really lovely, beautifully maintained and have snack bars next to them - There never seemed to be a problem getting sun beds at either pool which was an added bonus! The staff at the hotel were excellent, and we were especially impressed with the attention to detail spent keeping the hotel grounds up to scratch - there were constantly staff gardening, touching up paintwork, cleaning the pool area but all of this done in as low key and unobtrusive a way as possible. The end result was an absolutely immaculate setting with beautiful flowers and really pleasant surroundings. Would I recommend a stay here? Most definitely - from our point of view it was excellent value, a good base and thoroughly relaxing. One final tip: If you're planning a fortnight's stay or want to see even more of the island, car hire is definitely recommended and driving in Menorca is extremely easy. Though we didn't drive this time around, we noticed a car hire centre just opposite the hotel and there are plenty of parking bays just behind the apartments which residents were using. Thanks to all the hotel staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank m0rgan542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks to you to choose Prinsotel for your holiidays.
Thanks also for this opinión.
It will be a pleasure if you decide to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel. We stayed on an all inclusive package which is available in May and June only. This was excellent value for money, my only gripe would be that the quality of the food in the main restaurant could vary a little.

The hotel was full by the time we left but it never felt over crowded. There were always plenty of sunbeds and the pools didn`t seem overly busy.

We chose to stay in one of the apartments to give ourselves more room. It did have the feeling of being a bit tired but in fairness we hardly spent anytime there so it really didn`t bother us.

Entertainment in the evening was quite low key which was just what we like however one evening they did have an African show which was excellent, well worth seeing.

There is a kids club which my daughter really enjoyed going to for an hour or two a day, it was pretty basic and rather quiet (most older children at school!!!) but that suited her and she loved the very friendly staff.

The staff all work incredibly hard in this hotel and they can`t do enough for you. A special mention to Francisco in the outside pool bar area he was super friendly (even though his English was limited),very welcoming and clearly loved the children (he was delightful with my daughter).

Now for the big but ............... This part of my review is not to put people off this hotel as I think it is a truly lovely place, it is just a warning. The day before we left there was an incident, my Mother had a large sum of money stolen from her room, this was kept in a secret compartment of her suitcase. My daughters kindle was also stolen from the room (she was devastated). There was no sign of a break in and all doors were locked. Someone had access to the room and knew that the safe was not being used. Clearly very naïve of my Mother.to not use the safe. After the incident the Manager and manageress did everything possible to assist us and also allowed my Mother to move rooms as she felt a little uneasy being in the same room alone. So my point is do not leave any valuables in the room what so ever, this includes mobile phones, cameras and tablets charging when you are not there. I hope the hotel do investigate this incident further as it did put a bit of a damper on our last day.




.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank noblejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice to know you enjoyed your holidays. Sorry about the inconveniences.Anyway if there is an unusual incident like this or not it is always better to hire the safe key everywhere you travel.
Thanks again to choose Prinsotel to spend your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this complex one week ago.The place is wonderful from rooms, staff, cleanliness and we have stayed at 4 star HOTELS which were not a patch on this.However,we were sold the holiday as a four star hotel and we thought from the description by Jet 2 that if we payed for a superior room we would be in a hotel bedroom with a lift.However when we arrived we found that theer were no bedrooms in the main reception dinning room and we had to walk quite a distance round a pool, two, ramps which were quite steep to the resturant and as we were on half board this was quite an ordeal for my husband who walks with the aid of a stick and is not very good at steep slopes.To get anywhere we had to take a bus from the top of the road which a few years we would have said was quite flat bur today it is an ordeal and we both had pit stops. The beach which is beautiful but to get there is again an ordeal for the less agile it is down nearly 30 uneven steps with only a insecure handrail
This complex is,for young families and agile couples if you are older I could not recommend this for you,I think we were the oldest couple they had had there and we were treat like royalty by everyone especially the managers and dinning room staff.We would love to go again but realise it is just too inaccessible for us

Room Tip: Block 2 (which has a lift to 4th floor(you have to be quick to get in) Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your opinión and thanks to choose Prinsotel La Caleta to spend your holidays.
I´m sorry about the inconveniences you talk about.
In our web everybody can find the description of the hotel even the buildings they have not lift.
In the web it is explained all about how the buildings are situated around a large garden área (even the agencys knows everything).
Anyway we hope you had nice holidays. Greetings from all the staff and we hope also to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked because of the reviews as our first visit to Menorca. The hotel is clean and staff very efficient and welcoming. We booked a select apartment and requested a sunny garden if possible. We really did get what we asked for which was very nice. The hotel has 2 pools. Main pool where the hotel rooms are and a slightly smaller pool where the apartments are. If you want to be in the hub of entertainment aim for the main pool. If you want peace go to the smaller pool however there are more small kiddies in this area. It was relatively peaceful when we arrived but became much busier as the week passed. A real shame that the management decided that the small pool also had to have some music halfway through our stay. From our point of view this is not necessary as if you want a lively atmosphere go to the main pool. New sun beds arrived and although they are very comfortable they were put rather close together, obviously gearing up for more guests but would hate to be that close to strangers! Equally the number of inflatables in the pool increased dramatically making it a little uncomfortable for the adults to have a swim.
The apartment was clean and functional although a little tired in the kitchen area. Beds are really comfortable and very generous in size, great bonus for us as our pet hate is uncomfortable beds. We were very lucky that the people occupying the upper apartment were considerate enough not to be noisy so our sleep quality was good. Also worth mentioning is the efficient air conditioning which is virtually noiseless.
We did not eat in the restaurant but had some Tapa's which we can highly recommend. They are served from 5pm till late in the hotel wine bar and can be eaten either in our outside on the terrace.
The beach at Santandria is just a few steps down from the hotel and has sunbeds, beach bars, life guards and some residential ducks! We had some pleasant days there but there is a rather off putting smell of sewerage?
Great bonus is the little SPAR shop across the road. Has most essentials but no fresh meat counter.
If you want to travel by taxis avoid Saturday and Sundays as they charge a premium at weekends. If you want to go to the airport by taxi it is cheaper to book this direct with the taxi company rather than through the internet or the link provided by the hotel.
Will we go back? Yes, cant wait but definitely will avoid high season.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms and apartments near the hotel are in the center of the entertainment area and associated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks a lot for your opinión.
We hope you had nice holidays in Prinsotel La Caleta.
Thanks to choose Prinsotel to spend your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went in June 2014 and we spent a (short) week with my family in this hotel. Both the facilities and the service responded to our expectations. The buffet is varied and offers the possibility of eating healthy vegetables and fruits, fish and meat, enough quality. Although there is also the option of assorted pastas and pizzas. Santandría Cove is really close to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks to choose Prinsotel La Caleta to spend your holidays.
Thanks also for your opinión.
We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Santandria
7.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 8 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Zafiro
Zafiro
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
13.9 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
13.9 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Caleta

Property: Prinsotel La Caleta
Address: Calle de Lleo s/n, 07760 Cala Santandria, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Santandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Santandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Caleta 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel and apartments complex is located 150 metres from the beach in Santandria, on Menorca’s west coast. It offers a large outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and a private balcony.The rooms at the Prinsotel La Caleta feature smart décor with soft tones. Each one comes with satellite TV and a private bathroom.The hotel’s buffet restaurant serves international food and offers show cooking and themed nights. Breakfast is served overlooking the sea, and there is also a poolside snack bar.Hotel La Caleta offers a varied entertainment programme for adults and children. You can hire a bicycle from the 24-hour reception, and there are various water sports options on Santandria Beach.Ciutadella is just 5 minutes’ drive from the hotel. You can drive to Mahón Airport in around 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Prinsotel La Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Caleta Hotel Cala Santandria
Prinsotel La Caleta Cala Santandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing